We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good choice for tourists”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Athenaeum
Ranked #26 of 284 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The location of the hotel is inconvenient, basically it is in the middle of nowhere, no restaurant, no shopping, no bar, no nightlife, no sight seeing, nothing. You have to take a taxi or walk for 20 minutes to the nearest tube station.

The lobby of the hotel is incredibly empty and decorated with terrible tastes; staff at the reception could barely speak English. It took half an hour to check us in, and that was midnight when everyone of us was so tired. Do not even try to ask for any restaurant advice from the staff, they just sent you to some place where they could get comission.

Room was out of dates, but huge; bathroom was nice though.

Anyway definitely should avoid it if you go to Athens as a tourist.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher levels have been refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vivdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Vivdo,
Thank you for staying at the Athenaeum InterContinental whilst in Athens earlier this month. We have taken note of your comments regarding the level of service you received upon your check-in and would like to express our sincere apologies for the disappointment we caused you. Such lapses in our service are indeed rare and we appreciate the fact that you have brought this incident to our attention. Regarding our location, while the hotel is situated in a residential and business area, one may easily reach the city centre by a variety of modes of transport. Either with our complimentary daily shuttle bus service to Syntagma square, a taxi at the approximate cost of Euro 5 or public transport such as a bus, tram and metro. The bus stop is on the next block, the tramp stop is two blocks away, while the metro station Syngrou-Fix may be reached on foot in 10 minutes or less. We thank you for your valuable feedback and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel on a future visit to Athens.
Yours sincerely,
Martha Pallis
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,048 - 1,054 of 2,369 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

Ok it might not be in the heart of things, but a good shuttle bus service takes you to the action! Lovely rooms, peaceful hotel, nothing too much trouble, great toiletries, friendly staff. Always restocking your room or cleaning....very good service. Food terrific...but a bit pricey, but well deserves its Michelin stars. On the roof under the stars with great views. Small pool but quite sufficient for the time you are there and not out being a tourist. Will definitely be revisiting.

Room Tip: Anywhere is good, some suites have balconies, get one if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank eggybreadUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear eggybreadUk,
Thank you for staying with us at the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens and for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and in particular, your dining experience at our award winning Premiere restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Yours sincerely,
Martha Pallis
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The building is huge and luxury! Close to center but needs a car or a scooter. There is a bus service of the hotel though. Big rooms and comfortable bad. Swimming pool did not meet my expectations. However, it is a 80/90 hotel and all services provided are extra!!! Wi-Fi is 6€ per day for only 2 devices!!
If you find a sale is convenient, otherwise for full price you can definitely find a better place. Leave it to far east and far west tourism.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carlo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Carlo P,
Thank you for staying at the Athenaeum InterContinental whilst in Athens last month. It pleases us to learn that our accommodations met with your expectations in terms of comfort and spaciousness. With regard to the cost of internet connection, may we take this opportunity to advise you that our prices are in fact, lower than our competitors in Athens. Moreover, by joining our loyalty program, IHG Rewards Club, you are automatically entitled to complimentary internet access on the basic package at all InterContinental Hotels and Resorts worldwide. We thank you for your valuable comments and look forward to welcoming you back to the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens.
Yours sincerely,
Martha Pallis
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

With Greece still in economic crisis, the Greeks we meet are trying incredibly hard to attract customers and remain competitive.....apart from this hotel.

I'm not the only Trip Advisor reviewer to complain about the prices of food & beverages here. €6.50 for a small coke by the pool and €14.50 for a vodka / orange are nothing short of guest abuse....and to read a response from the guest relations manager justifying prices through the hotel providing high quality products is a joke. A coke is a coke is a coke. Even the waitress was embarrassed when presenting the bill.

The resulting factor is that most of the guests we spoke to had also decided to eat and drink outside of the hotel.

The rooms are ok. The club lounge is nice. The bed was incredibly comfortable.

...but, come on ICH. Your hotel is ok (even if a little tired), but your staff also struggle to smile and often fail to acknowledge guests when walking by. You can make huge improvements here if you take time to think more about the importance of your guests.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank R A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear R A,
Thank you for staying with us at the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens and for taking the time to write a review. We do value our guests and are sorry to learn of the lapse in service you experienced during your stay. Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointment we caused you and rest assured that your comments will be shared with the rest of our team. We thank you for your valuable feedback and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel on a future visit to Athens.
Yours sincerely,
Martha Pallis
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This is my second time staying here (last in 2009) and it never disappoints. Room was clean and always well-stocked with towels and toiletries. Staff went out of their way to make our visit pleasant, and everyone was friendly. The breakfast was outstanding. We also visited the roof terrace for some great night photos of the city and Acropolis. Because I was an IHG member, I did get free Wi-Fi, though if you're not a rewards member, there is a fee. Bathroom was marble tiled - watch yourself when you get out of the shower with wet feet. Beds were comfortable, and never heard a single thing all night. We did have a view of the Acropolis from our room on the first floor. Plenty of electrical outlets to charge up all my camera gear. The concierge was very helpful with any questions about transport, and arranges you taxis in a jiffy. Really can't say enough good things about his hotel. I've stayed at two other Intercontinentals and really like them.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank castlesara2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear castlesara2010,
Thank you for your patronage to the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens and for writing a review about your stay. As a valued IHG Rewards Club member and repeat guest, we greatly appreciate your feedback. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms, the service from our staff and our extensive breakfast buffet at Cafezoe. Once again, thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the very near future.
Yours sincerely,
Martha Pallis
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is nice and clean. The staff is friendly except for the bad shuttle services. The location of the hotel is not close to downtown so the hotel provided shuttle services under the first come first serve basis but they don't provide guests with the information. If you don't get a seat, you have to wait half an hour for the next shuttle.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Belinda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Belinda O,
Thank you for staying at the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens and for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to learn that the service from our staff met with your expectations as did the cleanliness in the hotel. However, we are sorry for the disappointment caused to you due to the miscommunication on our part. Indeed, our hotel operates a complimentary daily shuttle bus service to Syntagma square, however, the minibus can seat up to 19 persons at a time. If the bus is full, one may also take the tram, metro or public bus to Syntagma square or alternatively, a taxi which costs approximately Euro 5. We thank you again for your valuable feedback and hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the very near future.
Yours sincerely,
Martha Pallis
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Was there for only a short stay. Was worried that hotel was not so new, so was pleasantly surprised when I arrived. I was given a superior room in what I believe is the renovated wing of the hotel. Had a great view of the Acropolis. The rooftop restaurant/ bar was great. Though a bit expensive (as expected) it was well worth it. Definitely recommend it. Not sure about transportation as I had a car at my disposal, but saw bus stops around, so shouldn t be a problem. Cannot say much about breakfast as I did not get the chance to try.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank frequenttraveller058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear frequenttraveller058,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens earlier this month. Though a short stay, we are delighted to learn that you enjoyed our accommodations and Premiere rooftop restaurant and bar. Indeed, there are many modes of public transport that one may use which are close to the hotel as well as our complimentary shuttle bus service to Syntagma square. We thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Athens.
Yours sincerely,
Martha Pallis
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Hilton Athens
#16 of 284 in Athens
3,897 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 284 in Athens
3,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 284 in Athens
1,756 reviews
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Athenaeum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Athenaeum

Address: 89 - 93 Syngrou Ave, Athens 11745, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Athens
#10 Family Hotel in Athens
#10 Business Hotel in Athens
#15 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#18 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £130 - £361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Athenaeum 5*
Number of rooms: 543
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No wonder the Athenaeum InterContinental has been named Greece s leading hotel time and again. Athens largest guestrooms, award winning fine dining venues and a central location appeal to business and leisure travellers alike. Within a few kilometres are the Acropolis, the Parthenon, the Temple of Apollo and the Pláka. Metro and tram stations are also nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Athenaeum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Athenaeum Hotel Athens
Intercontinental Hotel Athens
Intercontinental Hotel Athenaeum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing