We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here for location & amazing roof garden”
Review of Attalos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Attalos Hotel
Ranked #29 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2012

The roof terrace bar is amazing with a spectacular view of the pantheon. We would sightsee during the day and head up to the roof bar for sundowners and games of cards (our own cards!) before going out for dinner. A minute walk to the underground and the local square, 3 mins walk had some nice bars and restaurants. The room was adequate if a bit small but as we were out all day we didn't mind, the main thing was it was quiet. Our room had a small balcony so we could sit out & could see the Pantheon, amazing. Also the undergound (local stop 1 min away) goes right to the ferry terminal for island hopping, about 25 mins to ferry terminal.

Room Tip: Great location for sightseeing
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank puliputri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,894)
There are newer reviews for Attalos Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

998 - 1,004 of 1,895 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2012

I have stayed at this hotel many times over about 10 years and find it comfortable and in a great location. It's very handy for the metro and Monastiraki and Plaka are on the doorstep. I usually manage to get a good price to stay there. The breakfast used to be included in the price, however, now there is a charge for it which puts the cost right up which is the only down side.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Margaret950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Like most of the reviews say, this hotel has The View. The rooftop terrace has a killer view of the Acropolis and the Parthenon. And the wine is only 2 euro a glass! The location, for me, was great since it was on a busy Athens street that gave me the urban experience I want when I visit a city. I don't want to be in a sealed, tourist area; I want to experience the city, see the people and understand what the residents experience, good and bad. When you step out the door, you're in Athens. The hotel had nice rooms, not cramped and if you ask, your room can have a view of the Acropolis, too. Breakfast was good, standard tourist hotel breakfast, lots of adequate food. I plan to come back to the Attalos Hotel in April, 2012 with a group from my school. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an Acropolis view.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KyMask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

This is a nice friendly Hotel, within walking distance of many of the main attractions and the Metro station. Accomodation is basic but comfortable. Good value.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

The location is great. Staff is friendly and helpful. Room is a bit smaller than most rooms in Europe, but that's fine for me because I only need it to clean up and slumber. For the price, I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: extremely tiny elevators, so i'd opt for the first floor if you plan on hauling anything large
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meshellatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for the review. It is nice to hear that you were satisfied with the hotel , the staff and the location. We appreciate all our guest comments. It is true, the lifts are quite small but they are quite sufficient with luggages.
We are glad to hear that you would stay in our hotel again and it will be our pleasure to welcome you again in the future!
Best regards
Kostas Zisis
Attalos hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights in January, 2012. Very friendly accomodation and helpful staff. Great European value.

Room Tip: Balconies are worth it
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joshuaalandavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2012

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Attalos hotel during your stay in Athens and your kind comments on TripAdvisor. As we are constantly trying to provide the best in accommodation and service, your comments are mostly appreciated and valued.
We will be glad to welcome you in our hotel another time in the future!
Best regards
Kosts Zisis
Attalos Hotel Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We go to Greece three times a year and when we go into Athens before or after going to Stoupa on the Peloponnesus we always stay at the Attalos. It's in a great location, a block from the Monastiraki stop on the Metro from the airport. The staff is invariably helpful, the price is reasonable, and it has a great rooftop bar with a view of the Acropolis. While not posh, the rooms are clean and some have a balcony.

Room Tip: If you book early enough, ask for a room on the back as Athinas Street comes to life early in the mo...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stoupagr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor . We are very glad when we achieve our goals and guests feel like home. It is a grat satisfaction when guests are coming back to the hotel and it gives us incentive to keep on trying to offer the best we can.
Thank you for being an Attalos hotel friend and for the high score!
We are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel!
Best regards
Kostas Zisis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#22 of 282 in Athens
1,360 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#27 of 282 in Athens
1,765 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
3,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrotel Hotel
#21 of 282 in Athens
1,196 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Arion Athens Hotel
Arion Athens Hotel
#31 of 282 in Athens
662 reviews
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#23 of 282 in Athens
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Attalos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Attalos Hotel

Address: 29 Athinas | Monastiraki, Athens 105 54, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Psirri / Gazi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Athens
#26 Family Hotel in Athens
#27 Best Value Hotel in Athens
#28 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £51 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Attalos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Management and Staff invite you to enjoy hospitable surroundings and all the pleasures of Athens within easy reach! The Attalos Hotel, situated in the historic district of Athens, has a history of its own. With its tradition of classic, comfortable accommodation, a friendly staff and atmosphere, the Attalos has created a name among a host of international visitors and repeat guests as "a home away from home in the heart of Athens". All of the hotel's 78 rooms are air-conditioned and fully equipped with central heating,Direct-dial telephone , Satellite TV , Mini refrigerator , Safe box , Private Bathrooms with hair dryers, slippers and bath amenities and of course Free wi-fi access internet. A charming roof garden/bar provides the perfect setting for enjoying a spectacular view of the Acropolis! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Attalos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Attalos Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing