We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average hotel- which is no compliment for a 5 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Athenaeum
Ranked #26 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights, and all in all it was ok, but that's not enough for a 5 star hotel.
The location is so-so ; the nearest street is full of strip-clubs and there is nothung do do in the immediate surrounding. There is a close tram stop to Syntagma Sq. and a shuttle [the stop for the shuttle is not as marked on the small map given to us upon check-in, so we ended up waisting 30 minutes waiting for the shuttle to pick us up.. and ended up catching a taxi back, because we weren't updated about this change. when complaining about this to the concierge, he didn't seem to care, nor offer any compensation].
Generally it is a very "cold" feeling from this hotel, and we would rather stay a 3-4 star for less money in a better location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Eyalm16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Eyalm16,
Thank you staying with us whilst in Athens earlier this month. We are sorry that your experience at our hotel did not meet with your expectations and would like to apologise for the disappointment we have caused you. Indeed, our shuttle bus stop at Syntagma square has recently changed and we do apologise for not providing you with this information before you made use of this service. We thank you for your valuable feedback and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Athenaeum InterContinental on a future visit to Athens.
Yours sincerely,
Martha Pallis
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,008 - 1,014 of 2,307 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

positive: we enjoyed our stay on this hotel..nice position..away from the busy street..had relaxing mood and comfortable feeling..big room..staff was also really nice.. though it's not that near to the center,their free shuttle bus was superb that will take you to the city in just 5mins..every morning, we go to the center of athens and start our tour from there.. after our busy day.. we go back to the hotel and throw ourselves to the pool for relaxing to take away the heat, kids love it;).. if you choose to stay here and don't miss visiting their premium lounge bar at the 10th floor that gives you a very nice view of Acropolis where you can take some nice photos and relax;)..concierge very helpful... delicious foods at the risto..

negative: expensive breakfast..and no free wi-fi.. a lot hotel now gives free wi-fi..

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sugar_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Sugar_98,
Thank you for staying at the Athenaeum InterContinental during your family holiday in August 2013. We are pleased to learn that the spaciousness of our rooms, the service from our staff as well as the hotel facilities contributed to making your stay with us a memorable one. We have noted that you particularly enjoyed our Premiere rooftop lounge with its ‘excellent view of the Acropolis’ . We thank you for your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you all back in the very near future.
Yours sincerely,
Martha Pallis
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We staid at the intercontinental and had a dinner at the PREMIER restaurant (roof terrace). It is a "most" when you come to Athens! Amazing food with an incredible view. French cuisine at is best! . My wife had the beef and I had the chicken and were superb, and the view of the Acropolis makes it a memorable experience.

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank Lernestodg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Lernerstodg,
Thank you for selecting the Athenaeum InterContinental during your recent visit to Athens.
We are very happy to learn that you found our awarded Premiere Restaurant “a most’ and that your dinner experience was a memorable one.
Indeed, its menu is superb and the view of the Acropolis is breathtaking.
We highly appreciate your review and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Martha Pallis
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

One of the old established hotels in Athens we had a balcony suite with great views of the Acropolis it was comfortable but a bit tired and we felt some aspects were not 5 star.For example our supposedly private balcony was accessed by staff through an adjacent window, woke up one morning with a guy watering the plants next to my teenage daughters sleeping area.Room cleaning was not always as good as could be.
I didn't find the staff helpful when our keys were cancelled and they refused to issue me a new one as they didn't know who I was (how can you show ID when you are locked out of your room?)
The signature roof restaurant has great views but the food was pretentiously overpriced and not up to standard my wife sent her steak back three times and they still couldn't get medium well!The Maitre D argued with us about the wine which was corked.They did put on a free desert for my daughter to assist which was nice but overall disappointing.The Chef needs to understand that one chopped mushroom and a biscuit is not enough with a steak and coffee glazing does not work with Fois Gras.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Acropolis
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear James D,
Thank you for staying with us at the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens and for writing a review. Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and we regret that your stay with us did not meet with your expectations. We have taken note of your comments regarding the level of cleanliness in your suite as well as your dining experience at our Premiere restaurant and would like to express our apologies for the inconvenience and disappointment we caused you. Please rest assured that your comments will be shared with our team in order to improve these lapses in service on our part. We thank you again for your valuable comments and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and your family back to the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens.
Yours sincerely,
Martha Pallis
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My mum and I stayed here for 3 days before moving to a different hotel (Divani Apollon Palace & Spa) on the coast of Athens. What struck me as the main difference between the hotels (which are both upmarket establishments) was the friendliness of the staff. The staff here are courteous and professional (certainly not a bad thing), but did not have that friendly, welcoming quality that I find makes a difference when dealing with enquiries, checking in and out, etc (the staff at the Divani Apollon encompassed all these qualities). It is largely a business hotel, and the business-like manner probably reflects that. This is personal preference though, and is a minor point.

The hotel is spotless and spacious, and our beds were plushy and so comfortable that I found it hard to get up in the morning! The breakfast was plentiful and tasty, with a large selection of fresh fruit, cold cuts, cheeses, cooked breakfast, cereal, pancakes and and Greek yoghurt with a good variety of toppings.

We arrived at the hotel at 11pm, and because of the lack of restaurants in the vicinity, we ate at the brasserie on the ground floor of the hotel. The food at the brasserie is expensive and bland, and if you choose to eat at the hotel, the rooftop restaurant, which is pricey but has good reviews, is a better bet.

The shuttle into the city centre is brilliant, and takes you there in 10 minutes or less. It runs from early until late most days (Sunday has a different schedule), about every 30 minutes. You can also ask the driver to drop you off a little earlier at the Acropolis (a taxi to the Acropolis is also reasonably priced at 5 euros). The nearest metro station to the hotel is Syngrou-Fix, about 10-15 minutes walk away. To reach the hotel from the station, you have to walk through an underpass near the hotel to get to the other side of the road. The underpass is dark and narrow, and could be a little intimidating to walk through late at night. This isn't a problem though, as you can pretty much rely on the shuttle for transportation to and from the city - there isn't much to see in the area near the hotel except for some dessert places near the station.

My only real gripe about this hotel, which is otherwise an excellent choice of accommodation whilst in Athens, is that they charge for Wi-Fi. As a top quality hotel, especially in this day and age, I would not expect to pay extra for Wi-Fi, which is provided complimentary by many other hotels of a similar standing. I chose instead to use the Wi-Fi available at many restaurants and cafes in the city centre.

Having said all this, it is a good choice of hotel as the shuttle service is so convenient, the rooms are comfortable and clean, and the breakfast is great. In addition, our stay was amazing value-for-money, as we got an excellent deal through a hotel booking website.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Squidsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear musing_on_muse,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens during your recent holiday with your family. We greatly appreciate your feedback and are happy to learn that you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms and our extensive breakfast buffet as well as our complimentary shuttle bus service to Syntagma square. Regarding the cost of internet connection, while our prices are lower than those of our competitors in Athens, may we take this opportunity to suggest that you join our loyalty program, IHG Rewards Club, as one of its benefits is complimentary internet access on the basic package at all InterContinental Hotels and Resorts worldwide. We thank you again for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit to Athens.
Yours sincerely,
Martha Pallis
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I stayed 3 nights at this hotel on a business trip and was not disappointed. Being my first trip to Athens i was excited and was not completely disappointed.
Pros:
Good location, close to all the touristy spots.
Big hotel with huge conference rooms.
Service was good.
The roof top restaurant is spectacular, with awesome views of the Acropolis.
Cons:
The neighborhood do not have enough local food.
Hotel is old and you can sense that in the rooms too.

Overall i would say pros win over cons, so i might stay at this hotel for my next trip.

Room Tip: Ask for high floors with Acropolis view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Pratyush P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Pratyush P
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Athenaeum InterContinental whilst travelling to Athens on business earlier this year. It pleases us to learn that you enjoyed our service and facilities, in particular, our award-winning Premiere rooftop restaurant. We thank you for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Athens.
Yours sincerely,
Martha Pallis
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My boyfriend and I visited Athens for a few nights and stayed here. The hotel itself was very luxurious -- great friendly receptionists and staff, very grand lobby area with plenty of seats. We had an amazingly large room (uninteresting view but not an issue with us) with a very comfortable king-sized bed, soft pillows and blankets, nice seating area with couch and coffee table, flat-screen tv, huge bathroom and bidet. Granted, we did not spend that much time in the hotel room since there's so much to see in Athens, but it was a great place to come back to in the evenings. Breakfast was included, and the dining room was huge with plenty of buffet options, both hot and cold foods, very efficient waiters for coffee and tea service.

Wifi was not free (6 euros for slowest tier) but was consistent. There is a free shuttle service to Syntagma square which was nice, but did not come very often -- once every 30 min to once an hour. Taxi rides to Monastiraki were cheap, about 5 euros, but that adds up if you take taxis twice a day to the main areas.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gdfsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear gdfsh,
Thank you for staying at the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens and for taking the time to write a review. We have noted that the comfort of our rooms, the service from our staff and our extensive breakfast buffet at Cafezoe contributed to making your stay a memorable one. Once again, we thank you for your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit to Athens.
Yours sincerely,
Martha Pallis
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Hilton Athens
#17 of 281 in Athens
3,762 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 281 in Athens
3,893 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Exarchia
Radisson Blu Park Hotel Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Athenaeum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Athenaeum

Address: 89 - 93 Syngrou Ave, Athens 11745, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Athens
#10 Business Hotel in Athens
#13 Family Hotel in Athens
#15 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#18 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £123 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Athenaeum 5*
Number of rooms: 543
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No wonder the Athenaeum InterContinental has been named Greece s leading hotel time and again. Athens largest guestrooms, award winning fine dining venues and a central location appeal to business and leisure travellers alike. Within a few kilometres are the Acropolis, the Parthenon, the Temple of Apollo and the Pláka. Metro and tram stations are also nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your InterContinental Athenaeum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Athenaeum Hotel Athens
Intercontinental Hotel Athens
Intercontinental Hotel Athenaeum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing