We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Cecil Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cecil Hotel
Ranked #124 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The hotel is in great location since it is a short walk away from the metro station, and it is close to many shops, bars and restaurants; great view from the rooftop. Our room was a little bit small but it was very clean and we had access to free WiFi. On the downside, the noise level from the adjacent street interrupted our sleep; attributed to people leaving the surrounding bars late at night. Staff was very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms adjacent to Athinas St. Hotel will provide you with extra blankets if you are cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chepalma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 371 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

It's pity, the hotel is perfectly located near the metro station and I had a pretty good price (40 USD per night).
Basically it has all what you need, free breakfast, free Wi-Fi and a bed of course.
However, it needs some renovations.
The room is fine, the bathroom is small, the water temperature not stable and in my bathroom some holders were missing.
The Wi-Fi works if you are close to the access point which is in the 1st floor.
The staff is very friendly and very helpful, that's why I think it's pity that is not kept more better

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Tom886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed here November 7 thru 10 and we were very pleased with the whole experience.
Dimitri at the front desk could not have been more helpful - the room was comfy and the
breakfast was very good. I will absolutely return to the Cecil when I visit Athens again.







we

Room Tip: Best wi-fi connection on floor 1....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoe579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

we really appreciated the great location of the Cecil Hotel; it was close to many of the sights, and if not, we were able to take the metro which was only steps away. The room was adequate and the help at the desk was good too. Wifi worked only in the dining area however. That and our only other complaint is that smoking seems to be acceptable everywhere in the hotel, complete with ashtrays on desks and tables in the hallway. Sometimes the smell of smoke was overpowering to we who are used to non-smoking areas in hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lee3nan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We spent 2 nights in the Cecil Hotel It was just a 2 min walk to Monestraki and the centre of Athens. We were going to the Acropolis and wanted something near everywhere, this fitted the bill.
We had a first floor room with a narrow balcony with a street view. No complaints there. We had a free breakfast with the room, continental with a very good choice, something for everyone.
The room was clean and comfortable, en suite, nice beds and a quaint old lift, just big enough for the 2 of us and our bags.
Nearby we went to Syntagma Square and saw the changing of the guard, it was a lovely way to end our visit to Athens, they had the pompom shoes on and did the high kick marching while doing the changing. It was great to see.
Then we got the train to the airport.
Nice hotel, would certainly stay here again if I come back to Athens

Room Tip: The view of the street we had was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnPen13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Cecil Hotel is conveniently located about five minutes away from the Monastiraki metro station, and is at a good location on Athinas. I always felt safe walking there during day and night.

The rooms are clean and tidy - no smell whatsoever. The breakfast is pleasant - Greek yoghurt, honey, condiments, boiled eggs, ham and cheese, fruit, cake, bread and of course coffee/tea/juice/water.

My room had a balcony which was nice. Five minutes by walking to the bottom for Ermou where you can walk ten minutes and be in Syntagma Square. The hotel staff were very helpful and kind. Old fashioned lift to take you up to the floors which was quite retro/nice.

Would definitely stay again. Two star, but extremely clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CourtsNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Me and my wife stayed here in Oct 2013 and had a good experience.
The hotel location is very good, the rooms are clean with good cleeaning service and very helpful staff.
The hotel has all the main tourist locations in the heart of the city. A very good budget hotel for travellers.
The staff is super friendly and helpful. The breakfast served is decent enough.

Ovevrall a good stay for a little price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoSandy2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Hotel Carolina
Hotel Carolina
#125 of 282 in Athens
227 reviews
Omonia
Economy Hotel
Economy Hotel
#72 of 282 in Athens
608 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#29 of 282 in Athens
1,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Hotel Athinaikon
Hotel Athinaikon
#143 of 282 in Athens
268 reviews
Centrotel Hotel
#22 of 282 in Athens
1,201 reviews
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#23 of 282 in Athens
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cecil Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cecil Hotel

Address: 39 Athinas, Athens 105 54, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Psirri / Gazi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: £33 - £761 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cecil Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Cecil Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing