We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Club Package worth it!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
InterContinental Athenaeum
Ranked #28 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Club Package worth it!!”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I went on my honeymoon to Athens between 17 February to 21 February 2014. We chose this hotel and went with the club package which was worth it. The Club package you have your own dedicated check in desk and the club room where you get complimentary breakfast, canape's and appetizers. The room we stayed in was amazing, spacious and clean and the same for the bathroom.

The service at the hotel is fantastic as anytime I called for room service they were prompt. I have only one complaint which is really due to the success of the hotel, a very important person decided to stay at the hotel during our stay and as a result the security was raised at the hotel where every time we came back from our day out we were subjected to security checks by having to walk through metal detectors and having our bags scanned. This did put a damper on our honeymoon, as it did make us feel like we were criminals a little, but overall the hotel is a great hotel with excellent service. The staff are always friendly and willing to help with whatever query you have.

Room Tip: Choose the club package, you do have to pay a little extra, but it is really worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deejay Mystikle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Deejay Mystikle B,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens on the special occasion of your honeymoon. Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and we are delighted to learn that your stay with us was a memorable one. In particular, we have noted that you enjoyed our Club InterContinental facilities as well as the service you received from our staff. With regard to the high security measures in place during your stay, may we extend our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced and take this opportunity to inform you that our hotel was accommodating the European Defence Ministers. As such, the security measures were in place by the Greek Police Force in order to ensure the safety of all our guests. We thank you again for your valuable feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Athenaeum InterContinental on your next visit to Athens.
Yours sincerely,
Martha Pallis
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    980
    849
    253
    72
    31
See reviews for
428
674
131
653
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Campinas, SP
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My only stay in Athens so please consider I have no comparisons but still I left the hotel after a two night stay a ted disappointed considering the luxury classification. Overall, very pricey internet access in room - something banned in most hotels. Just for that I would not stay there again.

The carpets on the first floor were wet part of the day and the carpet overall looked like it needs changing. The rooms are big and comfortable with the bathrooms just the same. Cleaning crew does their service in the afternoon and seem to want to finish things fast.

Breakfast is under par compared to other Intercontinental sites and certainly below what you pay for and consider for a luxury hotel, with the minimum amenities and nothing too authentic.

In terms of location it is within a walking distance from a metro station and the tram but nearby you will find a hard time finding major restaurants or things to see.

Pool is closed in the winter and gym room is small and placed on the "basement" with little comfort although the equipment is new with tv screens in most of the running/cycling machines.

I had a dispute regarding breakfast during the first day but the reception was courteous to waive the charge after speaking to the management although they did not seem too happy about it.

Overall I would look for better 5 star options next time in the city.

Room Tip: rooms on most floors can be very distant from the elevators (100-150m walks!) - ask for one closer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DR_JLF22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear DRJ3434343,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Athenaeum InterContinental whilst travelling to Athens on business this month. We greatly appreciate the time you took to write a review and would like to take this opportunity to recommend our loyalty program, IHG Rewards Club, as among its many benefits and rewards, you are automatically entitled to complimentary internet access on our basic package. We have also taken note of your comment regarding the wet carpet in the corridor and would like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconvenience we caused you. Indeed, a maintenance issue arose that caused a leakage in a small section of the corridor, however, the problem has since been resolved and the carpet has been cleaned and dried. With regard to our location, while we are situated in a business and residential area, our hotel provides a complimentary daily shuttle bus service to Syntagma square. Once again, thank you for your valuable comments. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Athenaeum InterContinental on your next visit to Athens.
Yours sincerely,
Martha Pallis
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I stayed at the IC in Athens in March and found the hotel a bit of a mixed bag. The communal areas are modern (I did not check the swimming pool given the season) however the rooms are in need of an update. They are ok but not the best. They are spacious though if you are after a big room and that is a nice change for rooms in Europe. The breakfast was really good and the price okish given the 50% discount I received on the breakfast package. I might probably go back if the price is interesting

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear A A,
Thank you for staying at the Athenaeum InterContinental whilst travelling to Athens on business earlier this month.
Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and it pleases us to learn that you enjoyed the spaciousness of our rooms as well as our extensive breakfast buffet at our Cafezoe Restaurant.
May we take this opportunity to inform you that while most of our rooms have been refurbished, all of our Deluxe rooms are newly renovated and are, in fact, the newest room product in Athens.
In addition, we would like to inform you that we have an outdoor pool that operates during the summer months and weather permitting, may remain open even later.
We thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,

Martha Pallis
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Very nice ambience. Well spacious rooms and very nice view of Acropolis. Nice spread of food and have an hourly pick and drop to Syntagma Square. The only disadvantage is that it is very far from the market.

Room Tip: Try for a room with view of Acropolis as it is breath taking at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srish185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear srish185,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens and for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms, the food selection in our restaurants as well as our complimentary shuttle bus service to Syntagma square. We thank you again for your valuable comments and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Yours sincerely,
Martha Pallis
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The suites are spacious & comfortable, exceptionally clean with a stunning view of the Acropolis and a walk-in wardrobe. The customer can choose between a classic and a modern suite.
All of them are nicely decorated with great paintings and art elements that make you feel at home (a luxurious one). Best sleep ever!!! For the ones with problems of insomnia is the best place to solve their problem. Sleep quality is heavenly. So were our children; while sleeping!!!

You also have to definitely ask for “Room service”!!! The staff is very polite, fast, generous and with a great sense of humor!!! The breakfast quality and variety at Café Zoe is amazingly large and there is nothing else you could ask for!!! The Athenaeum InterContinental hotel is very close to the historical district; someone who loves to stroll can easily walk to the Acropolis and visit the amazing scenery of Plaka. Ideal and very safe for families, especially when you book connecting rooms. Deserves staying there for business or pleasure!!!

Room Tip: 'Choose rooms with the stunning view of the Acropolis'. More spectacular view on higher floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Valia P,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens with your family earlier this month. It pleases us greatly to learn that you enjoyed the comfort of our suites as well as the service from our Room Service team. Indeed, our breakfast buffet at Cafezoe is ‘amazingly large’ and we are happy that it met with your expectations. We thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the very near future.
Yours sincerely,
Martha Pallis
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Nice hotel.
The location can be a bit better.
you need to walk everywhere into the city - but walks are easy.
The food within the hotel is good - not typical greek but good quality.
The rooms are good - If you have just one room from the suite - then you nieghber might be too noisy for you.

If you get it for a good price (below 100 euro) then th deal is realy good

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ran N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear offwego4,
Thank you for staying at the Athenaeum InterContinental whilst travelling to Athens on business this month. Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and we are pleased to learn that your stay with us was an enjoyable one. We thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you back to the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens.
Yours sincerely,
Martha Pallis
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights. Very easy 15 minute trip to the centre by tram (right outside hotel) or metro (short walk to station "syngrou fix"). Also plenty of taxis which are very cheap.

Also very near to a stop on the open top bus tour route too, for those doing tourist visits.

Hotel has an amazing spa - had two separate treatment sessions as there's lots of special offers. Sauna, spa etc all fantastic. Make time for a session!

Rooms were large, service all good.

Only negative was cocktail bar on 10th floor. We planned to be there for the night but we ordered just one cocktail each, and the staff seemed quite lost. Took a long time, and we could hear them discussing how to make them. Unfortunately not served with properly crushed ice either. At 16 euros a drink, we expected more.....

(Alexander's bar in hotel grande Bretagne knows how it should be done properly - excellent cocktail bar).

Would recommend intercontinental for accommodation though.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank The_New_Mrs_OConnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Billie 1981,
Thank you for staying at the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens whilst visiting our city this month and for taking the time to write a review. It pleases us to learn that you enjoyed our spacious rooms, the service from our staff as well as your treatments at our award-winning I-Spa by Asian Spa City Retreat. However, we are sorry for the disappointment caused to you at our Premiere bar and will ensure that your feedback is shared with our team, in order to avoid a similar occurrence in the future. Once again, thank you for your comments and recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens.
Yours sincerely,
Martha Pallis
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Hilton Athens
#20 of 326 in Athens
3,558 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Divani Caravel Hotel
#51 of 326 in Athens
1,281 reviews
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Electra Metropolis Athens
#11 of 326 in Athens
353 reviews
Exarchia
Radisson Blu Park Hotel Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Athenaeum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Athenaeum

Property: InterContinental Athenaeum
Address: 89 - 93 Syngrou Ave, Athens 11745, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Athens
#15 Business Hotel in Athens
#17 Family Hotel in Athens
#18 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#19 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Athenaeum 5*
Number of rooms: 543
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No wonder the Athenaeum InterContinental has been named Greece s leading hotel time and again. Athens largest guestrooms, award winning fine dining venues and a central location appeal to business and leisure travellers alike. Within a few kilometres are the Acropolis, the Parthenon, the Temple of Apollo and the Pláka. Metro and tram stations are also nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Athenaeum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Athenaeum Hotel Athens
Intercontinental Hotel Athens
Intercontinental Hotel Athenaeum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing