We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service with a Wonderful bed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Athenaeum
Ranked #28 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Service with a Wonderful bed”
Reviewed 6 October 2009

We were only able to stay at this hotel for one night, before our cruise the next evening, but it seemed like two days. We arrived in the morning after traveling for 18 hours to reach Athens so we needed some rest. We checked in at the Club level 8th floor, which I would highly recommend. They had a room available so we checked in early that morning. The Club level is well worth the money, snacks in the afternoon, heavy appetizers and a full bar in the evening and a very nice breakfast spread make it a real value. You have a great view of the city and the Acropolis, especially at night from the outdoor deck area on the 8th floor. I have to mention the beds, they are heavenly. Great linens and very comfortable.
The service was very attentive and professional. The location is a little ways from the center of the city, but the complimentary bus ran often and was very comfortable, he even dropped us off on the street by the Acropolis so we did not have to walk far. The restaurant on the top of the hotel was very good, a little expensive, but that is to be expected in Athens. The wine list was very good and the quality of the meal was superb. You have a great view of the Acropolis at night. We spent the day in Athens and checked out late at no charge. Once again everyone was very professional. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingwinedude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, 8 October 2009
Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for choosing the Athenaeum InterContinental as your hotel in Athens during your recent visit.
We are pleased that you enjoyed the service and facilities at our Club InterContinental as well as the comfort of our beds. We would also like to thank you for your kind comments about our award-winning Premiere restaurant which has also received an award for its exceptional wine list.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to Athens and the Athenaeum InterContinental.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,000
    869
    257
    72
    33
See reviews for
443
686
133
661
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2009

My wife and I stayed here for two nights after our Mediterranean cruise. We booked on hotwire.com and paid a quarter of what others paid, although initially hotwire doesn't let you know which hotel until after you paid. When we first arrived we asked for a smoke-free room, but when we got to the room on a smoke free floor (first) it smelled strongly of smoke. They then assigned us another room on the third floor. Since we were sightseeing most of the time, we didn't get to see and use the hotel too much, but from what we can see this is truly an upscale hotel with first class amenities, rooms and service. Our room was very spacious, clean and well equipped; the furnishings were of a high standard. The concierges are very helpful, and although the hotel is not situated in the Plaka or a tourist area, the shuttle runs every half an hour to Sygmata Square in the center of the city (takes about 15 minutes), which makes it very easy to get to all the sights. At the price we paid we got a real bargain.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doc2th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, 6 October 2009
Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for staying at the Athenaeum InterContinental during your visit to Athens. It is always a pleasure to hear from guests whose expectations were met and we would like to thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed the spaciousness of our rooms and our outstanding concierge service. We look forward to welcoming you back to Athens and the Athenaeum InterContinental.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2009

This hotel was absolutely luxurious and extremely comfortable. The room is gorgeous, and the bed is perfect. The negatives are as follows: First, the location is poor. You can walk to areas of interest but it will take you a solid 25 minutes at least. The shuttle bus is not that efficient. The worst part of the hotel is that they try and rip you off on EVERYTHING! The internet costs around $8 for 15 minutes! If you want a beer from the fridge you have to pay around $10. If you want to rent a movie in the room, you have to pay around $25! Needless to say, it gets ridiculous after awhile. So, stay here if you want to be very comfortable on a business trip. Otherwise, stay away.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCMIAlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, 3 October 2009
Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Athenaeum InterContinental on your recent visit to Athens.
We are pleased that you found our accommodation both comfortable and luxurious.
With regard to your comments about the cost of internet access, mini-bar and pay movies, we would like to inform you that our prices are, in fact, in line with our competitors in Athens.
We would like to thank you for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on a future visit to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greece
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2009

My double-bed room wasn't too spacious and I had no view, but that's all against it. It has the best beds I've ever experienced in any Greek hotel, the service was excellent, the atmosphere of the bar exactly what I needed for a drink after a long and tiring day. I also consider it good value, since I booked early at a very reasonable price. Worth searching for bargains. The restaurant was a pleasant surprise: great food, not (too) expensive.
The location isn't ideal, but at least I had no trouble parking - it can really be a problem in Athens. All in all, a pleasant stay. I would gladly choose it again.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank gogaros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, 29 September 2009
Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for your kind comments and recommendation. We are delighted that you enjoyed the service and facilities at our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2009

Rooms and bed were very comfortable and overall a good experience, but next time I would stay closer to the center. The metro, tram, and shuttle are convenient but it does add some waiting time that you could spend doing other things.

The couple glitches that otherwise were simply annoyances that we ran into that you should be aware of to make your trip better:

1) the hotel restaurant on the roof is closed Sunday / Monday. We were looking forward to it, got dressed, and went up and to our surprise everything was locked up. I couldn't find any reference of the closure in any of the in-room materials...so I am guessing we are not the first one to have a problem. We ended going to the Hotel Grande Bretange - generally known as one of the top hotels in Athens. Their rooftop restaruant and bar has a great (potentially better) view and the drinks were well made (although expect 7-15 euros per drink).

2) There is no printed schedule for the shuttle in the room to take with you. You have to check downstairs in the lobby or call down. While generally the shuttle is every hour on the half hour there are some exceptions. We ended up being in town and unsure if one of the exceptions applied. Without the schedule in hand, we took the tram instead of potentially waiting an hour for the shuttle. My bet is you may be able to get a copy of the schedule from the front desk - do so and bring it to town with you.

3) Pool was comfortable and high class. They had an attendant on duty the whole time and there is ice water plus snacks available. No hot tub as far as I could tell. Only issue is it closes pretty early (8PM) so you need to take time during the day to go. We were hoping on a swim at 9-10 our first night and were a little disappointed but the pool is a good spot predinner from 4pm-6pm after a day in town.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelers1526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, 28 September 2009
Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for having chosen the Athenaeum InterContinental on your recent visit to Athens and for taking the time to share your valuable comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to Athens and the Athenaeum InterContinental.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles, california
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2009

This hotel has awesome beds, I loved the soft sheets. It was quiet. The room was large with a view of the ruins. I liked it being away from the noisy part of town. The shower was awesome. The hotel shutlle was free and the drivers were nice. Most of the greeks are grumpy. Some are nice. We loved the restarant, Psarro's, reccommended by the concierge. One concierge was very easy and nice, the other a little gruff. The room was large, with a sitting area. The extras are expensive, internet. However, I loved this hotel. I go to a hotel to rest and shower and this was a great place to rest. I was in greece for 2 weeks and most the beds and bathrooms were awful, but this was fabulous. I wish I could have taken your bed home with me.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelofmercy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, 28 September 2009
Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for choosing the Athenaeum InterContinental on your recent visit to Athens. We are delighted that you have enjoyed the comfort of our rooms and our complimentary shuttle bus service to the city center. Thank you for sharing your kind
comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Athens and the Athenaeum
InterContinental.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2009

The hotel was as you would expect from Intercontinental - very clean and plush. the rooms were a little dated, however large, very clean and very comfortable.

The location of the hotel is terrible though for tourists. It is located a 5-10min car ride out of the main CBD of Athens. It is in a down-grade residential area. there is not a shop, cafe or restaurant in any kind of walking distance. It has a major highway on one side which cuts you off from accessing Athens easily. The hotel runs a shuttle bus into the CBD once per hour, however you miss a lot when you can't just duck in and out of your hotel throughout the day. To make matters worse, the inhouse restaurants and room service is incredibly expensive, which we thought was a little unreasonable given the hotels location and the fact that guests are a captive audience when it comes to food. For example, a room service hamburger was $50AU.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RubyTuesday100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, 17 September 2009
Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms.
While our hotel is located in a residential and business area – twenty minutes walking distance from the city centre - except from the complimentary shuttle bus, one may use other transportation means such as the metro, public bus, tram and taxi, which all drop off at a very close proximity to the hotel.
Our top of its rank Concierge department, which operates on a twenty four hour basis, is always available to make recommendations for restaurants which are located within walking distance of the hotel, as well as provide directions to the nearest underpasses and traffic lights which are found in large numbers along Syngrou Avenue.
Let me take this opportunity to inform you that the prices of our award-winning restaurants are in line with our competitor hotels in Athens and other European cities.
Thank you again for sharing your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Athens and the Athenaeum InterContinental.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Hilton Athens
#22 of 326 in Athens
3,652 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Exarchia
Radisson Blu Park Hotel Athens
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Divani Caravel Hotel
#59 of 326 in Athens
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Athenaeum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Athenaeum

Property: InterContinental Athenaeum
Address: 89 - 93 Syngrou Ave, Athens 11745, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Athens
#15 Business Hotel in Athens
#17 Family Hotel in Athens
#19 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#19 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Athenaeum 5*
Number of rooms: 543
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No wonder the Athenaeum InterContinental has been named Greece s leading hotel time and again. Athens largest guestrooms, award winning fine dining venues and a central location appeal to business and leisure travellers alike. Within a few kilometres are the Acropolis, the Parthenon, the Temple of Apollo and the Pláka. Metro and tram stations are also nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Odigeo, Agoda, Bookgreece.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Athenaeum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Athenaeum Hotel Athens
Intercontinental Hotel Athens
Intercontinental Hotel Athenaeum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing