We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, excellent staff, OK room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Athenaeum
Ranked #26 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Front of office staff were excellent, and was a nice touch to have the manager and guest relations manager come and introduce themselves. The room itself is tastefully appointed, but a little dated. Very comfortable bed.

The hotel is a 5 minute cab ride to the main touristy sites. Apparently there is public transport too but we didn't have time to try.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank DPSHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear DPSHongKong,
Thank you for staying with us at the Athenaeum InterContinental whilst in Athens last month. Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and it is a pleasure to learn that your stay with us was an enjoyable one. We thank you for your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Yours sincerely,
Martha Pallis
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

957 - 963 of 2,305 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014

I've stayed for business at the Intercontinental in Athens. The welcome was very warm and the team was much interested how they could be of assistance during my stay. That in itself was the warmest and most personal welcome I've had throughout the year. It speaks for itself that the rest of interaction with staff was a great from concierge to doorman to business center. Now what else counts? The rooms of course! They are specious well equipped but they are clearly aging. So if it's space and a good nights rest you need, it's covered. For a romantic stay I would choose an alternative. The hotel comes at a good value.

Lastly the hotel was located conveniently for my business purposes. One evening I set out to have a look at the Acropolis. The free shuttle service was kind enough to drop me of near the sight. So, next time I would book this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank alotofdots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear alotofdots,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Athenaeum InterContinental whilst travelling to Athens on business earlier this month. We greatly appreciate your review and are delighted to learn that the service from our staff, the spaciousness of our rooms as well as facilities met with your expectations. May we take this opportunity to advise you that our hotel has a range of room categories to choose from, in which, the Deluxe room category is the most recently renovated room type. We thank you again for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back on your return trip to Athens.
Yours sincerely,
Martha Pallis
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

I do not understand some of the bad reviews of this hotel! This is a great hotel...ok so you are far from the main sights, but honestly it takes 3-4 euro in a taxi to get to main center or you can always use the free shuttle provided by the hotel or there is a tram which takes you there for less than 2 euros and the tram station is literally less than a minute walk from the hotel! You will be in center in less than 10 minutes...it would take you that much time to walk if you were in a "central" hotel!

The staff of this hotel were nothing but welcoming...from the guy who calls the taxi to receptionist to everyone...they make you feel you are their own!

There are some room which are renovated and some which aren’t...I stayed in one which isn’t! And it was still more than I could expect.

If I had to point out one bad thing about this hotel it would be the female staff at the reception… they always seemed non caring and aloof. They were just there to do their job, they didn’t care who you were or what you wanted! I don’t think I ever saw them smile or even look at you, if you had a problem they were least bothered… absolute polar opposite to the male staff at the reception, who were always smiling, very attentive to your needs and extremely helpful! Get a male staff to check you in! I stayed there 10 days and I saw pretty much everyone…so just get a male staff for checkin and to sort out any issues.

And oh...I never understood why was the breakfast staff so overwhelmed all the time, irrespective of the number of people. But its ok they always did their best!

TIP 1: if you are coming off the X95 bus from the airport... see to your left (facing the buildings, not the road) when you exist the bus and you should see the parliament, start walking towards it (its literally a stone throw away)...you will hit a street, you need to cross it, turn right and keep walking (you will cross the syntagma metro station entrance stairs) till you see a big curbside bus stop...this is where the shuttle stops! The whole journey is 2 minutes walking. The buses are usually every half an hour or an hour depending on the time…contact the hotel! Do not depend on them to tell you the stop though! Or just get the taxi for 4-5 euros.

TIP 2: If you are trying to book a tour (inside or outside Athens)…wait till u get there! You will get a letter under your door with a nice little discount code by key tours (they were great) in the morning (psssttt…it’s not by concierge)! I didn't know this.

Room Tip: Do not get a connecting room, you have been warned!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank awesome_trav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear awesome_trav,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens and for sharing your detailed feedback. Our guests’ satisfaction is what we strive for and it pleases greatly to learn that your stay with us met with your expectations. We have, however, noted the inconsistency in service you received from our Front Desk team and are very sorry for the disappointment we have caused you. Please rest assured that your remarks will be discussed with our team in order to address this lapse in service on our part. Once again, thank you for your valuable comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the very near future.
Yours sincerely,
Martha Pallis
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Overall this hotel offers the complete package. The location is very convenient with the Kassamouli tram stop 3 mins walk from the hotel and only 4 stops from Syntagma Sq. The concierge is very helpful, the rooms are a little dated but very clean and comfortable beds. The pool is small for the size of hotel and gets busy from 4 - 5.30 but is a fab sun trap. But really the stand outs for this hotel are the amazing view of the Acropolis from the rooftop terrace bar, the delicious breakfast in cafe Zoe from 6.30 - 11, and most of all the brilliant, warm and friendly staff. I recommend this hotel very strongly indeed!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Vossers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Vossers,
Thank you for staying with us at the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens and for your kind comments. It is a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed our accommodations as well as facilities and in particular, the high level of service from our staff. We greatly appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to our city.
Yours sincerely,
Martha Pallis
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The hotel is about 10 minutes from the central square... but its a great hotel with excellent service.

We paid extra for the club floor, and it was well worth it. We got to have a few drinks up in the club lounge outside on the terrace overlooking the Acropolis. Just beautiful.

Breakfast at Zoe is first rate... couldn't fault it. And the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Actually this goes for all the staff in the hotel. Particularly Theo in the club lounge - nothing was too much trouble for him, and he helped us a lot with advice for restaurants (given so many are closed in August), and other tidbits. Thanks Theo for making our stay in Athens very memorable.

The rooms are spacious and the beds very comfortable.

Would I stay here again - definitely.... But my tip is pay the extra for the club floor.

Room Tip: Pay the little bit extra for the club floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank aussieguy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear aussieguy69,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Athenaeum InterContinental whilst in Athens earlier this month. We greatly value your review and are delighted to learn that you enjoyed our Club InterContinental facilities, staff service as well as our buffet breakfast at Cafezoe. We thank you for your commendations and look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Yours sincerely,
Martha Pallis
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Good hotel, nice and clean rooms. Breakfast is EXCELLENT at Zoe. Pool is nice but could be opened until later during summer. Dont miss Privilege restaurant(nice gastronomic experience, pricy though) or bar on the top with a nice view of the Acropolis. Wifi could be free, they charge 6 euro/day.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Bianca_ing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Bianca_ing
Thank you for staying at the Athenaeum InterContinental on your recent visit to Athens. We greatly appreciate your kind comments and are delighted to learn that your stay with us was an enjoyable one. With regard to complimentary access to the internet, may we take this opportunity to recommend that you join our loyalty program, IHG Rewards Club, as one of its many benefits is complimentary internet access at all IHG Hotels and Resorts worldwide. We thank you again for your commendations and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to our city.
Yours sincerely,
Martha Pallis
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a short 2 night stay in Athens and was perfect for what we wanted. The staff were great and the hotel was very clean. Nothing really to complain about, other than the distance into centre, but the free shuttle helps with this.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank DanniiElla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear DanniiElla
Thank you for staying with us at the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens and for writing a review. We are delighted to learn that your stay with us met your expectations in terms of both service and cleanliness. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the very near future.
Yours sincerely,
Martha Pallis
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Hilton Athens
#17 of 281 in Athens
3,751 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 281 in Athens
3,887 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Exarchia
Radisson Blu Park Hotel Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Athenaeum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Athenaeum

Address: 89 - 93 Syngrou Ave, Athens 11745, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Athens
#10 Business Hotel in Athens
#13 Family Hotel in Athens
#15 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#18 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £124 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Athenaeum 5*
Number of rooms: 543
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No wonder the Athenaeum InterContinental has been named Greece s leading hotel time and again. Athens largest guestrooms, award winning fine dining venues and a central location appeal to business and leisure travellers alike. Within a few kilometres are the Acropolis, the Parthenon, the Temple of Apollo and the Pláka. Metro and tram stations are also nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your InterContinental Athenaeum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Athenaeum Hotel Athens
Intercontinental Hotel Athens
Intercontinental Hotel Athenaeum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing