We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Fair Price but Far from Main Attractions”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Athenaeum
Ranked #27 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I stayed at this hotel in August 2008 and 2009 because the price was very reasonable for this class of hotel. The rooms, pool and people are friendly. The only issue is that you can't walk to Syntagma Square. Similar hotels in that area of the city are outrageously priced, so I would definitely recommend this place. Good value for your money!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 10,021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear 10021,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Athenaeum InterContinental when you visit Athens. We greatly value your patronage and the time you took to write a review. With regard to our location, while we are situated slightly out of the city centre, in a business and residential area, our hotel provides a complimentary shuttle bus service to Syntagma square on a daily basis. We thank you again for your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you and your family back to our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Martha Pallis
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,169 - 1,175 of 2,338 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

As all Intercontinentals, a superb hotel, with rooms and the club boasting a breathtaking view on the acropolis. Wake up with a view on 2500 years of history. Lots of artwork in lobby and rooms as usual with Intercontinentals. If you are a fan of the brand you must go to this one and if you are not yet, you will become one here.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank FAU2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear FAU2409,

Thank you for staying with us at the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens. It pleases greatly to learn that your stay with us was a memorable one. Indeed, a number of our rooms, our Premiere restaurant and our Club InterContinental lounge enjoy a splendid view of the Acropolis. We thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back to the Athenaeum InterContinental on your next visit to Athens.

Yours sincerely,

Martha Pallis
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Stayed here for a week-long business conference in early november 2013, and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Big, spacious rooms which were rigorously cleaned every morning, comfortable beds and bedding, nice, big bathrom with good shower and roomy bath. The breakfast and lunch buffets were magnificent with so much choice!! I found the location to be ok. It's about 20 minutes to walk into syntagma square from the hotel, and even though the area (sygrou) is a tad run down and seedy, it's safe and well-lit. The conference rooms were well laid out with decent wi-fi and equipment. Cofee breaks were well catered for with nice refreshments. The hotel offers a free shuttle bus service from the main entrance directly to Syntagma also, which is really great. I found the hotel staff to be extremely friendly and helpful, and everyone spoke excellent English too. The only negatives would have to be the absolutely hideous prices in the hotel cafe and bars. 8 Euros for a double espresso?! I would definately stay again though.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scaredy-Kat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear Scaredy-Kat,
Thank you for staying at the Athenaeum InterContinental whilst attending a conference last November and for taking the time to share your valuable comments. Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and it is always a pleasure to hear from guests whose expectations were met. We are delighted to learn that you had a wonderful experience during the conference and have noted your satisfaction with our spacious and comfortable rooms, conference areas and our staff. We have also noted your comments about the prices in our café and bars and would like to inform you that our prices are in line with our competitors in Athens. We greatly appreciate your having taken the time to share your valuable comments and look forward to welcoming you back to the Athenaeum InterContinental on your next visit to Athens.
Yours sincerely,
Martha Pallis
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

As a frequent IHG hotels guest, i expected better service from a 5 stars hotels in the center of the city. The staff is very unhelpful, the rooms are just basic, internet is expensive, gym is outdated.

There is nothing to do around the hotel except strip joints, and you require a taxi for any short trip.

I checked in at 1 am, with 3 suitcases. No one offered to help. I ordered room service, and it took 55 minutes to reach.

I would strongly recommend to IHG an full audit of this property, they might want to downgrade it to a crown plaza or holiday inn.

Really disappointed with this 3 night stay.

Room Tip: Book a hotel in the center of Athens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Toomuchtravel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Dear Toomuchtravel2013,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens whilst visiting Athens earliest this month.
We were most concerned to learn about the inconvenience you experienced upon check-in as well as from our Room Service Department. Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointment we caused you and rest assured that your comments will be discussed with the staff members concerned in order to avoid a similar occurrence in the future.
As far as the WiFi connection is concerned, I would like to take the opportunity to inform you that in our hotel exceptionally the internet is offered without a charge to all the levels of our IHG Rewards Loyalty program which is free to join.
Moreover, we would like to inform you that our hotel provides a complimentary shuttle bus service to Syntagma square daily, though one also has the option of using a public transport which is easily accessible from the hotel.
We thank you for your valuable feedback and trust that the lapse in service you experienced on your last visit will not deter you from returning to the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens.
Yours sincerely,
Martha Pallis
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Spacious & clean rooms with clean & odour free bathrooms makes the stay comfortable & relaxed.Food is good & service is prompt. The only drawback is the location of the hotel & the issue with local conveyance to the other parts of the city.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samrat_Bhattacharya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Dear Samrat_Bhattacharya,

Thank you for selecting the Athenaeum InterContinental during your visit to Athens and for taking the time to review our hotel.
We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms and the high level of service provided in our restaurants.
In regards to the access to the various parts of the city, we would like to take the opportunity to mention that apart form our daily complimentary shuttle bus service to the main square of Athens, one can access easily the city centre by using the various means of public transport which are located non more than a few minutes walk from the hotel.
We would like to express once more our delight for your kind comments and we are looking forward to welcome you back to our hotel.

Yours Sincerely,
Martha Pallis
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

very big hotel and expencive for what it offers. you pay only for the brand name. Parking and food exertremly overpriced.
I have to tell that we had very good sleep and the room, also the bathroom was perfect.
very nice christmas decoration

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank efimav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear efimav,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens and for writing a review. Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and any comments that help us maintain the high standards for which InterContinental is known are warmly welcomed. May we take this opportunity to advise you that our menu prices and cost for parking are in line with the prices of our competitors in Athens. We thank you again for your valuable feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens.

Yours sincerely,

Martha Pallis
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions. I find customer service in this hotel has gone down hill. I didn't get a smile or eye contact upon arrival. When I asked for a room with a double bed I was greeted with hotel full, we can bring up a double matress and strip out the two single matress and put the two beds together !! On top of that I was given a room (755) overlooking the busy dual carriageway. Even though I had double double glazing the noise in the room was unbelieveable. Traffic noise eventially abaited at 0230am.

Room Tip: Rooms facing towards the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnaholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear johnaholmes,

Thank you for your patronage to our hotel and for taking the time to write a review. As a regular guest, we greatly value your comments and are sorry to learn about your experience upon check-in. Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointment we caused you and for the inconvenience you experienced in your room with regard to the traffic noise. We thank you again for your constructive comments and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,

Martha Pallis
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Hilton Athens
#17 of 282 in Athens
3,841 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#11 of 282 in Athens
3,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Athenaeum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Athenaeum

Address: 89 - 93 Syngrou Ave, Athens 11745, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Athens
#10 Family Hotel in Athens
#10 Business Hotel in Athens
#15 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#18 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £113 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Athenaeum 5*
Number of rooms: 543
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No wonder the Athenaeum InterContinental has been named Greece s leading hotel time and again. Athens largest guestrooms, award winning fine dining venues and a central location appeal to business and leisure travellers alike. Within a few kilometres are the Acropolis, the Parthenon, the Temple of Apollo and the Pláka. Metro and tram stations are also nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your InterContinental Athenaeum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Athenaeum Hotel Athens
Intercontinental Hotel Athens
Intercontinental Hotel Athenaeum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing