We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the biggest in Athens”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Athenaeum
Ranked #26 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This is my first time to stay in this hotel, but my third time in Athens. Just stayed here overnight prior to my Greek island cruise. The lobby is big but no free wifi. Rooms are big but dated. Bed is a bit soft . The view of the acropolis is not that clear as it is next town to syntagma, the city center. Breakfast is good on the ground floor. The hotel is big in number number of room and size. My stay near the city center in a smaller hotel with big room and restaurant on the top floor with a real view of the acropolis alfresco was more memorable and there I should go back next time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdchua521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear jdchua521,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent business trip to Athens and for taking the time to write a review. We have taken note of your comments and would like to take this opportunity to advise you that should you join our IHG Rewards Club loyalty program, you will automatically have complimentary access to the internet both in our rooms and lobby. Regarding our rooms, while most have been recently renovated, we are currently in the planning process for the remaining floors. Once again, thank you for your valuable comments and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel on a future visit to Athens.
Yours sincerely,
Martha Pallis
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,090 - 1,096 of 2,306 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

A not unpleasant 20min walk to the Acropolis. Room was large, clean and comfortable. Staff were very polite. Breakfast very good. Although I was only there for 1 night, I found and could think of nothing to complain about. Excellent value for money too.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Adrian1968,
Thank you for staying with us at the Athenaeum InterContinental during your visit to Athens last month. We greatly appreciate your review and are delighted to learn that your stay with us was an enjoyable one. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit to Athens.
Yours sincerely,
Martha Pallis
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The InterContinental Athenaeum is just 5 min from town center. It is very large, with spacious rooms and very good service. The staff was very professional and friendly. We appreciated the fact that we had two rooms adjusted with a connecting door, so our children aged 10, had their own space. The rooms are very well equipped, although I found the bathrooms a bit dated. The room service was very quick and the food excellent. Breakfast is until late and offers a great variety of local and international items. This hotel is an excellent choice for those who want to avoid the noisy town center.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear AB,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens during your recent family weekend. We greatly appreciate your review and are delighted to learn that our rooms, service and facilities met with your expectations. Indeed, our breakfast buffet served at Café Zoe is impressive, as the amount of breakfast items one has to choose from is wide. We thank you again for your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you back to the Athenaeum InterContinental on your next visit to Athens.
Yours sincerely,
Martha Pallis
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

I loved this hotel, very large, very well equipped and a high standard of service. Food was lovely and the view from the top bar was just stunning. The only reason I have not given five stars is the service at any bar was to slow for my week stay.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Powerscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Powerscape,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Athenaeum InterContinental whilst travelling to Athens on business this month. We greatly appreciate your review and are pleased to learn that your stay with us was a memorable one. However, we are sorry to learn about the lack of service at our bars. Once again, thank you for your valuable comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to Athens and the Athenaeum InterContinental.

Yours sincerely,
Martha Pallis
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This is a beautiful property but the rooms are a bit dated.
We had dinner in the restaurant and breakfast and lunch in the "cafe", all delicious.
The shuttle into the main part of town is most convenient and appreciated.
The staff were extremely welcoming and professional.
We were told our room had a view of the Acropolis but we could only see one tiny bit of it, they admitted they needed to upgrade their computers.
We were there for one night pre cruise and would definitely stay there if we are cruising Greece.

Room Tip: Ask for a real view of the Acropolis
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baltzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Baltzan,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Athenaeum InterContinental during your visit to Athens last month. We greatly appreciate the time you took to write a review about our hotel and would like to thank you for your kind comments. In particular, we have noted that you enjoyed the service from our staff and our restaurants. We thank you again for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit to Athens.
Yours sincerely,
Martha Pallis
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The Intercontinental in Athens is located just outside the city centre; about a 25 minute walk or 5 minute taxi journey. The hotel also provides a free shuttle bus that runs about once every hour. The drive from the airport is around 40 minutes and costs between EUR 30 and EUR 40.

The lobby of the hotel is impressive with high ceilings and plenty of space. We were greeted immediately at the front desk and when seeing we had booked a club room we were directed to the 8th floor club lounge for the check-in formalities.
Once in the club lounge we were checked in by the club lounge staff who also provided us with information about the club opening hours, various service offerings and breakfast times.
Our Club Room was on the same floor, just a short walk down the hallway. The room was big with a large king size bed and a small seating area featuring a two-seater sofa, an arm chair and coffee table. There was also a desk with a chair on either side. The colour theme in the room was blue as with much of the rest of the hotel.
By the door was the minibar which featured the usual water, booze and chocolates.
The bathroom disappointingly did not have a separate walk-in shower, just a combined tub and shower.
On the whole, the room was modern, spacious and felt fresh.

Another highlight of the hotel was the club lounge, which is a big facility on the 8th floor. It has plenty of seating and offers great views of the Acropolis and further afield. The outside terrace was especially nice at night when the city was lit up in front of you.

The lounge provides three main servings a day. Breakfast is served until 10.30 (11am at weekends) with a fairly extensive spread of cold items, including fruit, Greek yoghurt, Greek cheese, cooked hams and a few hot items that were different each day such as scrambled eggs, sausages and fried potatoes.
The lounge also serves canapés both at lunch time and in the evening and there is a free bar between 7pm and 9pm. Throughout the day there is tea and coffee, soft drinks, water and a few cakes and cookies.

We did not try any of the restaurants in the hotel but the main all-day dining restaurant is the Café Zoe on the ground floor, which is also where the main breakfast is served. Also on the ground floor is the more upmarket Bistro Vienna and on the top floor is the Premiere restaurant, which is also the most expensive. Next door is the roof-top open air Premiere Bar, which has great views over the Acropolis but was surprisingly quiet when we were there.

There is a spa facility on the ground floor and a fairly small outdoor pool next to it.

Overall the service at the hotel was very good. The club lounge staff were particularly friendly and helpful and the Concierge was exceptionally good. The Intercontinental is a very nice hotel but it can get busy at times as it is a big conference hotel and the location may not be as good as the Grand Bretagne or the King George. We really enjoyed our stay and would rank this as one of the better city hotels in Europe we have ever stayed in.

We also highly recommend Athens as a city break destination. Greece has gone through a particularly bad recession in recent years but the city centre is perfectly safe; there is plenty to see and the restaurants are good. Take a day trip out of the city as well, we went to Aegina island which is just 40 minutes by fast hydrofoil from Piraeus.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FirstTravellerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear FirstTravellerLondon,
Thank you for staying at the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens and for your detailed review of our hotel. Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and we are delighted to learn that your experience with us met with your expectations in terms of accommodation, facilities and service. May we take this opportunity to clarify that the open bar at the Club InterContinental lounge is actually available between 6:00pm and 9:00pm daily. Once again, we thank you for your kind comments about our hotel and Athens. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Athenaeum InterContinental on your next visit to our city.
Yours sincerely,
Martha Pallis
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed at the Intercontinental in September 2013. The hotel itself was great-beautifully decked out with an amazing restaurant, fitness center, spa and business center. Customer service was also very capable and friendly. The real issue was the location. We arrived at the hotel via the subway, which was perhaps our mistake. One, it is not clear where the hotel is relative to the subway. We had to ask numerous people for directions, which was a crapshoot since a lot of Greeks did not speak English. Second, the area between the hotel and the subway is not safe, populated by sex shops and prostitutes (we saw a street walker coming back from dinner one night). Definitely not an area that I would want to frequent with my family. This is not a hotel that I would use again just due to safety reasons alone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmericanTourist78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear AmericanTourist78,
Thank you for choosing the Athenaeum InterContinental on your recent visit to Athens and for taking the time to share your comments. We are happy to learn that the service of our staff and the facilities of the hotel met with your expectations. We have also noted your comments regarding the location and I would like to take the opportunity to inform you that the hotel is located in a safe business and residential area, thus a complimentary shuttle bus service to the city centre is available on a daily basis. Apart from the shuttle bus, the city centre is also easily accessible either by tram, which is not more than a three minute walk or the metro which is located less than a ten minute walk from the hotel. Furthermore, taxis are available on a twenty four hour basis. We thank you once more for your recommendation and hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.
Yours sincerely,
Martha Pallis
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Hilton Athens
#18 of 281 in Athens
3,758 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 281 in Athens
3,891 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Exarchia
Radisson Blu Park Hotel Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Athenaeum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Athenaeum

Address: 89 - 93 Syngrou Ave, Athens 11745, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Athens
#10 Business Hotel in Athens
#13 Family Hotel in Athens
#15 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#17 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £125 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Athenaeum 5*
Number of rooms: 543
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No wonder the Athenaeum InterContinental has been named Greece s leading hotel time and again. Athens largest guestrooms, award winning fine dining venues and a central location appeal to business and leisure travellers alike. Within a few kilometres are the Acropolis, the Parthenon, the Temple of Apollo and the Pláka. Metro and tram stations are also nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your InterContinental Athenaeum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Athenaeum Hotel Athens
Intercontinental Hotel Athens
Intercontinental Hotel Athenaeum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing