We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean & inexpensive”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Attalos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Attalos Hotel
Ranked #34 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, Iowa
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Clean & inexpensive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

One of my brother's coworkers had stayed here a few years back. She recommended it. We were very happy with the price. While the room was pretty plain, it was also very clean. The rooftop bar was great. It's located within walking distance of everything that we wanted to see. I'll definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Athens.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Shane 1102
Thank you for the Review on Tripadvisor and the High score!
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and you'll recommend us.....
We will be happy to welcome you again soon!
Honest regards
Kostas Zisis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    584
    847
    255
    49
    27
See reviews for
277
808
172
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
turkey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

The hotel is very close to the metro, but the surrounding areas look run down with graffiti everywhere. Staff are pleasant, rooms small, basic but clean. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice. Generally good value for money and would be happy to return for a short stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aylinTurkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear aylinTurkey,

First of all, we thank you for choosing us during your stay in Athens !

We are so glad that our location was very convenient for you and you found our staff pleasant and you felt welcome. The breakfast is indeed very good with greek local products and we are happy that you enjoyed also the cleanliness of our rooms.
You are right about the grafiti in the town. Athens is such a sacred and special city and we have mentioned it to the responsible authorities in the past several times.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travellers and we will be happy to welcome you again in the future!

Kind regards,
Kostas Zisis
Manager of Attalos Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

Met a nice women in a resteaurant, who said she was Greek.
After work she came to my hotel for a drink.
When I left the room I heared that she opened a suitcase, I came back and missed money.
I warned her that I would call the police and informed mr. Kosmopoulos about the accident.
He immedialtly came to my room and then the women diceded that she give the money back.
I'm really thankfull to mr. Kosmopoulas that he stood next to me. He told me the woman was not Greek at al, but Ukrainian.
Thank you mr. Kosmopoulos!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, Διευθυντής at Attalos Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Mr Charles V,

We are sorry for this unfortunate incident. We are so glad that our staff met up to your expectations and we will share your kind compliments to mr Kosmopoulos.

We are happy that apart from this incident, you are enjoying your stay here in our hotel and general in Athens.

Kind regards,
Kostas Zisis
Manager of Attalos Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We found the staff to be very helpful. They were friendly and did well with us in English. When we lost a camera they helped us get to the police to make a report and did some calling around for us to see if it was in lost and found. Couldn't have been more helpful. The rooftop bar has a beautiful view of the Parthenon and we enjoyed the fireworks on New Year's Eve. Room service was easy. They had a good breakfast and reasonable price with a great location…we could walk to most all the sites. It is very easy to catch the Metro and travel anywhere including the airport.

Room Tip: We enjoyed a double with balcony…had great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, Διευθυντής at Attalos Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Mr Ben425,

Thank you so much for your time and for the warm feedback, it means a lot to us !

Despite the unfortunate incident with your camera, we are so delighted that your stay in our hotel was such a lovely experience, especially since it was during the magical period of New Year's Eve !
We are so happy to hear that our location,was so convinient and you enjoyed the amazing view to the Acropolis, our breakfast and our helpful staff !

We do hope to welcome you next year to celebrate New Year here with us again !

Kind regards,
Kostas Zisis
Manager of Attalos Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We only stayed one night at the Attalos - and to be honest - I think that's how it's best considered.

It's a great location if you have a day or two to kill - with easy access to all the sights. The staff are pleasant.

The hotel itself is tired - tiny rooms - antique elevators (which are entertaining in their own way), and furnishings in dire need of replacement.

The roof terrace is the saving grace - with lovely cocktails available (no BYO!), and a wonderful view.

The Attalos does what it needs to - however I can't help but feel it could be so m uch more with a little love!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaxhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Jaxhill,

Thank you for choosing Attalos hotel during your stay in Athens and for the review on Tripadvisor !

First of all, we are happy to hear that you found the location so convinient for exploring Athens and our staff made you feel comfortable and welcome. Indeed, our rooftop bar is one of our favorite spots for enjoying your favorite cocktail while admiring the breathtaking view !

Last but not least, thank you for your comments about our facilities. Although, it is difficult to change the size of our rooms or the elevators, we continuously try to improve our service and facilities any way we can. Our proirity is the room to be clean and as much comfortable as it can be. Right now , we have renovated the half bathrooms in the hotel and we'll continue for the other half. In our future plans, is surely to renovate also the furniture .

Thank you again for taking the time to review us and we will be happy to welcome you again soon!

Kind regards,
Kostas Zisis
Manager of Attalos Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

We stayed for 6 nights over Christmas. The hotel is 5 minutes from a metro station direct from the airport. Staff are just lovely and our room had a super view of the Parthenon from the balcony. The roof terrace has an even better one and the drinks are very well priced. The breakfast was typically Greek and plenty of it, we didn't need lunch. There was a fridge in the room, handy for our wine and beer. No kettle but free tea and coffee in the lounge 11am - 4pm and free wifi and use of computers - useful for printing out those return boarding passes. It was within walking distance of everything we wanted to see and just behind the hotel a little square with tiny restaurants and cafes, not as crowded as Monastiraki Square and the Plaka. Loved it and would return.

Room Tip: Choose a balcony, at the back and high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dunbossin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear DunBossin,

We are so delighted that your stay here in Attalos was such a great experience for you and we thank you for sharing it with the other travellers !

It's great to know that our location was so convenient for you, and you loved the views, the breakfast and the service, too. Mostly, we are so happy that you found your staff helpful and you felt welcome !

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in the near future !

Kind regards,
Kostas Zisis
Manager of Attalos Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alonnisos, Greece
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

A hotel at the right corner ,close to everything. A few steps away from the Metro, and the monastiraki area. Very good atmosfear , clean and neat with comfortable rooms at a reasonable price. Safe as well, and just 150 meters away for " Psiri" area for a good dinner.

Room Tip: I like this hotel because is close to anything in the center,shopping, acropolis, syntagma.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nectarios F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Mr Nektarios F,

First of all, we would like thank you for choosing Attalos Hotel and for sharing your experience with other travellers.

We are so delightful that you enjoyed everything in our hotel and we create a memorable stay !
Yes it is true, we are central located near all the sights, the metro, the Market, the nightlife and as all guests says, ''ideally place to stay'' !

We are looking forward to seeing you on your next trip in Athens and we wish you all the best for the upcoming New Year !
Καλή Πρωτοχρονιά !

Kind regards,
Kostas Zisis
Attalos Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#21 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#51 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,139 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis View Hotel
Acropolis View Hotel
#43 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Centrotel Hotel
#27 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Attalos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Attalos Hotel

Property: Attalos Hotel
Address: 29 Athinas | Monastiraki, Athens 105 54, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Psirri / Gazi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Athens
#30 Family Hotel in Athens
#32 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Attalos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Management and Staff invite you to enjoy hospitable surroundings and all the pleasures of Athens within easy reach! The Attalos Hotel, situated in the historic district of Athens, has a history of its own. With its tradition of classic, comfortable accommodation, a friendly staff and atmosphere, the Attalos has created a name among a host of international visitors and repeat guests as "a home away from home in the heart of Athens". All of the hotel's 78 rooms are air-conditioned and fully equipped with central heating,Direct-dial telephone , Satellite TV , Mini refrigerator , Safe box , Private Bathrooms with hair dryers, slippers and bath amenities and of course Free wi-fi access internet. A charming roof garden/bar provides the perfect setting for enjoying a spectacular view of the Acropolis! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Attalos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Attalos Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing