We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Acropolis View Hotel
Ranked #43 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2012

This hotel is in a wonderful location, in a quiet, very safe area, just 5 minutes from the tourist area of Plaka, and 2 minutes from the entrance of the Acropolis.
On entry to the hotel we were a little disappointed with our first impression, but in the end it's simply a question of taste, and yes, the hotel could be a little more modern, but it's extremely clean, staff are very friendly and helpful (with plenty of useful tips) and the location is so wonderful, it's definately THE place to stay.
We had asked for a double bed, but on arrival they told us that rooms with a double bed didn´t have a view onto the Acropolis. So we visited both rooms to compare, and chose a room with view onto the Acropolis. The double bed we saw was very small for 2 people, so would recommend 2 single beds.
Bathroom is impeccably clean, and shower has good hot water and pressure. Breakfast buffet is simple but enough.
We got an excellent price out of high-season, and really at this price, this is an excellent choice for a first visit or tourist visit to Athens.

Room Tip: Definately ask for a room with a view! Double beds are very small. There was availability during our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sophie0276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (606)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

268 - 274 of 606 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2012

I stayed here again between the 4th & 7th February. Once again, it was a great stay, same room, same excellent level of service and friendly, helpful staff.
The roof terrace is being renovated and improved, it should be even better when finished. The views to the Acropolis & Parthenon are among the best in the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear, there may be not much view but they are cheaper than the front of the bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welbeck56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

This hotel offers great value for money in an excellent location. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. We arrived when the weather was extremely cold and so it took a little time for the rooms to become warm. However, once it kicked in, the heating was efficient and the room cosy. Staff were at great pains to ensure that any problems were sorted out swiftly.

Room Tip: The hotel is in a quiet, residential street and the rooms on both sides of the hotel are acceptable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zephrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

My wife and I spent 3 nights in October in the Acropolis View Hotel. It is nothing fancy but for the price we were paying (70 Euros) we didn't expect the Ritz. What we got was a nice, clean room in a hotel that had an unbeatable location. We asked for a room with a view of the Acropolis and did we ever get that. We could sit on our balcony and have a perfect view of the Parthenon. The breakfast buffet was also not fancy but it was fine for us. If you are looking for an affordable hotel near the Acropolis (less than 5 minute walk) that also has a view, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front of the hotel to get a view of the Acropolis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Walter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Located only about 5 minutes walk from Acropolis entrance, it was really convenient for us, since we could just walk back after all the sightseeing. The staff at the hotel were very helpful. Great service. My sister and I were travelling from Athens to Olympia and then to Delphi and returning to Athens. So they agreed to keep some of our stuff with them. Mostly chocolates we had bought in Belgium. This was great, and was very nice of them.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VaruniV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Best hotel ever! Exellent overall! Great Breakfast! Friendly staff & very clean.. Lovely view of Acropolis from room.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pynguu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

This is as close to the Acropolis as you will probably find a hotel: both the Acropolis and the Filopappou hill are right at the doorstep, the New Acropolis museum in walking distance. A 10 minute stroll across the foot of the Acropolis hill takes you right to the Roman Agora and the heart of Monasteraki. Excellent access to public transport: the terminus bus stop of line 230 is just around the corner of the hotel. This bus 230 takes you to Syntagma and on to Panepistimiou, a stone’s throw away from Omonia. The Acropoli metro station is in walking distance and one more block down the road from there is the bus stop for the bus to Sounion (no need to go up to the Syntagma bus stop or the departure terminal at Plateia Aigyptou – make sure to buy your ticket before getting on the bus).

This 4-story hotel is a standard 3-star Greek hotel: small reception desk, comfortable lobby, small open bar, the open breakfast room behind the lobby. Small elevator.
The people at the reception desk are friendly except for an older stern man who would sometimes be on night duty.

The rooms are small. The furniture is dated and worn-out. The bathroom is small, the shower cabin even smaller, but offers all standard amenities: soap, shampoo, tissue paper, hair dryer. Towels (one large and one small per guest) are of good quality, sparkling white and are changed daily.

We had a huge hot water problem (it was mid-November and very cold): most often the hot water was little more than a drip. On the fifth morning of our stay, there was no hot water at all. The receptionist told us that the technician would come the same day to solve the problem. In the evening we did have hot water sufficiently, but the next morning again there was no hot water. When settling the bill upon leaving, we received a discount to compensate for the hot water problem.
We were on the fourth floor; guests staying on the second floor did not have the problem. The second floor being full, we could not change rooms to that floor.

A sliding patio door (double: one glass and one wooden shade door) gives access to a comfortable terrace with two chairs (no table). We had our room at the back of the hotel. Being on the fourth floor, we looked right over the small street below onto the pleasant greenery of the Filopappou hill. The tourist bus parking for the Acropolis is just across the street, behind the trees: you cannot see it from the terrace and as it was winter and very cold, we always had the terrace door closed, so we were not disturbed by the noise.

There is plenty of cupboard space (hangers and shelves) and drawers.

The walls are paper-thin: it’s not only you hear your neighbors talking, you can actually understand what they are saying. One night we were woken up by people talking. We thought they were standing in the hall right at our door. When we opened the door, nobody was there: it turned out it was our neighbors talking in the room next to ours.

The room is very clean: because of lack of space, we placed our suitcases underneath the beds and even there did not find one single speck of dust.

The buffet style breakfast is nothing fancy but there is sufficient choice for all tastes: one kind of cheese and one kind of ham, cornflakes and muesli, milk and delicious Greek yoghurt, different kinds of breads, boiled eggs, tomatoes, cucumber, olives, two kinds of jam, honey, butter, and three types of cake: chocolate cake, orange cake (very good) and vanilla-chocolate cake with icing, coffee (both filter and instant), and a large selection of teas and herbal teas.
The tables in the breakfast room are pretty close to each other, not leaving enough room to be really comfortable, to my taste.

It was very cold when we were there: 11° with a nasty north wind. We asked for additional blankets which came 3 nights later (the extra clothes hangers we requested were delivered immediately). The heating worked perfectly well.

The roof top terrace offers a splendid unobstructed and close-up view of the Parthenon. Unfortunately it was too cold to enjoy the view for long. Our room was on the top floor (just beneath the roof top terrace) and we could very well hear people walking on the roof: admitting that is was very cold and people were wearing heavy footwear, it still might be a problem in summer when people stay on the terrace late at night, having drinks and talking.

Would I stay here again? The location of this hotel is so good I probably would, but not on the fourth floor, and I would use earplugs.

Room Tip: Fourth floor rooms might have noise problems from the rooftop terrace and hot water supply problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chinagazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#12 of 281 in Athens
2,378 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 281 in Athens
1,796 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#10 of 281 in Athens
3,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Philippos Hotel
Philippos Hotel
#20 of 281 in Athens
1,061 reviews
Acropolis Select Hotel
#53 of 281 in Athens
776 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#29 of 281 in Athens
1,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acropolis View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acropolis View Hotel

Address: 10 Galli Rovertou | Acropolis, Athens 117 42, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#33 Family Hotel in Athens
#35 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £47 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Acropolis View Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Acropolis View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acropolis View Athens
Hotel Acropolis View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing