We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cheap but not cheerful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Acropolis House
Ranked #89 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“cheap but not cheerful”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

First floor double room. Small double bed provided.
November stay. Heating rationed to a few hours in the evening. Location is quite central in a little side street. Good local restaurant next door. I have yet to try the breakfast. WIll add review later.
Room dingy with dated decor although not dirty as such. Stale odour in the hotel generally. Toilet/shower room clean but small.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgebonbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    186
    64
    35
    35
See reviews for
100
184
57
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

We found this hotel to be well run, with very friendly and helpful staff, especially Jasmine and Emmanuelle. The building and rooms are charming & old-fashioned, altho the beds are only moderately comfortable. The location is excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanrug, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

We stayed 31 Oct to 4 Nov 2012. We booked in August and it was great value - just over €100 for our stay (double room). The hotel is in a great location, quiet but close to everything. The lobby is beautiful, our room was fine (basic but with everything we needed) and our bathroom had a view of the acropolis! The staff are wonderfully friendly and helpful, breakfast was great (rolls, olives, hard boiled eggs, jam/honey and fruit) and we would not hesitate to recommend the hotel to others and to stay again in future.

Room Tip: We were in room 302, looking over Kodrou and without air conditioning. Fine for the time of year we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camden, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

This was my third stay at this hotel - the first over eight years ago and the second only last Christmas. We booked the same top floor family room (Room 403) with a view to the Acropolis as we had had at Christmas. We again styed in two blocks - on arival in Athens in transit to Naxos and then on the way onward. The rooms are clean; the staff fiendly and the location great. It is good value and, when we return to Athens, we will stay there again!

Room Tip: Room 403 for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Acropolis House in May, and had a very good experience. We stayed for one night at the beginning of our week-long Greece trip, and two nights at the end of our trip. Our first room was in the old part of the hotel, at the front of the building with high ceilings and large windows that opened onto a balcony. Our room at the end of the trip was at the back of the hotel and more modern, with a distant view of the Acropolis from a small balcony. The balcony snugly fit one chair and a table, so we didn't spend much time there. I preferred the room in the old part of the house, and didn't mind the street noise.

All the staff we encountered were very friendly, and we enjoyed the breakfast of hard boiled eggs (with beautiful orange yolks), bread, olives, and jam. The staff was happy to call a reliable cab driver for our trip to Piraeus.

Best part is location - the hotel is next door to a casual taverna with outdoor seating, and we ate some of our best meals of the trip there (the fried sardines were amazing). It's a short walk to Syntagma Square with access to the subway, and a short walk into Plaka and to the Acropolis.

I would definitely stay here again - it is a good value (I believe we paid 87 euro/night) with a nice staff and great location.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

The staff were friendly and helpful. On our last morning at the hotel we had an early departure (7:00am) and they organised a taxi for us and an early breakfast (6:30am).

The decor in the hotel was that of a grand old house with murals on the walls and ceilings. This added to the old time charm of the hotel.

The room was spacious and clean and the air conditioning worked well during some very hot weather.

Breakfast was adequate and consisted of a hard boiled egg, bread, fresh fruit and tea and coffee.

The hotel is well located close to Syntagma and the bus and metro to the airport. It is also within easy walking distance to Plaka and the Acropolis.

The bathroom was very small and cramped and overdue for a refresh. The remote control for the TV in the room did not work and reception said to use buttons on the TV to change channel, but there were no buttons evident on the TV.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Level Contributor
95 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

I recently went to visit a friend for the first time in Athens and stayed at the Hotel Acropolis House. It was $450.00 for a week. The room was very nice and the staff was helpful in many ways including finding the right words and correct amount of money for the taxi. The internet was sort of off and on but I was close enough to my friend to be able just to call on the telephone.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tabitha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
Plaka
Kimon Athens Hotel
Kimon Athens Hotel
#75 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#18 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Hotel Nefeli
Hotel Nefeli
#117 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#57 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Plaka
Adonis Hotel
Adonis Hotel
#122 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Acropolis House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acropolis House

Property: Hotel Acropolis House
Address: 6-8 Kodrou, Athens 105 58, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Acropolis House 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Acropolis House is a preserved mansion of the last century, in excellent condition. It is consisted essentially of two different buildings together. The oldest of these is a stone manor house about 120 years old and the other is well-built four-floor building of 75 years. In 1965 it was modified to a hotel from the family Choudalakis, which operates since. Generally the hotel is a two star family business with character, providing security and full service to both families, and unique people who respect the identity of the hotel. In total the hotel has comfortable single, double and large rooms for families. The Hotel Acropolis House has a non smoking policy in all areas. Guests may smoke in the terrace of the first floor. Hotel Acropolis House is located at the gates of Plaka having so the advantage of being close to all the interesting places without the disadvantage of the hustle of the people and vehicles visiting the site. It is situated in a stunning location, either for professional or tourist as it is a 10-minute walk from the monument of Acropolis and the New Acropolis Museum, 3 minutes from Syntagma Square and the metro / bus and 2 minutes from the commercial and business center of Athens. Near the hotel there are parking, museums, pharmacies and the tourist information office. The hotel has a breakfast room, which served continental style breakfast very early in the morning for early morning flights (from 07.30 Until 10.30). There is luggage storage and safe for customers. Finally, Hotel Acropolis House has a library, with a rich collection, to borrow books from. This is himself occasionally enriched by the customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Acropolis House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Acropolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing