We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
InterContinental Athenaeum
Ranked #28 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

The room was large and spacious but in need of updating. Be sure to specify if you want a non-smoking room. Very few restaurants located nearby but the free shuttle to city center was very useful and dependable. Concierge was very helpful. Rooftop bar had an incredible view of the Acropolis especially at night. You must go through room service for ice.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobbyBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear BobbyBR
Thank you for staying at the Athenaeum InterContinental during your visit to Athens this month. Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and we are pleased to learn that your stay with us was an enjoyable one. We thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,

Martha Pallis
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    997
    864
    257
    72
    32
See reviews for
440
683
133
660
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Candiac, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The service, the room and especially the bed was tremendous. However, the food in the mini bar was excessively high as well as the food in the hotel. 59 euros for a breakfeast is enormous.There's a shuttle bus service supplied by the hotel that goes hourly up to the square (half hourly in mornings

Room Tip: rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvesc17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear Yvesc17,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Athenaeum InterContinental on your recent visit to Athens. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms and particularly our beds. However, we have noted your comments regarding the prices of mini bar and would like to advise you that our prices are in line with our competitors in Athens. Also please let me the opportunity to advise you that the cost of Continental breakfast in our Cafezoe restaurant is 24.50 Euro per person. We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your valuable comments and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Martha Pallis
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I stayed on the Club floor which is a little more money but has the benefit of a nice lounge, breakfast and before dinner drinks. A great view of the acropolis is available from the terrace of the club lounge - nice to watch the sun set over the city while having a beer.

The decor of the hotel feels a little dated in places but everything was clean, tidy and functional and actually had all mod-cons.

The staff were very nice and attentive. Even the cleaning staff made a point of greeting me as I walked down the corridor to my room.

I've stayed several times, I will be back.

Recommend.

Room Tip: Choose the club floors. Don't worry about facing the acropolis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DogbertsCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear DogbertsCat,

Thank you for making the Athenaeum InterContinental your hotel of choice when visiting Athens.
We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and in particular, the exclusive facilities and service at our Club InterContinental as well as the breathtaking view of the city of Athens from its terrace. It is always a pleasure to hear from guests whose expectations are met on each of their stays and we would like to assure you that your positive feedback will be certainly shared amongst our team.
We look forward to welcoming you once more in our hotel and thank you once again for your kind comments.


Yours sincerely,

Martha Pallis
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I traveled to Greece recently for a fantastic 2 week vacation. After losing almost an entire day of travel, we arrived the hotel late on our check in night. The lobby was beautiful and well kept. The front desk staff were not as friendly as I would have liked; however, after engaging in conversation, they soon turned more agreeable. A note to the hotel, train your staff to smile and greet customers. A kind word goes a long way.

I would suggest making reservations directly from the hotel website or calling them if you have any special needs. In our case, we had three people in the room and although we made a reservation and paid for three people and breakfast, the hotel had no record of it. I have since worked that out with the hotel website I used but it was a little frustrating.

The hotel staff sensing this and our exhaustion (after they charged me again!!!) put us in suite. They then put in another bed, brought us some ice and offered us a complimentary beverage. The staff was also nice enough to allow us a food order too. I think the kitchen was about to close but I must say thank you again. The chicken crepe is marvelous and worth the price.

The rooftop terrace is beautiful and you can see wonderful sights around town. We chose this hotel because it also had a shuttle that would take you into town. After a wonderful breakfast, we spent the afternoon sight seeing and then a bit of time relaxing at the pool. We were bound for Corfu that night but the few hours we spent there were very nice and we would go back again.

Room Tip: Do not use any of the stateside hotel websites to make reservations. Skip the few bucks you will sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mswysiwyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear MSWYSIWYG

Thank you for selecting to stay at the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens while travelling in Greece with friends.
We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed the breakfast as well as the magnificent view from our roof top terrace, the pool and our complimentary shuttle bus.
We have noted the discomfort that you experienced upon your arrival to our hotel and would like to extend our sincere apologies.
While we aim to offer the highest level of service to our guests, it seems that we felt short in keeping your expectations.
Please rest assured that your feedback will be shared amongst our team in order to improve our service.
Once again, thank you for your valuable comments and we hope to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit to Athens.

Yours sincerely,

Martha Pallis
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Big rooms friendly staff , big lobby and nice swimming pool , good air-conditions in the very hot city . excellent porters who helps you briefing your taxi driver on your detonation . english spoken through out ..

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Patrix D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear PatrixD,

Thank you for staying at the Athenaeum InterContinental during your recent visit to Athens and for taking the time to write a review.
We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed our pool, the service from our staff and that overall your stay with us was a memorable one.
We thank you for choosing our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Athens.

Yours sincerely,
Martha Pallis
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed in the Athenaeum for just one night at the end of our cruise. After leaving our ship, we arrived at the Hotel Athenaeum around 11am and were pleasantly surprised upon check-in that our room was available straight away! The room was very spacious and had everything we needed, the bathroom was huge! The bed was probably the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept upon. The hotel is not in a great location, but as they provided an excellent regular shuttle service that took us into the main centre (and back again), it didn't matter that much to us. There is an outdoor swimming pool which we used to relax at the end our busy day! We didn't eat at the rooftop restaurant but we did have drinks there which had spectacular views of the acropolis and city, well worth the visit. We were able to store our luggage the following day as we had an evening flight leaving us free to explore the city some more. All in all, although it was a short stay, we would stay at this hotel again. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolC1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear CarolC,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens following your cruise and for taking the time to write a review.

We are pleased to know that you found your room comfortable and our facilities to be to your satisfaction.

Once more thank you for sharing your kind comments and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Martha Pallis
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushey, England
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The hotel is located in the business area, just off Sygrou Avenue, around a 30 minute walk south-west of Syntagma Square. There's a shuttle bus service supplied by the hotel that goes hourly up to the square (half hourly in mornings) and it's advisable to use that. The streets nearby are run down and Sygrou Avenue is seedy in some locations. The walk from Sygrou Fix metro to the hotel requires crossing a dual carriage way which can be very dodgy if you take the wrong route.

The hotel itself is quite plush, with an impressive foyer. There's a very good buffet breakfast in Cafe Zoe which I used each day. On the ground floor is also Cafe Vienna which serves meals and drinks throughout the day, which I used a few times. The staff here were very good. At the top of the hotel is the Premiere Bar with great views of the Acropolis. I visited a few times and found it very relaxing. There is also a restaurant at the top, but for some reason, it was always empty. Perhaps it's quieter in the summer. My room, which was a deluxe room, was well appointed, with a large comfortable bed and suitable desk/area for work. I also had a view of the Acropolis from the room, and I really couldn't find any fault with the room. The only criticisms would be that wifi isn't free and the minibar is quite dear.

Finally, I had a great stay at the Intercontinental in HK last year, so thought it may be useful to join the IHG reward scheme. However, my stay at the Athenaeum in a deluxe room for 7 days has accrued a grand total of 0 points. A 'non-qualifying stay', says the statement. I flew onwards from Athens to the Intercontinental in Istanbul and that visit hasn't even been registered. If IHG are trying to encourage people to use their hotels then their reward scheme isn't helping. My IHG number is 242423498.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank movilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Movilla,

Thank you for staying with us at the Athenaeum InterContinental whilst visiting Athens last month.
As an IHG Rewards member, we greatly value your comments and would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and we are happy to learn that you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms, the breakfast served at our Cafezoe restaurant as well as all the other meals and the breathtaking view of our Premiere rooftop bar.

We have taken note for your comments with regard to the credit of the IHG Rewards Club points for your recent stays at our hotels and would like to inform you that points are not issued for stays at reduced room rates such as: net wholesale, special discounted contract rates, rates booked through most third party web sites as well as other discounted rates.

With regard to your feedback about our prices for the mini bar and internet, we would like to advise you that they are in line with our competitor hotels in the city.

However for the internet, we would like to take the opportunity to inform you that the InterContinental Hotels Group offers to all its Elite and Platinum IHG Rewards members the use of internet without a charge, throughout the hotel chain and additionally our hotel offers the same benefit to all the IHG Rewards Club members, starting from the Base level.

Once again, thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,

Martha Pallis
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Hilton Athens
#20 of 326 in Athens
3,625 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Exarchia
Radisson Blu Park Hotel Athens
Divani Caravel Hotel
#58 of 326 in Athens
1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Athenaeum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Athenaeum

Property: InterContinental Athenaeum
Address: 89 - 93 Syngrou Ave, Athens 11745, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Athens
#15 Business Hotel in Athens
#17 Family Hotel in Athens
#18 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#19 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Athenaeum 5*
Number of rooms: 543
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No wonder the Athenaeum InterContinental has been named Greece s leading hotel time and again. Athens largest guestrooms, award winning fine dining venues and a central location appeal to business and leisure travellers alike. Within a few kilometres are the Acropolis, the Parthenon, the Temple of Apollo and the Pláka. Metro and tram stations are also nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, IHG, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your InterContinental Athenaeum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Athenaeum Hotel Athens
Intercontinental Hotel Athens
Intercontinental Hotel Athenaeum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing