We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not safe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dorian Inn Hotel Athens
Ranked #102 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not safe”
Reviewed 24 July 2012

This place has its good points and bad points, but the part of town in which this hotel is located made it loose out in the end. Seedy part of Athens.

Having no idea what Athens was like, before I got out of my Taxi from the airport I told the Taxi driver where I was headed. He proceeded to tell me that the area in which this hotel was the seediest/ dangerous part of town, full of drug addicts.

I was on a tour when I went to this place, the view is absolutely stunning you could see most of Athens as well as a nice pool, bar and restaurant on top in which the staff were lovely.

A few mix ups in the amount of days I was staying at this place and the men at the reception were extremely rude and unhelpful which left me rather angry.

Do not walk around this place alone- I was rather naive and went for a wonder without the knowledge of a lane way FILLED with drug addicts 10 metres from the lobby. (I should have listened to the taxi driver). Which at one point became very scary and confronting very thankful to the shop assistant who helped me. Dorian Inn does it's best to make sure you're safe with THREE security guards out the front but I will not return to this place/ area again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    248
    212
    96
    56
See reviews for
116
263
44
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Was in Athens for 2 days less than a week ago and it was 45c during the day, so myself and fellow travellers were looking forward to a relaxing evening having a drink and cooling off in the pool. To our amazement the pool closed at 7pm! The bar also closed pretty early for a decent hotel, and there were only 2 lifts which were a bit of a squeeze.

The rooms were okay and it is not far from a subway.

I do think the overall service (the grumpy barman is not conducive to spending money!) has to be looked at. Customer service and comfort often sets hotels apart regardless of the facilities. This hotel has an awesome rooftop bar and pool where you can see the sights of Athens, but being chucked out at 7pm is really pretty poor.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Athens hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Stayed in Athens for 3 nights before returning to London after a fantastic 2 week holiday in Greece. Was AMAZED by the roof top area which was made even better by bar man Marcus who couldn’t do enough to make our time spent on the 12'th floor unforgettable. The evening meal we had couldn't be faulted. Our room was excellent and breakfasts most adequate! Do not be put off by the Omonia location as at first glance when escaping from the Metro it may seem a bit "rough". Will definitely return to The Dorian Inn Hotel when we find ourselves in Athens again.

Room Tip: We booked through AVIOS, but if you dont use this service, I heard from another guest that he booked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kev1409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

The staff at the Dorian Inn were quite helpful. The room was lovely. The air conditioning worked. The view was fine. The TV had channels in English (BBC). The lifts worked well. The rooftop pool was lovely, but VERY DANGEROUS to get to/from and I slipped and fell quite badly getting from the lift to the pool because it is a tiled area and someone must have just walked straight from the pool to the lifts without drying off, leaving an almost invisible puddle of water that I slipped on. They should have the area from the pool to the lifts covered in some sort of slip resistant material for safety.
The area that the Dorian Inn is in is quite dangerous and seedy. It is about a 15 minute walk from Monasteri square, which is where most tourists are, but it is just a short metro ride, or taxi ride from Omonia square to Monasteri square. It is not safe to walk around the area near Omonia square/the hotel, especially at night. However, the City Sightseeing bus goes from Omonia square which is quite handy.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Thankfully we booked our stay at the Dorian before we read all the negative reviews on TripAdvisor. Safe to say we were expecting 3 nights of squalor, with regular attacks from prostitutes and smack addicts - but when we got there we were shocked to see what was a normal district in Athens. It may not be the nicest area, but that doesn't matter. We were in Athens to see the sights, and so we jumped on the metro at Omonia (5 minutes walk away if that), and stayed in the centre until later on at night - we walked to and from Omonia station countless times and didn't encounter any of the aforementioned prostitutes or druggies. There was a strong police presence which people have complained about but I for one would rather that. The hotel itself was lovely - and the pool bar is breathtaking. We got to see both a regular and superior room and they were both nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norwichisfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Booked a superior room with Easyjet holidays, supposed to have a partial Acropolis view. Room given was basic, so complained & they did automatically change the room. But there was no view, only of the noisy street and abandoned hotel across the road. The superior room, isn't, it's clean and what would be a standard room in an Ibis. The basic room they gave us at 1st, was just that. The aircon worked in neither room, in the summer it would be unbearable. However the roof top bar is the saving feature of this hotel. It is a great view of the Acropolis, unfortunately the restaurant doesnt serve Greek food, burger & chips is not what I wanted, but the beers at €3 were reasonably priced. The pool is very small, but in the heat of summer would be a blessing, there is really very little room to sit around it, & no chairs were provided, but it was Easter & V quiet. Breakfast was fie, the usual, eggs, cold meats, cheese, yogurt. The bread in Greece is amazing, so fresh and tasty so having no toaster wasn't a problem, it was very quiet so mayb they didn't have as much choice as usual, but it was more than adequate . It is the area itself that is also a problem. I was there 4 days and everyday witnessed prositutes with clients, groups of men just loitering around, at night we chose to walk in the road rather than on the path, definitely wouldn't want to stay there as a female traveler on my own.

Room Tip: Basic rooms are just that, aircon doesn't seem to work in any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We were in Dorian inn Hotel at the end of March. The room was dirty and especially the bed-cover was a place for the growth of Insects, my boyfriend has been bite by some of them and had two pimples at the front and the back of the body and they became extremely itchy in the future 9 days. I have put on full sleeping suits and therefore protected. observing the pimples we found that it was maybe resulting from bite by an mouth of insect because at top of the pimple there were two small symmetrical wholes. we had a nightmare.

It was not finished, we had chosen the hotel because the central location and close to the taxi point and metro station. however, in the morning we are likely 100 meters away from the Hotel, and robbed by several dangerous people when we walk to the square. they have taken the camera and hundreds of cash. the location is more likely a trap that likely lots people waiting nearby for a whole night to rob or steal from tourists. moreover, the outlook of the hotel and the street is not that luxury you see from the picture, it was more 'dark and grey'.. the outside of the hotel and the street is full of those dangerous people and I have seen some of them peeing outside and throwing rubbishes everywhere.

Do a google satellite you will see what the real situation over there. Plz consider those issues when you trying to choose a hotel. Dont suffer.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank liketravel190796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Marina Hotel Athens
#81 of 326 in Athens
535 reviews
Stanley Hotel
#85 of 326 in Athens
1,405 reviews
Delphi Art Hotel
#84 of 326 in Athens
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Katerina Hotel
#39 of 326 in Athens
411 reviews
BEST WESTERN Candia Hotel
#119 of 326 in Athens
504 reviews
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#34 of 326 in Athens
1,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorian Inn Hotel Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorian Inn Hotel Athens

Property: Dorian Inn Hotel Athens
Address: 15 - 19 Pireos street, Athens 105 52, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Omonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dorian Inn Hotel Athens 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorian Inn Hotel, is a well organised 3* Hotel in the center of Athens in Omonoia district. The hotel offers 24h reception, 146 rooms with magnificent view of the city and the Acropolis(some of them), internet corner,large breakfast buffet, swimming pool on the 12th floor along with the well known Bar Restaurant 'Point of View' also on the top floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dorian Inn Hotel Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorian Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing