We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok if you want basic....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Acropolis House
Ranked #80 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I had to think long and hard about my review of this place.... I chose it because of a) location and b) price. I like old buildings with character and have stayed in many around the world; I also feel that as you're out and about it doesn't matter too much about the hotel. This place is in the right location, on a pedestrianised street in the old town and it looks wonderful from the outside. The staff were pleasant enough.... But the building inside is basic. And I mean basic.

We learned that there was an odd situation with the en suites - ie that most of them were separate from the room and dreading the idea of crossing landings in my towel after a shower I asked up front for a room with an attached bathroom, which I was assured I'd get. We arrived there and we're given a room on the 4th floor (no lift) and walking through the house it looked more run down....the room itself had a balcony with a view of the acropolis but our bathroom was across the hall. We therefore asked to be moved and we were shifted to a room downstairs not far from reception. The noise was pretty bad - inside and out, doors banging and the kitchen noise; no privacy and this combined with the awful hard bed meant we were constantly tired.

The breakfast was served up in a tiny room where you could hardly move between the seats and the selection was poor although to be fair the price was reasonable at 5euros. I understand its an old building and quirky shaped but I do think they could improve the building and the use of the rooms. The bedroom we had was very basic and the bathroom was tiny, it's a good job neither of us are overweight!

Fundamentally it's all about what is important to you whether you stay here. If I returned to Athens I would pay a bit more to get a place with a little more comfort. And bear in mind they now only take cash.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shantele72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 498 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

Acropolis House Hotel is in a superb location for visiting the great sites. It's on a pedestrianised street, spotlessly clean and very professionally run. It is not a modern streamlined hotel but if you want a very reasonably priced hotel for a capital city in a converted Athenian house of great character, Acropolis House will suit you. Jasmine is funny, knowledgable and extremely efficient. she and Andreas couldn't have been more helpful, storing our luggage while we made an overnight trip to Delphi and finding information on transport etc. We would certainly stay again. Thank you.

Room Tip: upstairs best. We were offered help with luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FITZ_MDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Staff, especially Jasmine, we're very helpful in guiding us towards activities and how to get to them. The location was excellent, close to all the major sights and in the Plaka. Price was reasonable. The room and bathroom are what you would expect in an older house. Breakfast was very good. Basically, it's an economy hotel. We had a room (room 108) that had it's own private bath and the room next to us had it's own balcony. We were happy with our stay. Mary M.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raf213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The welcome I received at the hotel was friendly, but it would have been nice to get a little help with my cases. I was given the room beside the reception desk, which was a bit noisy. My bathroom was in the basement, so I had to walk past reception in my pjs, to go downstairs to a cold & drafty shower/toilet. There was little privacy. I would only suggest this hotel, if someone was backpacking, and wanted a cheap place to stay. The restaurants close by were very good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I really wouldn't recommend HAH I am sorry to say. Cash only in 2014? Lousy job of remodeling - no effort to soundproof the rooms. Our room was behind the reception desk separated by what must have been a piece of cardboard. We heard every word or sound in the lobby. The sheets felt like they completely missed the rinse cycle and were full of soap/bleach. My daughter woke up with bug bites covering her neck, chest and shoulders. And for some reason, when Jasmine booked a taxi for us - it cost twice what we paid for the same trip if we hired the cab on our own. That left us with a really bad taste. Also, this is not a cheap hotel. I am really sorry we chose it as I'm sure we could have done better somewhere else. No idea what kind of insects were living in the dark, dinghy and noisy rooms at this hotel but they bit the heck out of my daughter. They make you give them your room key when you leave the hotel to sightsee or eat. I think that is probably because they get tired of replacing lost keys but it also felt very wrong and inappropriate to me. It meant always taking your money and passport with you when you left your room. Why should they be able to get into your room when you're gone? Wow!
Room 104 - totally awful.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank candida6752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

After a warm and helpful welcome from Jasmine we were somewhat disappointed in the room. Very little space around the double and single bed jammed into the room. The separate private bathroom was across the hall. Small balcony looked down onto the street.
The beds were terrible - hard and lumpy like the pillows. The adjoining rooms also had separate bathrooms so all night there were doors banging. It appears that there was a competition to see who could make the most noise! Leave the room, BANG, go into bathroom, BANG, leave bathroom, BANG, close bedroom door, BANG! Room 303 is right opposite the bathrooms so we copped all of it!
Breakfast is just adequate. WiFi very good.

Room Tip: Not rooms 302,303 or 304 (see comments above)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Our family was here for 3 days in April. Any staff we worked with were friendly and helpful. We had a large room on the 4th floor (403). There was a funk when we got there (I would blame the smell on 100 year old pipes), but an open window cleared it out. The window we opened was a view of a full moon over the Acropolis, great way to start a trip. It was a room with a view and balcony on the other side, sleeping for 4 and bathroom in the room.

Jet lag had us sleeping in until 11:30 the first morning and the staff was still willing to make up our room into the afternoon, even though they were trying to wrap up for Palm Sunday. Breakfast was tasty the day we made it down. Our last morning we were leaving about 6 AM and they offered a small starter breakfast of toast and jam, coffee and juice.

I do feel bad for rooms 110, 111, 112. They are on the first floor that everyone walks past at all hours. It is directly outside the breakfast area we took our early morning breakfast. We can try to be quiet, but church mice we are not.

Some rooms are en-suit, others have a private bath, but it is down the hall.

The location was walking distance to everything, and we saw everything we could.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CB1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#31 of 281 in Athens
1,800 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#45 of 281 in Athens
600 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#15 of 281 in Athens
1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#10 of 281 in Athens
3,382 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#28 of 281 in Athens
1,915 reviews
Acropolis Select Hotel
#52 of 281 in Athens
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Acropolis House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acropolis House

Address: 6-8 Kodrou, Athens 105 58, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: £41 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Acropolis House 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Acropolis House is a preserved mansion of the last century, in excellent condition. It is consisted essentially of two different buildings together. The oldest of these is a stone manor house about 120 years old and the other is well-built four-floor building of 75 years. In 1965 it was modified to a hotel from the family Choudalakis, which operates since. Generally the hotel is a two star family business with character, providing security and full service to both families, and unique people who respect the identity of the hotel. In total the hotel has comfortable single, double and large rooms for families. The Hotel Acropolis House has a non smoking policy in all areas. Guests may smoke in the terrace of the first floor. Hotel Acropolis House is located at the gates of Plaka having so the advantage of being close to all the interesting places without the disadvantage of the hustle of the people and vehicles visiting the site. It is situated in a stunning location, either for professional or tourist as it is a 10-minute walk from the monument of Acropolis and the New Acropolis Museum, 3 minutes from Syntagma Square and the metro / bus and 2 minutes from the commercial and business center of Athens. Near the hotel there are parking, museums, pharmacies and the tourist information office. The hotel has a breakfast room, which served continental style breakfast very early in the morning for early morning flights (from 07.30 Until 10.30). There is luggage storage and safe for customers. Finally, Hotel Acropolis House has a library, with a rich collection, to borrow books from. This is himself occasionally enriched by the customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Acropolis House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Acropolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing