We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Athenaeum
Ranked #28 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed 19 July 2012 via mobile

The hotel was regularly used by my company when I worked as cabin crew and I have stayed here on numerous occasions- any advice please ask as I have travelled a fair bit.
The hotel is very clean but quite a fair way from the centre of Athens. There is a free shuttle bus on the hour and is worth using.
The hotel pool is relatively small but obviously aimed at cooling off business travellers rather than holiday makers- see my photos.
Plaka is worth a visit for eating- lovely mezze type restaurants all bustling with atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitkat86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, 21 July 2012
Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for selecting the Athenaeum InterContinental during you recent visit to Athens.

We would also like to express our appreciation for taking the time to share your comments derived from your experience as a repeated guest in our hotel.
We are very pleased that levels of cleaningness meet your expectations, and that you find the complimentary shuttle bus service to the city center useful.
Once more, thank you for your kind comments and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    980
    849
    253
    72
    31
See reviews for
428
674
131
653
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2012

To start with the reception staff were very helful and friendly. we had to cancel one room at the last moment and they did it free of charge.
we took room on deluxe floor, which was a renovated floor and hence the rooms were neat and clean.
Morning breakfast was widely spread and nice.
overall friendly and helfull staff
Acropolis veiw from rooftop bar was fabulousat night

Room Tip: take on Deluxe floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rishi2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for staying at the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens whilst travelling with your family last May.
Guest satisfaction is out primary concern and we are delighted to know that the friendliness and efficiency of out Front Desk staff contributed to your good impression of our hotel.
We are also very pleased to know that you enjoyed the comfort of our newly renovated Deluxe rooms and the variety of our Café Zoe buffet breakfast as well as the view of our award winning Premiere restaurant.
We would like once more to express our appreciation for taking the time to share your kind comments and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Buyer beware. This hotel has many old un remodeled rooms that they sell on Expedia under "Superior Room". Don't fall for this trap. These rooms are not superior to anything. These rooms are substandard and belong in a 2 or 3 star hotel. The bathrooms are just horrible and dirty and not to Intercontinental standards. They use bait and switch to push you to upgrade to a Delux Room for a 50 euro surcharge. This tactic is very dishonest in my opinion.
The hotel is about 2Km from the center of all the action in Athens. The area around the hotel is full of graffiti and old rundown buildings.
This is a large hotel with an enourmous lobby, but the pool is very small for a large 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldexplorer1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Dear Worldexplorer1961,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We give the utmost importance to guest satisfaction and we strive hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. I'm sorry you were not satisfied with the condition of the room you received and regret we did not live up to your expectations. Your feedback will be taken into consideration in our efforts to continually monitor and improve the quality and services we offer.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that you will consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Stayed here for a week 19th june and the room was huge however the view was of a scruffy main road which wasnt the best. the hotel is about a mile away from all civilisation but there is an hourly shuttle service which we relied on to get into the centre.

the staff were all very friendly it was the other guests which i found an issue with. most of them were lovely tourists while others treated the staff terribly which i myself found appauling considering how attentive they were.
we only dined twice in the hotel, once in the cafe vienna and once on the roof at the Michellin star restaurant! the food was brilliant but at the cafe vienna we noticed that some of the food is frozen and when paying $35 just for a chicken dish i dont feel anything should be frozen!
we chose not to get the $40 euro taxi to the airport an got the trains. it was hot but was about half the price!
overall the hotel was lovely and all the staff were great. would definately go again! only issue is the location but the shuttle solves all that.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RP1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for selecting the Athenaeum InterContinental for your recent visit to Athens.
We are delighted to know that your main impression of the hotel is the quality of service and the attentiveness provided by our staff.
In regards to the menu available at Café Vienna Bistrot I would like to assure you that apart from a very limited selection of items that are not available throughout the year and that are marked as frozen, all the remaining items including the chicken dishes are fresh and of the highest quality.
Once again, we would like thank you for taking the time to write your kind comments and recommendations and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

convenient and safe location, near the center of Athens, but just far away from traffic and congestion of inner city.
Easy access to the city center but also to the saside suburbs.
5star standard hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for your preference to the Athenaeum InterContinental during your trip to Athens.
We would also like to express our appreciation for taking the time to share your experience during your stay and we are pleased to know that the location of the hotel was to your convenience.
We thank you for your kind comments and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester England
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

A great hotel we would certainly return to if in Athens again. Friendly staff. We were on the Club floor & were treated royally by Vasso & her staff. The view from the lounge balcony is directly to the Acropolis. Breakfast buffet excellent as were the 'nibbles' the previous evening.

The Club rooms are well appointed with everything you could possibly need. Bathrobe, slippers & wonderful toiletries.

Vasso was able to give us a late checkout which allowed us to get out to the Acropolis early and return for a shower before our flight. It certainly increased our pleasure of staying at the Athenaeum Intercontinental.

We did an advanced purchase on the hotel's own website & was excellent value for money.

The wine available in the lounge is limited to local Greek wine so if you don't like this there is beer or spirits to chose from.

Room Tip: Get a room on the Club floor & upgrade to an Acropolis View room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greylady2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for selecting the Athenaeum InterContinental for your recent visit to Athens and for taking the time to share your kind comments and recommendations.
We are most delighted to know that our Club InterContinental Manager and her team contributed to a memorable stay in our hotel, and that you thoroughly enjoyed the benefits offered in the Club InterContinental Lounge as well as the comfort of its rooms.
We would like to extend our appreciation once more for staying in our hotel and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

I stayed at this hotel on the 25th of June 2012 for two nights. I have four children so I booked two family rooms. The rooms were the largest I have ever stayed in. They had four beds a sofa, cairs and a table for dining at.

The pool was small but greatly appreciated at the end of a hot Athens morning. The buffet breakfast was huge and well catered. The view from our room was a little disappointing but given we were so many people it wasn't that important.

There is a regular shuttle to the city which we made great use of. The location of the hotel is some distance from the Plaka but it is walk able. We are due to stay again in another week in preparation for our departure from Greece - so already returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a family suite the rooms are large and very comfortable. Prepare to arrive early for the shu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Dear TripAdvisor Reader,
Thank you for staying at the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens whilst travelling with your family last month. We are delighted to learn that you all enjoyed the comforts of our Family rooms as well as the large variety of items available at our breakfast buffet. Moreover, we have noted your comments about our complimentary shuttle bus service to Syntagma square and how convenient it was for you. We thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you and your family back to our hotel very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Hilton Athens
#21 of 326 in Athens
3,558 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Divani Caravel Hotel
#53 of 326 in Athens
1,284 reviews
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Electra Metropolis Athens
#11 of 326 in Athens
353 reviews
Exarchia
Radisson Blu Park Hotel Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Athenaeum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Athenaeum

Property: InterContinental Athenaeum
Address: 89 - 93 Syngrou Ave, Athens 11745, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Athens
#15 Business Hotel in Athens
#17 Family Hotel in Athens
#18 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#19 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Athenaeum 5*
Number of rooms: 543
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No wonder the Athenaeum InterContinental has been named Greece s leading hotel time and again. Athens largest guestrooms, award winning fine dining venues and a central location appeal to business and leisure travellers alike. Within a few kilometres are the Acropolis, the Parthenon, the Temple of Apollo and the Pláka. Metro and tram stations are also nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, IHG, Bookgreece.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Athenaeum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Athenaeum Hotel Athens
Intercontinental Hotel Athens
Intercontinental Hotel Athenaeum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing