We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 3 star hotel worth the value”
Review of Attalos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Attalos Hotel
Ranked #35 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
295 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“A 3 star hotel worth the value”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

First visit in 1987 was good, - and now in 2013 the hotel has been modernized and is even better. Placed close to Monastiraki station, so it's easy to reach from the airport or harbour. Small room and tiny bathroom but with a big balcony and a good view. Nice comfertable bed. The hotel seemed very clean and with a nice clean smell everywhere. Breakfast ok. Still a hotel with the most helpful staff, so you feel very welcome Fantastic view to the Acropolis from the roof bar (where some of the staff in the bar ought to learn some from the staff in the reception + breakfastroom!). A hotel we would like to return to.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the street and with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen-Mine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing Attalos hotel for your stay in Athens both times! We are very happy when our guests return!
Thank you for the good reviews on Trpadvisor and the high score!
It make us to try to be even more better!
We will be happy to welcome you again soon!
Best regards
Kostas Zisis
Attalos Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    600
    870
    261
    50
    27
See reviews for
286
834
178
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

The hotel is located in a central part of town, within easy walking distance to Monsatiraki Square, the metro, the Plaka, and many good restaurants and shopping. Though I have seen some folks complain that it is a seedy area, I disagree. My family of two adults and two children felt perfectly safe walking in this area day and night.

We had quad rooms for our two stays there. The first time we stayed there this was a two room suite with a double bed in one room and two twins in the other. The second time we stayed it was one room with a double bed and two singles all in the same room (this one had a nice balcony as well.) The bathrooms are clean and well appointed. Our first room had a huge bathtub with shower and the second was just a shower. The beds were comfortable, with extra pillows available in the closet. The rooms were very clean. We did hear folks in the hallway a few times, but I think it was only if they were especially loud. This is an older hotel, but it is well kept.

Considering that most Greeks eat only toast and coffee for breakfast, the hotel breakfast was extensive: meats, cheeses, sweet and savory pastries, hard boiled eggs, toast, butter, jam, Greek yogurt, honey, coffee, orange juice and milk that were kept well stocked as folks went through. The hotel also has a rooftop bar that boasts one of the best night time views of the Parthenon.

The hotel staff is friendly and helpful, responding immediately to any requests. It has two small elevators that work very well with little waiting.

All in all a great budget choice for central Athens.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OneCvilleFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing Attalos hotel during your stay in Athens and your review on Tripadvisor.
We are happy to hear that you had a nice stay in our hotel.
Is true that the hotel is old but we try to keep it in a good quality level.
Thank you for the mention of the location. Is true that we are totaly cental located, in a safe area, full of local and tourist people and near to all the sights walkable.
We will be happy to welcome you again in Attalos Hotel!
Honest regards
Kostas Zisis
Attalos Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
171 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The Hotel Attalos was a great find. We had stayed in another area of town prior to staying at the Attalos and the surroundings were very different. The Attalos is in a "grittier" section with more locals than tourists. Gives a totally different perspective of Athens. The location is wonderful. We walked everywhere we wanted to go without problem. The staff was friendly and helpful, aside from the Rooftop garden/bar servers who weren't very on their toes. Nice beds. Nice linens. Hairdryer and toiletries. Free wifi. Breakfast room. 2 bars - one being on the rooftop overlooking Athens. Small balcony. A little internet/business center. Elevator. Clean rooms. For the price, the hotel was certainly more than adequate! Thanks Attalos!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawnlangl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear guest
Thank you for choosing Attalos hotel during your stay in Athens and your review on TripAdvisor.
We are glad to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel, our facilities and the view. Our priority is the clean and the good staff services and we are sorry to hear that you didn't feel it from our bartender. We will be happy to welcome you again in our hotel anyway....in a future visit in Athens!
Best Regards
Kostas Zisis
Attalos hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The Hotel Attalos is such a great hotel, located so very close to anything you might want to see in Athens: Plaka, Monastiraki, Ancient Agora and the Acropolis. We stayed here at the begiining and end of our trip to Greece. The hotel staff are so very friendly, helpful and accomodating! Our triple room was the perfect size. The beds are twins in this room, comfortable (on the firm side), there was a TV if you need one as well as a small fridge.It had a balcony with street view (no street noise when your balcony door is closed). The roof garden bar is great! A nice place to relax plus a view of the Acropolis that can't be beat. The elevators are smallish. Breakfast very good with typical coffee, pastries, cereal. Greek yoghurt with honey, a variety of cheeses and meats, fresh fruit. I plan to stay here on my next trip to Greece.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julygirl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear guest
Thank you for choosing Attalos hotel during your stay in Athens and your review on TripAdvisor.
We are glad to read that you enjoyed location of the hotel , facilities, service received from staff and of course the view from our roof garden, which is one of the best in town.
Thank you for the high score!
we are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel in a future stay in Athens!

Best regards
Kostas Zisis
Attalos hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This hotel is located in a good spot for walking to all the ancient sites of Athens. It was also near lots of shopping. We had a room on the 6th floor and had a nice view of the Acropolis from our balcony - especially beautiful at night. We sat in the rooftop bar one evening to enjoy the view. The breakfast was typical continental, but with plenty options available to provide a good meal to start the day. Unfortunately, there was a party held on the roof of the building across the street with loud music blaring until 3 or 4 in the morning one night. There was no way to block out the noise & sleep was near impossible.

Room Tip: If you want a view, ask for a room with one. But be aware that if you will be there on a Friday or S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear guest
Thank you for choosing Attalos hotel during your stay in Athens and your review on TripAdvisor.
We are glad to read that you enjoyed location of the hotel , facilities and view.
Concerning the noise from the bar close by ,we are sorry that they interrupt your rest and if we were aware of the noise we would have called the police and the noise would be reduced right away, as bars should be careful with the noise after midnight.
We hope to be able to welcome you in our hotel another time in the future !
Best regards
Kostas Zisis
Attalos hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The arrival to Attalos Hotel in Athens did not start well at all, as we booked this hotel only because it advertised parking facilities.Well, it does not have parking onsite.They have a deal with a car parking building for 9.50 euros / 24 hrs. We arrived on a Sunday so the parking was not opened. It was a bit stressful having to find a park late at night in a city new to us.
However it was so much easier thanks to Sakis working at the hotel reception. He went into a lot of effort to make sure that our car was parked in a safe place. Thank you Sakis!!
The hotel breakfast and room comfort and facilities are okay.
The roof terrace bar is worth a visit as it has stunning views of the Akropolis.
However the highlight of this hotel is the staff and the location. It is only few minutes walk from Plaka and Akropolis. Perhaps one of the best located hotels where to stay in Athens.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Livesjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear guest
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
We are sorry to hear about the misunderstanding with parking facilities, we do not have any and the best option is the close by parking. It is true on Sunday it is a little difficult for the car, but we there is a 24-7 operating parking close to the hotel. However we are glad to read about our staff being helpful with the situation. Moreover, we are happy to read that you enjoyed location of the hotel , cleanliness , staff and view.
We hope to be able to welcome you in our hotel another time in the future!
Best regards
Kostas Zisis
Attalos hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

You can't book a cheap room and then complain its not a 4 star hotel. We paid $75 a night and had a balcony and a view of the Parthenon. It is walking distance to many sights. There are many restaurants and shops nearby and one block from the metro station. I don't plan to go back to Athens but if I do I will be staying here.

Room Tip: Get the balcony room. It will be worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear guest
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor !
It is great to hear that you liked our hotel and you would come back in case of a future stay in Athens.
we are happy to hear that you liked location of the hotel and the view.
We hope to welcome you again in our hotel another time in the future!
Best regards
Kostas Zisis
Attalos hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#22 of 326 in Athens
1,307 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#31 of 326 in Athens
1,678 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#56 of 326 in Athens
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 326 in Athens
3,236 reviews
Centrotel Hotel
#26 of 326 in Athens
1,166 reviews
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#24 of 326 in Athens
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Attalos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Attalos Hotel

Property: Attalos Hotel
Address: 29 Athinas | Monastiraki, Athens 105 54, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Psirri / Gazi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Athens
#30 Family Hotel in Athens
#31 Best Value Hotel in Athens
#32 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Attalos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Management and Staff invite you to enjoy hospitable surroundings and all the pleasures of Athens within easy reach! The Attalos Hotel, situated in the historic district of Athens, has a history of its own. With its tradition of classic, comfortable accommodation, a friendly staff and atmosphere, the Attalos has created a name among a host of international visitors and repeat guests as "a home away from home in the heart of Athens". All of the hotel's 78 rooms are air-conditioned and fully equipped with central heating,Direct-dial telephone , Satellite TV , Mini refrigerator , Safe box , Private Bathrooms with hair dryers, slippers and bath amenities and of course Free wi-fi access internet. A charming roof garden/bar provides the perfect setting for enjoying a spectacular view of the Acropolis! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Attalos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Attalos Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing