We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location and value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Athenaeum
Ranked #27 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2012

convenient and safe location, near the center of Athens, but just far away from traffic and congestion of inner city.
Easy access to the city center but also to the saside suburbs.
5star standard hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for your preference to the Athenaeum InterContinental during your trip to Athens.
We would also like to express our appreciation for taking the time to share your experience during your stay and we are pleased to know that the location of the hotel was to your convenience.
We thank you for your kind comments and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,429 - 1,435 of 2,337 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2012

A great hotel we would certainly return to if in Athens again. Friendly staff. We were on the Club floor & were treated royally by Vasso & her staff. The view from the lounge balcony is directly to the Acropolis. Breakfast buffet excellent as were the 'nibbles' the previous evening.

The Club rooms are well appointed with everything you could possibly need. Bathrobe, slippers & wonderful toiletries.

Vasso was able to give us a late checkout which allowed us to get out to the Acropolis early and return for a shower before our flight. It certainly increased our pleasure of staying at the Athenaeum Intercontinental.

We did an advanced purchase on the hotel's own website & was excellent value for money.

The wine available in the lounge is limited to local Greek wine so if you don't like this there is beer or spirits to chose from.

Room Tip: Get a room on the Club floor & upgrade to an Acropolis View room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greylady2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for selecting the Athenaeum InterContinental for your recent visit to Athens and for taking the time to share your kind comments and recommendations.
We are most delighted to know that our Club InterContinental Manager and her team contributed to a memorable stay in our hotel, and that you thoroughly enjoyed the benefits offered in the Club InterContinental Lounge as well as the comfort of its rooms.
We would like to extend our appreciation once more for staying in our hotel and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

I stayed at this hotel on the 25th of June 2012 for two nights. I have four children so I booked two family rooms. The rooms were the largest I have ever stayed in. They had four beds a sofa, cairs and a table for dining at.

The pool was small but greatly appreciated at the end of a hot Athens morning. The buffet breakfast was huge and well catered. The view from our room was a little disappointing but given we were so many people it wasn't that important.

There is a regular shuttle to the city which we made great use of. The location of the hotel is some distance from the Plaka but it is walk able. We are due to stay again in another week in preparation for our departure from Greece - so already returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a family suite the rooms are large and very comfortable. Prepare to arrive early for the shu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 July 2012

Dear TripAdvisor Reader,
Thank you for staying at the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens whilst travelling with your family last month. We are delighted to learn that you all enjoyed the comforts of our Family rooms as well as the large variety of items available at our breakfast buffet. Moreover, we have noted your comments about our complimentary shuttle bus service to Syntagma square and how convenient it was for you. We thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you and your family back to our hotel very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

I was in Athens for 4 days on business and we stayed at this hotel. The RENOVATED rooms are great and very big. The beds are very comfortable and the space is more than enough. The gym and swimming pool are also a very nice addition to this hotel.
I also had some free time and was able to walk to MOST of the major attractions in Greece. I would highly recommend staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room. I was on the 7th floor and the whole floor was renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jwumfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for staying at the Athenaeum InterContinental whilst on business in Athens this month and for your recommendation. Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and we are delighted to learn that you enjoyed the comfort and the facilities at our hotel. Once again, we thank you for your kind comments and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Athenaeum InterContinental on your next visit to Athens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Our experience at the Athens Intercontinental was very pleasant. We stayed for four nights as we did our trip through the Southern mainland.

The staff was very courteous and pleasant throughout our stay. We had three people staying in a room with one king bed, and they had set up a cot, with blanket and pillow, ahead of our arrival.

The room was clean, spacious and comfortable, as was the bed. The room attendant came around a second time about dusk to ensure there were fresh towels for the next morning.

The pool seemed a bit small for the size of the hotel and the chairs and umbrellas were limited. It would have been supreme if the pool had been on the roof. The rooftop bar does have an extraordinary view. Keep in mind, this is a luxury hotel, so be prepared to pay luxury prices for anything inside.

The concierge was very good in helping us find some "less than luxury" dining options very close to the hotel, which had decent, fairly priced food. He also helped us find just about anything we were looking for; laundry, subway, downtown, etc... The hotel also has a shuttle service to downtown and the Acropolis area. It runs on a set schedule and is very convenient. We learned the first night that is sometimes departs a few minutes early if it gets full, so do be waiting a few minutes before the scheduled departure. If you happen to miss it, the subway is very close. It is "fairly" easy to use and goes everywhere we needed for our sightseeing and going-out.

We did enjoy our stay here very much, and would recommend it to any friends that are looking for luxury accomodations in Athens.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FITfalcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Athenaeum InterContinental whilst visiting Athens and for taking the time to share your comments. We are delighted to learn that your family found our accommodations to be luxurious and comfortable and that you enjoyed our facilities, in particular, our complimentary shuttle bus service to Syntagma square. We have also noted your satisfaction with the high level of service you received and how this contributed to your discovering and enjoying Athens. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Athenaeum InterContinental on your next visit to Athens and thank you once again for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We stayed here for 1 night before heading over to the islands. Our flight was delayed and one of the bags didnt come, so our Greece experience didnt start well. The staff at the hotel was very helpful and made efforts to make our experience delightful. They gave us a complimentary upgrade. The rooftop restaurant has one of the best views of Athens and Acropolis. The hotel has a free shuttle service to city center, which is very helpful as the hotel is not within walking distance from city center. At night we had delicious dessert in the resaturant by the looby.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mehshee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 June 2012

Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for staying at the Athenaeum InterContinental while visiting Athens.

We are pleased to learn that stay at our hotel was an enjoyable one and that our staff’s contribution resulted on your overcoming the difficulties you faced due to the loss of your luggage.

Furthermore, thank you for sharing your comments regarding our award winning Premiere restaurant with the breathtaking view to Acropolis, as well as the Café Vienna located at the lobby area.

We would like to thank you once more for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

This past April during our visit to Athens, Greece, we stayed at the Athenaeum Intercontinental Hotel. The room was comfortable, well-appointed and the hotel is in an ideal location. Old Town and public rail transportation were easily accessible. The hotel staff was simply marvelous…from the front door attendants to the front desk staff; from the housekeeping personnel to the attendants in the various dining rooms…everyone was friendly, gracious and always accommodating. Without question, the Athenaeum Intercontinental Hotel will be our first choice the next time we visit Athens.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Dear Trip Advisor Reader,

Thank you for staying at the Athenaeum InterContinental whilst visiting Athens and for taking the time to share your kind comments.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our high level of service and facilities met with your expectations.

We thank you for your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you back to the Athenaeum InterContinental on your next visit to Athens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Hilton Athens
#17 of 282 in Athens
3,834 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#11 of 282 in Athens
3,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Athenaeum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Athenaeum

Address: 89 - 93 Syngrou Ave, Athens 11745, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Athens
#10 Business Hotel in Athens
#13 Family Hotel in Athens
#15 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#18 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £116 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Athenaeum 5*
Number of rooms: 543
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No wonder the Athenaeum InterContinental has been named Greece s leading hotel time and again. Athens largest guestrooms, award winning fine dining venues and a central location appeal to business and leisure travellers alike. Within a few kilometres are the Acropolis, the Parthenon, the Temple of Apollo and the Pláka. Metro and tram stations are also nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your InterContinental Athenaeum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Athenaeum Hotel Athens
Intercontinental Hotel Athens
Intercontinental Hotel Athenaeum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing