We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Professional, helpful staff, excellent clean room, out of city center.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Athenaeum
Ranked #28 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Professional, helpful staff, excellent clean room, out of city center.”
Reviewed 23 June 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights over 2 different stays in June 2010. The hotel is a bit out of the city center in a grungy area, but the free shuttle every half an hour is great (hotel very close to bus stops, a bit of a way from the metro).

As young travelers dressed like travelers rather than business professionals, we expected a slightly aloof reception, but to the contrary they were very pleasant and helpful, we were very impressed. The hotel itself is as you would expect from a 5 star hotel. The room was very spacious, clean and comfortable. Yes, the costs of the room service/internet etc are extreme, but they are seem within the range of their 5 star competition. Wake up calls, taxi ordering, luggage storage all went smoothly without a hitch. Swimming pool was also very pleasant and well maintained. Shuttle drivers were excellent, stopping to let us get off closer to the acropolis when we asked.

Overall, an excellent stay. The location is a drawback (despite the shuttle), but the price of the hotel reflect this, as compared to their more centrally located competition.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebas12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, 24 June 2010
Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for choosing the Athenaeum InterContinental for both of your visits to Athens this month. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms as well as our other facilities such as the pool and complimentary shuttle bus service. While our hotel is located in a business and residential area, the shuttle bus service does indeed assist our guests in reaching Syntagma square both quickly and efficiently, as it operates daily between 8:30 and 10:30pm. We have also noted your comments about the quality of service you received from our staff and would like to thank you for your commendations. Once again, we thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    984
    853
    255
    72
    32
See reviews for
431
677
131
656
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2010

Great service, and very etiquette restaurant. Great AIR conditioned system (you need it) and really nice amenities.I will be back

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alberto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, 28 June 2010
Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for choosing the Athenaeum InterContinental on your recent visit to Athens and for your recommendation. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed our service and the facilities of our spacious rooms as well as our restaurants.
We thank you again for your valuable comments and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2010

I stayed in Athens for all August 2 weeks at this hotel great hotel great staff great service a bit expensive but nothing bad to say at all about this hotel average pool lovely shops in the lobby i enjoyed my stay 2 thumbs up.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe_petr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, 19 June 2010
Dear Trip Advisor Reader,


Thank you choosing the Athenaeum InterContinental for your recent stay in Athens and for your kind commends. It is with great delight we hear that your stay with us was an enjoyable one and that you found the level of service along with the facilities provided to be to your satisfaction.
Once more, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freiburg
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2010

While not the most glamorous choice in town, due to its somewhat off-center location, this is a solid hotel worthy of the Intercontinental name.

Standard rooms are spacious and comfortable, if a bit anonymous. Furnishing and bathroom are of a good standard.

Service is not especially proactive, but beyond complaints, as the desired result is always delivered. For instance, the taxis provided by the hotel are always honest and professional.

It is unclear whether the IC Ambassador upgrade really results in a better room, but the 'Ambassador gift' is sometimes more original than the usual chocolates, with for instance a box of lokoums.

The tram from Syntagma adds one step for accessing the metro, but this location means this IC is often priced much lower than comparable hotels, sometimes no more than much inferior ones.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwc196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, 21 June 2010
Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for choosing the Athenaeum InterContinental on your recent stay in Athens and for your kind comments. Customer satisfaction is our primary concern and it is very rewarding to hear from a loyal member of our hotel chain. Please let me take this opportunity to assure you that we are very committed in providing our Ambassador members all the benefits they are entitled to when joining the Ambassador Club, including the room upgrade. Once again, allow me to express our gratitude for having the opportunity to have you as a guest at our hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2010

Journey from Syntagma (central point in city) was very straight forward, I got the Tram from Syntagma Tram station 4 stops to Kassoumli you can just walk down any of the side streets – they will lead you to the hotel.

Check in was smooth and swift – I was given a room on the 5th floor which was lovely. I won’t go into detail – the room was spotlessly clean as was the bathroom, had a view overlooking the highway, but traffic noise was minimal due to double glazing. Room was nice & spacious. Beds very comfortable. Like other reviews state theirs no Ironing Board in the room, which is a slight inconvience but no problem to use the Ironing Room on the 4th floor.

Had breakfast @ the hotel, which I have to say is the best in any hotel I’ve ever been to (including the Marriot) – this was included in my rate – but I think it would very expensive if its not!

I lounged by the pool one day for about a couple of hours – although the pool area is fantastic, its quite small, theirs not enough loungers/chairs for the size of the hotel, but its still a great place to chill out & sip on cool drinks in the hot sun.

Went to the rooftop bar for a drink, the views are amazing, even if you just buy a coke its worth it!

I used the shuttle just once to get to the centre, took about 10mins, can’t remember the schedule., but this was very straightforward!

Did not use the minibar, but as other reviews have stated – the prices are beyond ridicoulous – its about 5Euros for a bar of choclate for instance. Again like others have said, theirs a little snack shop right in front of the hotel.

The area around the hotel was absolutely fine for me, not much to do I suppose if you wanna eat or see something interesting. 1 stop from Kassoumouli is the stop Neos Kosmos which has a few eatieries, there is also a very small supermarket which I used to pick up local sweets and cakes to bring back for my children.

Checking out was fine – no problems. Reception and ground staff were not overly friendly, didn’t really smile much, maybe becauses its more of a corporate hotel they want to keep things professional – maybe not! I did not speak to them whilst their but was confident if I had any queries they would have been dealt with efficiently. Breakfast staff couldn’t be more helpful, friendly and polite.

I enjoyed my stay and if I return to Athens (which I plan to next year) I will stay their again. Although not directly smackbang in the centre, you can get their in no time at all.

One thing, if it wasn’t for reading reviews here I would not no about the shuttle or the Ironing Room – I suppose you have to ask!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cantwaitformehol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, 21 June 2010
Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for your kind comments and recommendation. We are delighted that your stay with us was an enjoyable one. However, we were concerned to read that the Reception staff that assisted you were not friendly and would like to apologise for this lapse in service on our part. We trust that when you return to Athens next year, we will offer you a welcome and assistance in keeping with your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Athenaeum InterContinental.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2010

I stayed at the hotel from Friday to Monday. First of all they kindly allowed me to cancel my original reservation despite it being made with points (due to a last minute flight cancellation by British Airways); that was above and beyond and really appreciated.

The hotel is very good by Athens standards, although it would not stand up to comparison with a Four Seasons (if there was one there). The rooms are a little dated in some respects, although the beds are exceptionally comfortable. The pool area is lovely if you can get a seat and the rooftop bar / restaurant with views of the Acropolis a great as it sounds.

The one bug bear is the price of food and drinks. A cocktail was Euro15, which is simply outrageous, even in central London. Local bars charged Euro5 for the same cocktail. The food prices are equally amazing. In room movies are Euro18. This rather takes the sparkle out of the overall experience...and is not something I have seen in other hotels with IHG. The cost of a room over the weekend I stayed dropped to Euro109, which is fantastic value and puts the others charges into perspective.

My advice is stay here...eat and drink out.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GroundedKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, 17 June 2010
Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for choosing the Athenaeum InterContinental on your recent visit to Athens. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, in particular, our award-winning restaurant Premiere with its breathtaking view of Athens. We have made note of your comments regarding the prices at our restaurants and bars and would like to take this opportunity to inform you that our prices are, in fact, in line with our competitors in Athens. We thank you again for your valuable comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2010

Very nice place to stay for one night in Athens before we headed out for the islands. I booked this hotel for $100 on priceline for a Saturday night in June, so I have no complaints whatsoever about the price! Beautiful lobby area, helpful staff, clean, spacious and comfortable room…overall, we had a very pleasant stay. The shuttle is also very convenient. Make sure to get a shuttle schedule (and a map of Athens) when you check in. You can also just walk into the city - it's not far at all, and it's a good opportunity to burn off all of the baklava and gyros you'll be enjoying. Speaking of baklava, on the walk into the city we found a wonderful little bakery (on the left hand side of the street) that was hidden between a sex shop and an Olympic airlines office. Delicious Greek desserts!

Only bad thing that happened was that the showerhead broke the morning that we checked out and sprayed the entire bathroom with water. We notified the front desk when we checked out and they assured us it would be fixed.

Overall, this hotel was a great value and we had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kamaaina_cutie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, 17 June 2010
Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay at our hotel and for your recommendation. We are indeed happy to learn that you enjoyed our facilities and service, including our complimentary shuttle bus. However, we would like to apologise for the inconvenience that was caused to you on the morning of your departure caused by the showerhead in your room. Please rest assured that this issue has already been addressed. We thank you for choosing to stay at the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Hilton Athens
#21 of 326 in Athens
3,573 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Divani Caravel Hotel
#53 of 326 in Athens
1,285 reviews
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Electra Metropolis Athens
#11 of 326 in Athens
365 reviews
Exarchia
Radisson Blu Park Hotel Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Athenaeum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Athenaeum

Property: InterContinental Athenaeum
Address: 89 - 93 Syngrou Ave, Athens 11745, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Athens
#15 Business Hotel in Athens
#17 Family Hotel in Athens
#19 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#19 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Athenaeum 5*
Number of rooms: 543
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No wonder the Athenaeum InterContinental has been named Greece s leading hotel time and again. Athens largest guestrooms, award winning fine dining venues and a central location appeal to business and leisure travellers alike. Within a few kilometres are the Acropolis, the Parthenon, the Temple of Apollo and the Pláka. Metro and tram stations are also nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Priceline, IHG, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Athenaeum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Athenaeum Hotel Athens
Intercontinental Hotel Athens
Intercontinental Hotel Athenaeum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing