We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people but not a great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Acropolis House
Ranked #81 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed 26 April 2014

After a warm and helpful welcome from Jasmine we were somewhat disappointed in the room. Very little space around the double and single bed jammed into the room. The separate private bathroom was across the hall. Small balcony looked down onto the street.
The beds were terrible - hard and lumpy like the pillows. The adjoining rooms also had separate bathrooms so all night there were doors banging. It appears that there was a competition to see who could make the most noise! Leave the room, BANG, go into bathroom, BANG, leave bathroom, BANG, close bedroom door, BANG! Room 303 is right opposite the bathrooms so we copped all of it!
Breakfast is just adequate. WiFi very good.

Room Tip: Not rooms 302,303 or 304 (see comments above)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 505 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

Our family was here for 3 days in April. Any staff we worked with were friendly and helpful. We had a large room on the 4th floor (403). There was a funk when we got there (I would blame the smell on 100 year old pipes), but an open window cleared it out. The window we opened was a view of a full moon over the Acropolis, great way to start a trip. It was a room with a view and balcony on the other side, sleeping for 4 and bathroom in the room.

Jet lag had us sleeping in until 11:30 the first morning and the staff was still willing to make up our room into the afternoon, even though they were trying to wrap up for Palm Sunday. Breakfast was tasty the day we made it down. Our last morning we were leaving about 6 AM and they offered a small starter breakfast of toast and jam, coffee and juice.

I do feel bad for rooms 110, 111, 112. They are on the first floor that everyone walks past at all hours. It is directly outside the breakfast area we took our early morning breakfast. We can try to be quiet, but church mice we are not.

Some rooms are en-suit, others have a private bath, but it is down the hall.

The location was walking distance to everything, and we saw everything we could.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CB1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

It is located in a safe area of Athens and the staff are so unbelievably friendly. We had to leave before the breakfast was served and the manager offered to make us a breakfast to go at 5am! He is so sweet and thee are people manning the front desk 24/7 so hue here're is always one to answer any questions. The staff is so receive day and the hotel is located very close to the monuments. Love this hotel and would definitely recommend to others.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Shauna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Ok, although we had to insist on moving from a smelly room due to ancient sewerige pipes, until my young daughter's bag was stolen from "safe-keeping" at the hotel while we travelled down south for three days. Management response: the father slinked off and was unable to be contacted. The daughter (the operations manager) was heartless and determined not to take any responsibility. A VERY poor end what was otherwise a great five weeks in Greece. Deserves to be black-listed!

Room Tip: "sniff a lot and don't leave bag"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corinna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I stayed at the Acropolis House for three days, beginning March 5, 2014. I was traveling with two additional adults and a young toddler. The staff was extraordinarily helpful! Our room was adequate, but clean and fresh, and was made up each day while we were at breakfast. The breakfast was spectacular!! Croissants, homemade breads, butter and jams, fruits, cakes, sweet breads, and freah fruits that were so delicious that I wanted to cry! Pray that you come down to breakfast and find the cheese pie: wonderful. The entire staff, including Jasmine and Andreas, were very helpful, guiding us towards destinations and travel tips. We loved the safe location, finding eateries and shops close and convenient, not to mention its proximity to the Metro, bus station and Ermou Street shopping. I would stay here again and again, fully satisfied with the accomodations, warm staff, and reasonable rates.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This hotel is in the perfect location. It is less than 5 minutes walking from the central marketplace of Athens, the Ermou str. and the Sintagma Square. Nice and friendly staff. My room wasn't very nice which means that it need a redecoration, but it was spotlessly cleaned every day.It was quite at nights so I had a good sleep every evening. A good choice for someone with limited budget.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giorgos G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I chose this hotel from the reviews that i had read about it as they were on the whole very good. The reviews lead me to believe it had a family feel and certainly did. The hotel itself was quite old fashioned and the rooms we had were a little on the pokey side but it was very clean and comfortable and certainly had what we needed for our 4 day stay.
Clean towels every day and room cleaned . Bathrooms are seperate to your bedroom but you have a key and they are private. Ours was a shower and toilet and I must admit id rather have a on-suit. There are a few on the lower floor. There is no lift and there are 4 floors so tiring with bags. I recommend that people with mobility problems ask for a room on the ground floor.
The staff were friendly and a blonde lady, (not sure of her name) but she was exceptional and made us feel like nothing was too much trouble.
There are no hairdryers in the room so take one but if you want to travel light, they do have one you can borrow.
The breakfast was a little limited, mainly bread and toast, some cake and oranges and jam etc. However, the bread was home made and you could smell this cooking in the early hours.
Coffee is on all day and free, Nice little touch!
Some rooms have balconies, ours didnt but there was a little balcony on the second floor for anyone to use.
The location was perfect. Right on the edge of plaka and a 5 min walk into santaga square where you can get taxis or the metro. Also a 24 hour mcdonalds if your fed up with greek food.
In the plaka, lots of cozy bars and eating places. lots of outdoor cafes. Very pretty.
The location could not have been better,
overall, happy with our choice .

Room Tip: email and ask for what is important to you. you can request a en-suit room or a room with a balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacquimichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#32 of 282 in Athens
1,819 reviews
Acropolis Select Hotel
#51 of 282 in Athens
784 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#49 of 282 in Athens
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#23 of 282 in Athens
1,405 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,420 reviews
Centrotel Hotel
#21 of 282 in Athens
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Acropolis House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acropolis House

Address: 6-8 Kodrou, Athens 105 58, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: £42 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Acropolis House 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Acropolis House is a preserved mansion of the last century, in excellent condition. It is consisted essentially of two different buildings together. The oldest of these is a stone manor house about 120 years old and the other is well-built four-floor building of 75 years. In 1965 it was modified to a hotel from the family Choudalakis, which operates since. Generally the hotel is a two star family business with character, providing security and full service to both families, and unique people who respect the identity of the hotel. In total the hotel has comfortable single, double and large rooms for families. The Hotel Acropolis House has a non smoking policy in all areas. Guests may smoke in the terrace of the first floor. Hotel Acropolis House is located at the gates of Plaka having so the advantage of being close to all the interesting places without the disadvantage of the hustle of the people and vehicles visiting the site. It is situated in a stunning location, either for professional or tourist as it is a 10-minute walk from the monument of Acropolis and the New Acropolis Museum, 3 minutes from Syntagma Square and the metro / bus and 2 minutes from the commercial and business center of Athens. Near the hotel there are parking, museums, pharmacies and the tourist information office. The hotel has a breakfast room, which served continental style breakfast very early in the morning for early morning flights (from 07.30 Until 10.30). There is luggage storage and safe for customers. Finally, Hotel Acropolis House has a library, with a rich collection, to borrow books from. This is himself occasionally enriched by the customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Acropolis House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Acropolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing