We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and staff, location was ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Athenaeum
Ranked #28 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great hotel and staff, location was ok”
Reviewed 22 August 2010

This hotel is indeed a little bit out of the city center, but a short taxi ride (usually less than 4 Euros) or the complimentary shuttle bus (runs every hour) gets you on Syntagma Square in no time!

The hotel has wonderful staff who were more than helpful and friendly! Ambassador members do get recognized and a complimentary upgrade to a club junior suite was provided upon booking a club room with Acropolis view. This was a wonderful upgrade as the junior suite was quite spacious with a seperate sitting area.

Restaurant Premiere is an absolute 'must do': wonderful dinner with a magnificent view of the Acropolis by night. The menu is okay and it's no wonder this restaurant has been recommended by the Michelin Guide in 2010 (as well as in previous years).

Breakfast in the club lounge was good and the evening snacks include a variety of hot snacks varied every other day or so.

The only down side was loud music from some kind of terrace playing until late in the evening (it didn't stop until 1AM) on the first night of our stay, but fortunately this was a leisure trip and I didn't have to get up too early the next day. ;-)

I would stay here again any time for both leisure or business!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, 25 August 2010
Dear TripAdvisor Reader and valued Ambassador member,

We thank you for choosing the Athenaeum InterContinental on your recent leisure trip to Athens and for your kind comments and recommendation. Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and it is always a pleasure to hear from guests whose expectations were met. We are delighted that you had the opportunity to enjoy a memorable dinner at our multi award winning Premiere restaurant during your stay. Thank you again for your comments and recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    953
    816
    245
    68
    27
See reviews for
409
654
130
629
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

Just got back from Athens last night and I had to write this reveiw while it was still fresh in my head. The staff and service were excellent. Lobby and rooms were very clean. The hotel is located in a bit of slummy area. They do offer a shuttle bus ride every 1/2 hour to the center of town. We got to know the driver very well as we went back and forth several times for shopping or meals etc.
I understand that this hotel will cater to more of the business traveler who can expense everything he wants to the company but I think many things were grossly overpriced. 12 Euro for a bowl of soup, 6 for a can of coke from the mini-bar etc. We paid over 100Euro per night and I would have expected free internet service and a free continnental breakfast as well. That would have cost you another 30Euro per person.
The satelite TV was terrible. Not one children's channel for the kid's to watch something? I know the kid's would have watched greek cartoons all morning but I refuse to pay 18Euro for kid's movie they saw over a year ago. The selection of english chanels is too limited. You have the choice of 6 business news networks and 1 all sports chanell which shows infomercials in the morning. I don't need 30 chanels, just a better mix the of the few you do have to offer would be nice.
This was my fist visit to Europe so I'm not sure other high end hotels offer comparable amenities, but I've been to many other hotles in North America where the offer so much more for so much less. I guess this is one of those places where people like to go and feel important because they can afford to spend such outrageous prices for just about anything. This is last time I let my sister-in-law chose the hotel!
Once again, staff, service, cleanliess were amazing but way overpriced for anything that is not included with the price of the room.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canada_eh72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, 23 August 2010
Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments concerning your recent stay at our hotel. We are delighted to learn that the level of service and facilities offered at our hotel were to your satisfaction. We have noted your comment regarding the choice of television channels and would like to thank you for your feedback. With regard to our restaurant and mini-bar prices, I would like to take this opportunity to inform you that our prices are, in fact, in line with our competitors in Athens. We thank you again for your valuable comments and look forward to welcoming you and your family back to our hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

The InterContinental Athenaeum is not located in a fantastic location, but it's easy to get around with their shuttle service which drops off and picks up guests at Syntagma Square. Once you're at Syntagma Square, you can move around Athens easily by foot or by their very economical and easy to get around Metro network.

Our stay at the hotel was nice & we enjoyed the space that this hotel has to offer. Their collection of contemporary Greek art is something truly admirable. The cafe on the ground floor serves very good cafe frappe at a price not much higher than the street prices.

The room is spacious and well planned. The bed is one of the best I've ever slept on. If I was not going to catch a ferry, I'd me totally insane to wake up so early.

I adored the I-spa here. It's very modern and has great facilities. My therapist was excellent and I did not want my time at the spa to end. Unfortunately, all good things must come to an end.

I must say that we felt extremely secure at the hotel. Having said that, I think that some websites that warn about being careful around Athens are fear-mongering. I feel much more safe in Athens than in cities like Paris or London.

Athens is a city filled with hotels offering this & that. For my next stay in Athens, I'd not even bother checking out other hotels and would head straight over to the InterContinental Athenaeum.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cccc9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, 21 August 2010
Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for choosing the Athenaeum InterContinental for your recent visit to Athens.
We are delighted to know that your stay in our hotel was an enjoyable one and that you will hopefully provide us with the opportunity to welcome you back.
We are particularly pleased to know that the services and ambience one can find in our Asian Spa provided you with a memorable experience.
The international contemporary art collection permanently exhibited both in the public areas as well as in the guest rooms is one of the unique aspects that distinguish our hotel and we are glad it was of interest to you.
Once more allow us to thank you for your kind comments and recommendations and we are looking forward to your return in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

Just spent three days at the InterContinental Athenaeum. This is a fabulous hotel with incredible value. The location is a bit inconvenient but there is a complimentary shuttle bus that leave every 30 minutes and can take you into the center of town. The ride is only about 5 minutes.

Our room was on the 8th floor which and provides it own guest lounge with food (breakfast) and drink included. It also provides internet access. You are given one hour of internet access free per day. Just ask for the pass.

Be sure to have dinner at the roof top restaurant. Fabulous meal with a wonderful view of the Acropolis.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cherryking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, 16 August 2010
Dear TripAdvisor reader,

Thank you for choosing the Athenaeum InterContinental for your recent stay in Athens and for your recommendation. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the luxury and comfort of our Club InterContinental rooms and our complimentary shuttle bus service to the city center. We are also very pleased to know that you selected our fine dining, award winning “Premiere” restaurant whose exquisite food quality has earned it a place in Michelin guide and which offers one of the most breathtaking views of Acropolis along with a really memorable ambient. We thank you again for your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zuoz, Schweiz
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2010

Very good central located hotel whit very helpfull staff (on reception and concierge). Very nice restaurant on the top of this hotel(Akropolis view incl.), only for vip level floor guest( you need to book you room on vip level floor). The price was also very good compare to another hotel in this Athen area..

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zuoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, 16 August 2010
Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for choosing the Athenaeum InterContinental on your recent visit to Athens and for your kind comments concerning our Premiere restaurant and our Front desk staff. Once again thank you for your valuable comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2010

It is an excellent hotel with all 5 star amenities well suited to business traveller. However, for tourists, its location could be a problem. It is about a mile away from Syntagma square and the nearest metro is a good 10 minutes' walk - not very nice on a hot afternoon with surrounding concrete jungle for your view. they do have a shuttle bus to Syntagma, but they were running schedule 2 which means the shuttle service is hourly (on most occasions) and the last shuttle is at 2230. You could take a taxi, but it will cost you 5 euro + 2 for 'standing charge', whatever that means. The return should not incur standing charge though.
If you use their internet, it will cost you 15 euro for 24 hours flat rate. there is no hourly charge. I would suggest using internet cafes - 3 euro for 1 hour.
Breakfast is 30 euro. We did not try it.
If the distance to city centre doesn't bother you, go for it.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neeraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, 16 August 2010
Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for choosing the Athenaeum InterContinental for your recent stay in Athens and for your valuable comments. We have noted your observation regarding the cost of breakfast and the Internet and would like to take the opportunity to inform you that our prices are in line with our competitors in Athens. Alternatively in your room wireless connection is available with the option of one day or one hour according to your preference. As for the transportation, our hotel is conveniently located to a tram stop for easy access to the city center. Also our complimentary shuttle bus operates from 08:30 am and 22:30 pm daily from the hotel to the city center. Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2010

Booked this thru HotWire and got the hotel for just $100 a night! What a steal! The rooms were great and the hotel was very accommodating. The only complaint was that the hotel was a bit far from the downtown area, although the hotel did have a shuttle that left every 30 minutes or so.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citychic20s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, 16 August 2010
Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Athens. We are delighted that your stay with us was an enjoyable one. As for the transportation, our hotel is conveniently located closed to a tram stop for easy access to the city centre or seaside. Alternatively, one can use our complimentary shuttle bus to go to Syntagma square. The hotel’s shuttle bus operates between 08:30 am and 10:30 pm daily.
Thank you again for your valuable comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to to the Athenaeum InterContinental on your next visit to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Hilton Athens
#21 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,459 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,914 reviews
Divani Caravel Hotel
#48 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#11 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Athenaeum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Athenaeum

Property: InterContinental Athenaeum
Address: 89 - 93 Syngrou Ave, Athens 11745, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Athens
#15 Business Hotel in Athens
#17 Family Hotel in Athens
#18 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#19 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Athenaeum 5*
Number of rooms: 543
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No wonder the Athenaeum InterContinental has been named Greece s leading hotel time and again. Athens largest guestrooms, award winning fine dining venues and a central location appeal to business and leisure travellers alike. Within a few kilometres are the Acropolis, the Parthenon, the Temple of Apollo and the Pláka. Metro and tram stations are also nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Athenaeum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Athenaeum Hotel Athens
Intercontinental Hotel Athens
Intercontinental Hotel Athenaeum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing