We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value!!”
Review of Attalos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Attalos Hotel
Ranked #34 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Great Value!!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Excellent location. Walk to Monastiraki Station, Plaka, and Hop on Hop off bus. Friendly and knowledgeable staff. I had a room on the sixth floor and a great view of the Akropolis. Will definitely be staying here again

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delilahh747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, General Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Delilahh747
Thank you so much for choosing Attalos hotel during your stay in Athens!
Thank you so much for the High score Review on Tripadvisor and for your appreciated comments!
We definitely will be happy to see you again in our hotel!
Best regards
Kostas Zisis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    600
    870
    261
    50
    27
See reviews for
286
834
178
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Hotel Attalos is in an excellent position, convenient for the Metro and within walking distance of most of the sights. It is also well placed for restaurants and bars both in the busy Monastiraki area and around the quieter Platia Iroon. The people on reception speak good English and are always friendly and helpful as are all the other staff. The rooms are clean and comfortable and quiet at night. A particular attraction is the rooftop bar, a lovely place to sit in the cool of the evening enjoying a drink and gazing at the Acropolis as darkness falls.
The hotel advertises itselt as 'your home away from home' and does its utmost to fulfil that claim. We would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Balconies from the third floor up to the sixth give a view of the Acropolis. Rooms facing the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cleckheaton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, General Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Cleckheaton2
Thank you so much for the High score Review on Tripadvisor and the beautiful comments you did. All staff thank you from the hart.
''Your home away from home'' will be happy to welcome you again in the future!
Honest regards
Kostas Zisis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa
Level Contributor
158 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This hotel is located very close to monastiraki and everything there is to do in Athens. There is a market across the street and the subway is also close by. There is an awesome terrace where you can have coffee or wine while looking at the acropolis. My only complaint here is the beds are super hard like sleeping on concrete. If you ask for a queen bed they push two twins together. Are there no big beds in Europe? The staff was very friendly and helpful and the rooms were clean

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsalgts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, General Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear jsalgts
Thank you for choosing Attalos hotel during your stay in Athens in July 2013.
We are very glad to read that you enjoyed the location and our roof Top bar with the breathtaking view to the Acropolis. We are very disappointed reading that you didn't enjoy your sleep because of the hard mattress. We have changed them........and also we always offer rooms with double bed if you request it.
We will be happy to welcome you again!
Best regards
Kostas Zisis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 5 nights and not regretted a minute we chose it.
Excellent location. First arrival of the most practical and convenient: direct metro from the airport to Monastiraki Station. Everything is within walking distance: markets, restaurants, and attractions.
Monastiraki Square is full life every night .
We chose a room with a balcony and asked for a high floor as possible. We received the third floor which was quite nice. Street view was quite noisy during the day but quiet enough at night. I would not recommend for those who like to sleep late in the morning. There were extra blankets and pillows in the closet, we also received another sheet covers, so that everyone can be covered with a blanket of his own. This is important because a very large bed.
The lobby is not fancy. But comfortable rooms. Although a small closet. It is important to have a safe. Good value for your money
Breakfast costs 8 euros, should not I think - there are many places to eat well and much more cheaply

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Likia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, General Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Likia P
Thank you for choosing Attalos hotel during your stay in Athens!
We very appreciate your High score Review on Tripadvisor and for the nice comments.
We will be happy to welcome you again soon!
Honest regards
Kostas Zisis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed 6 nights in May and apart from some simple practical shortcomings it suited our purposes pretty well. We arrived via the Metro from the airport which was very straightforward and following other Trip Advisor advice, left Monistraki metro station via the Athina Street exit which had escalators and a lift. The first sight of Athens was a bit scary with damaged shop fronts and graffiti but we soon became used to it , indeed the daytime street bustle was strangely attractive. The night time reception was friendly and helpful about places to eat and responded to our request for a quiet room (see Trip Advisor reviews) by sending us to a 2nd floor smallish room with one window opening onto a light well - we were disappointed at first but soon appreciated the quiet. The major problem we had was with the beds we did ask for a double but were left with twin beds instead - they were rock hard and lumpy and neither of us slept at all well in spite of the quiet. We resorted to putting the over blanket under the bottom sheet. The maid did not move it so I guess she may have seen it before. The rooftop bar had a great view of the Acropolis but did not open during the day and did not serve tea/coffee/snacks - a shame because it would be nice to have something to come back to after a day walking the sights of Athens . We did not have breakfast there so can't comment This is an old hotel in a busy district which partly explains it's shortcomings - we left there thinking "could do better".

Room Tip: 207 is small and dark and overlooking the central well but at least it's quiet - the road at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The Sundowners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, General Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear The Sundowners
Thank you for choosing Attalos hotel during your stay in Athens!
Thank you for taking time to Review on Tripadvisor!
Your cooments are valuable to us!
We understand that we dissapointed you with the twin beds, but we offer rooms with double beds and twin beds it depends of the reservation request. The hours of the roof top bar are from 16:00 until midnight but before that we offer Free cooffe or tea on the First floor and there is no problem at all to take it up on the roof to enjoy it viewing the Acropolis.... ;)
We will be happy to welcome you again in the future.
Honest regards
Kostas Zisis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

I give this place 5 stars for location but 2 stars for overall experience. If you are looking for the absolute basics (clean bathrooms, towels, bed) then go right ahead and as it is right in the center of all sites in Athens and monastraki station so you certainly won't need a cab to get around. While this is highly rated on booking.com (they proudly display their scores) just remember this is an extremely old hotel meaning old lifts, bathrooms, decor, tv, etc. even the rooftop bar sucks

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank N P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Attalos Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear N P,

Thank you for the Review on Tripadvisor.
It is sad to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay in our Hotel. :(
It's exactly the opposite of what we want for our guests...

Anyway...we would like to mention some things.
The elevators are small but unfortunately we cannot do something about the size.
We are always trying to renovate our facilities and since we are a City Hotel we can do renovation partially, every time.
We have already renovated most of the bathrooms and the rest we will renovate them , hopefully this coming winter.
Also the same for the TVs, more than half rooms have brand new flat TV and we are about the make an order for the last rooms.
All the sheets, towels, blankets etc. are bright new, as we change them every year.
We offer personal Cosmetics and slippers in the rooms for each guest.
We offer welcome drink at the reception.
We offer Free coffee from 11:00 till 16:00 every day.
We offer Free wi-fi and Internet corner.
We offer the best cleaning (as it's our priority).
We offer a very friendly and helpful staff.
We offer a very good location as all the attractions are near.
We offer the best view of the Acropolis in town from our roof garden and from many rooms also.
The 99.9% of the guests, says that we have a very nice roof Top bar and enjoy it very much.
We know that we are not a lux hotel, but we always try to offer our best to our guests.

Can you please recommend us some things that you really think we need to do or change to make us better? It would be very helpful from you.

We will be very happy to welcome you again in our hotel!
Honest regards,
Kostas Zisis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethel, Maine
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We SO loved this place as it was exactly where we needed to be= close to the metro and close to the action. The wife and I would sit outside at nearby Monstraki Square and drink wine until 2-3 am. with no worries what so ever. The rooms were a bit on the small side- but we really didnot spend much time in the room. The rooftop cafe overlooking the Acropolis was serene. We also had a view of the acropolis from our room. Added to all that was a free bottle of wine!

cant beat it! YAMMAS!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdventureCalledLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Attalos Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Adventure
Thank you SO much for your good words!
Thank you SO much for the High score Review on Tripadvisor! :)
We are glad to hear that you ebnoyed our hotel, the roof Top bar and the area.
We will be happy to welcome you again soon!
Best regards
Kostas Zisis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#22 of 326 in Athens
1,307 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 326 in Athens
1,680 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#55 of 326 in Athens
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrotel Hotel
#25 of 326 in Athens
1,166 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 326 in Athens
3,238 reviews
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#27 of 326 in Athens
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Attalos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Attalos Hotel

Property: Attalos Hotel
Address: 29 Athinas | Monastiraki, Athens 105 54, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Psirri / Gazi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Athens
#27 Best Value Hotel in Athens
#30 Family Hotel in Athens
#32 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Attalos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Management and Staff invite you to enjoy hospitable surroundings and all the pleasures of Athens within easy reach! The Attalos Hotel, situated in the historic district of Athens, has a history of its own. With its tradition of classic, comfortable accommodation, a friendly staff and atmosphere, the Attalos has created a name among a host of international visitors and repeat guests as "a home away from home in the heart of Athens". All of the hotel's 78 rooms are air-conditioned and fully equipped with central heating,Direct-dial telephone , Satellite TV , Mini refrigerator , Safe box , Private Bathrooms with hair dryers, slippers and bath amenities and of course Free wi-fi access internet. A charming roof garden/bar provides the perfect setting for enjoying a spectacular view of the Acropolis! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Attalos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Attalos Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing