We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real gem”
Review of Attalos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Attalos Hotel
Ranked #34 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
sudbury
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A real gem”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We spent one night at this hotel prior to our cruise. I picked it based on previous reviews and a great endorsement on Matt Barrett's Athens blog.
The great experience started with the professional replies received via email ( Melina ) . Based on previous reviews, we requested a non smoking room at the back. Granted.
The room was clean, quiet and very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and beyond accommodating.
The location cannot be beat. Just north of Monastiraki and very close to the metro stop. Within walking distance of everything. It was very close to the Central market! which I love! as I enjoy shopping where locals go. Had breakfast there. Also a lot of bakeries on Athena's.
The restaurant recommended for supper, was in Psirii, a great neighbourhood close by. To Psirii was its name and it was fabulous. Great supper for 27 euro . My wife and. I could barely finish the meal. The restaurant us also endorsed by Matt Barrett.

Room Tip: Very quiet at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greg066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing Attalos hotel during your stay in Athens and for the review on Tripadvisor!
Thank you for the High Score!!!!!!!
We will be very happy to welcome you again!!!!!
Best regards
Kostas Zisis
Attalos Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    594
    863
    258
    50
    27
See reviews for
284
823
176
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I'd stay here again just for the views--the rooftop bar can't be beat (and had rather reasonably priced drinks)! Great value, great views, and centrally located to everything. The location was great--so close to the acropolis, and surrounded by sweet little streets with great food.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an Acropolis view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliaGenevieve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing our hotel during your saty in Athens and your review to the Tripadvisor!
Yes is tue! Our roof garden bar offers the best view of the Acropolis!!!!! in town!!!!!!
We will be happy to welcome you again in the future, to enjoy again all the things you loved it!!!!
Best regards
Kostas Zisis
Attalos Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

a real bargain for price and position , only few step from the metro station in the heart of flea market in front of acropolis, dont miss this place if you wanna save money and stay very very central,. Ideal to enjoy night life and visit acropolis early in the morning

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tony c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing Attalos Hotel during your stay in Athens.
Thank you for the high score review!
We will be happy to welcome you again in the future!!!!
Best regards
Kostas Zisis
Attalos Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Just spent 5 days at this hotel close to Monastiraki square. Don't be put off by the location as it is perfectly safe - take the same care you would in any city. The hotel is clean and friendly and really is value for money. We had a lovely balcony with views of the Acropolis. The roof bar too has great views. The hotel is really handy for wandering around Plaka or shopping on Ermou.
Take a wander through the streets at the back of the hotel, the area is Psiri- lovely bars and coffee shops and taverns- but leave before it gets too late as it is a bit dodgy at night.
Athens on the whole is looking a bit grim, graffiti everywhere and dirty pavements, but still worth a visit. Sharpen up your elbows as the Greeks don't queue for anything!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loopylou100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing Attalos Hotel during your stay in Athens and for the high score review on Tripadvisor.
You are right for the grafiti in the town. We don't like it also at all.......... We have mentioned to the responsible authorities already and we hope we'll see a change.........
Anyway, we will be happy to welcome you again in our hotel to enjoy our roof garden with the best view of the Acropolis!!!!!! :))
Best regards
Kostas Zisis
Attalos Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We only had a short overnighter at the Attalos, before heading out to Santorini. We were so happy that we stayed there though! We were so close to the Acropolis, it made for a very easy excursion to walk from the hotel to the top.

The front-desk reception service was also excellent. They knew off-hand what the hours of the Acropolis were and told us "leave now" to get there in time...it was so worth it! They also recommended a nearby restaurant for us to order a take-away dinner, which we ate on our room's balcony with a view of the Parthenon! The courtesy and helpfulness of the front-desk staff was just top-notch. Also, the roof-top bar view is unbelievable!

The hotel is within easy walking distance of the Monistiraki train station (walk in the direction AWAY from the plaza.)

We would definitely stay here again (hopefully we'll find our way back to Athens again one day!)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing Attalos hotel during your stay in Athens!
Thank you for the high score review on Tripadvisor!
Thank you for all the good reviews for our staff, the location and the views!
We will be happy to welcome you again in our hotel soon! :)
Best regards
Kostas Zisis
Attalos Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasant Hill, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We spent two nights at this charming Hotel in downtown Athens. We had a clean and (using Athenian standards) a spacious room with a large balcony with views of the Acropolis. The Hotel also has a roof top lounge with even better views of the Acropolis and the rest of this great City!
Perfectly situated between an open market and the Monastirake transit station, everything that one would probably want to see in Athens is a 20 to 30 minute walk away. We found a great restaurant less than five minutes away from the Hotel, and dozens and dozens of other fine establishments are less that 15 minutes away. I was very impressed with the outstanding front desk staff who repeatedly went out of their way to make our brief stay a nice one. While I am not sure when I will be able to return to Athens, I certainly know where I am going to stay when I get there. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Call and ask for a room with a balcony with a view of the Acropolis (it never hurts to ask).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aprince707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing Attalos hotel during your stay in Athens and for the high score review on Tripadvisor!
We will be happy to welcome you again in the future, to enjoy our services and the best view of the Acropolis in town!
Honest regards
Kostas Zisis
Attalos Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We have stayed at Attalos Hotel in the beginning of October. The room was very cozy (small, but good for a couple of nights). The view of the Acropolis from our balcony was amazing.
The location is very good: walk distance from everything you may need.
The staff was extremely helpful + they offered us a free bottle of wine because we have used TripAdvisor coupon.

Room Tip: The view of the Acropolis from the top floor balcony is really great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lenkabbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing Attalos Hotel during your stay in Athens and for the (high score) review on Tripadvisor.
Is true! We offer the best view of the Acropolis in town!
We will be happy to welcome you again in the future! We are always at your services!

Best regards
Kostas Zisis
Attalos Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,656 reviews
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#22 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#55 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,184 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis View Hotel
Acropolis View Hotel
#49 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Centrotel Hotel
#26 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Attalos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Attalos Hotel

Property: Attalos Hotel
Address: 29 Athinas | Monastiraki, Athens 105 54, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Psirri / Gazi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Athens
#30 Family Hotel in Athens
#32 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Attalos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Management and Staff invite you to enjoy hospitable surroundings and all the pleasures of Athens within easy reach! The Attalos Hotel, situated in the historic district of Athens, has a history of its own. With its tradition of classic, comfortable accommodation, a friendly staff and atmosphere, the Attalos has created a name among a host of international visitors and repeat guests as "a home away from home in the heart of Athens". All of the hotel's 78 rooms are air-conditioned and fully equipped with central heating,Direct-dial telephone , Satellite TV , Mini refrigerator , Safe box , Private Bathrooms with hair dryers, slippers and bath amenities and of course Free wi-fi access internet. A charming roof garden/bar provides the perfect setting for enjoying a spectacular view of the Acropolis! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Attalos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Attalos Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing