We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not our style.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Acropolis House
Ranked #87 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not our style.”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I really, really wanted to like this place. It was - in theory - exactly the type of place we wanted to stay in Athens: inexpensive, family-owned, cozy, and very very well-located. We stayed one night passing through on our way to other parts of Greece, and had a decent night. That first room was sparse and the bed not very comfortable, but it was fairly quiet, and mostly clean. We had a balcony we could step out on, and it was cool enough to sleep with the door/window slightly open.

When we passed back through Athens for three nights more nights, we were put in a different room - which they were very proud of - that did in fact have a view of the Acropolis from the balcony - as I had requested. There was a very musty smell to the room when we first entered, and I couldn't find the source until I opened the door to the bathroom. BAM - the most terrible mildewy I-don't-know-what smell poured out. We stayed the night, because we had already paid in cash for it and were exhausted, but I held my breath to go pee and refused to step foot in the shower. This time, paying cash worked in our favor: we had only paid for one of the three nights we reserved, so we just gave them a heads up we wouldn't be staying another two nights and left early the next morning.

The breakfast was a big joke, compared to what "breakfast included" means at other hotels. There was tea, coffee, water, hard-as-rock toast, pieces of fruit, and boiled eggs. That's it.

Everyone was very nice, and they are very proud of their little hotel. We didn't want to offend anyone who worked there, but it just wasn't up to our standard. With my sensitivity to mold, we simply couldn't tolerate it for another two nights. If it hadn't been for the awful awful smell, we might have tried to make it work. The location is terrific though, it's just a few blocks from the best parts of the Plaka, and also very easy to walk from the subway station if you're needing to get to/from the airport. I wouldn't stay here again, but I can see why some people think the low cost and great location is worth it.

Pros: front desk is very friendly, they accommodated our requests for "special rooms," there was wireless in the lounge, views of acropolis, cheap for a good/safe location right on edge of plaka, easy to get to from airport via train, will store your luggage.

Cons: breakfast is a joke, the mold in our bathroom was so bad, beds are old and hard, sheets and pillows are thin, internet does not work well in rooms, cash payment was slightly inconvenient.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lolawhiteout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    189
    64
    35
    35
See reviews for
104
185
57
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for 4 days (28 dec - 1 Jan). It is situated 5 minutes walk to every place you want to see if it is you first visit in Athens. There are tasty local restaurants all around the hotel.
The bedroom and the bathroom was old (the house is a very old, waiting for restoration actually) but clean. they cleaned our room everyday. and the staff are very friendly and helpful. and they are happy to answer questions.
we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EvrenandBora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Hotel Acropolis House is fantastic value for money. The hotel is situated a 5 minute walk from Synatgma Square metro and X95 bus stop in Plaka at the base of the Acropolis. The local area is quiet and a 15 minute walk from the Acropolis and new Acropolis museum.

The hotel is clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ros C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

First floor double room. Small double bed provided.
November stay. Heating rationed to a few hours in the evening. Location is quite central in a little side street. Good local restaurant next door. I have yet to try the breakfast. WIll add review later.
Room dingy with dated decor although not dirty as such. Stale odour in the hotel generally. Toilet/shower room clean but small.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgebonbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We found this hotel to be well run, with very friendly and helpful staff, especially Jasmine and Emmanuelle. The building and rooms are charming & old-fashioned, altho the beds are only moderately comfortable. The location is excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanrug, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We stayed 31 Oct to 4 Nov 2012. We booked in August and it was great value - just over €100 for our stay (double room). The hotel is in a great location, quiet but close to everything. The lobby is beautiful, our room was fine (basic but with everything we needed) and our bathroom had a view of the acropolis! The staff are wonderfully friendly and helpful, breakfast was great (rolls, olives, hard boiled eggs, jam/honey and fruit) and we would not hesitate to recommend the hotel to others and to stay again in future.

Room Tip: We were in room 302, looking over Kodrou and without air conditioning. Fine for the time of year we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camden, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

This was my third stay at this hotel - the first over eight years ago and the second only last Christmas. We booked the same top floor family room (Room 403) with a view to the Acropolis as we had had at Christmas. We again styed in two blocks - on arival in Athens in transit to Naxos and then on the way onward. The rooms are clean; the staff fiendly and the location great. It is good value and, when we return to Athens, we will stay there again!

Room Tip: Room 403 for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
Plaka
Kimon Athens Hotel
Kimon Athens Hotel
#73 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#18 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Hotel Nefeli
Hotel Nefeli
#117 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#54 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Plaka
Adonis Hotel
Adonis Hotel
#120 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Acropolis House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acropolis House

Property: Hotel Acropolis House
Address: 6-8 Kodrou, Athens 105 58, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Acropolis House 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Acropolis House is a preserved mansion of the last century, in excellent condition. It is consisted essentially of two different buildings together. The oldest of these is a stone manor house about 120 years old and the other is well-built four-floor building of 75 years. In 1965 it was modified to a hotel from the family Choudalakis, which operates since. Generally the hotel is a two star family business with character, providing security and full service to both families, and unique people who respect the identity of the hotel. In total the hotel has comfortable single, double and large rooms for families. The Hotel Acropolis House has a non smoking policy in all areas. Guests may smoke in the terrace of the first floor. Hotel Acropolis House is located at the gates of Plaka having so the advantage of being close to all the interesting places without the disadvantage of the hustle of the people and vehicles visiting the site. It is situated in a stunning location, either for professional or tourist as it is a 10-minute walk from the monument of Acropolis and the New Acropolis Museum, 3 minutes from Syntagma Square and the metro / bus and 2 minutes from the commercial and business center of Athens. Near the hotel there are parking, museums, pharmacies and the tourist information office. The hotel has a breakfast room, which served continental style breakfast very early in the morning for early morning flights (from 07.30 Until 10.30). There is luggage storage and safe for customers. Finally, Hotel Acropolis House has a library, with a rich collection, to borrow books from. This is himself occasionally enriched by the customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Acropolis House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Acropolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing