We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel close to everything in the city centre ”
Review of Attalos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Attalos Hotel
Ranked #29 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights in June and had a great experience. I am a girl solo traveller and felt completely safe walking around even at night. The hotel is right near the metro and the main square of the area. You can see the acropolis from your balcony and it's wonderful. The rooftop bar is also great. The only thing I would say is don't get a room on the top floor as you're right under the bar and will hear chairs scraping above your head at night.

Otherwise I have no complaints, a great hotel and very affordable.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank Candice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, General Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear candice B
Thank you so much for choosing Attalos hotel during your stay in Athens and for the nice Review on Tripadvisor!
We are pleased to hear that you felt safe in the area. The truth is that the time the bar is open is little noise to the below rooms but this happen until midnight as after the bar is close and becomes quite.
We will be happy to welcome you again in our hotel!
Best regards
Kostas Zisis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,915)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

691 - 697 of 1,915 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here for a night only at the end of our trip and it was a last minute booking as the hotel I wanted to stay was fully booked but I guess we were lucky to get this one. I wished I stayed more :) the room was good with twin beds and a small balcony overlooking the city. Its situated at the city center and very near to the Monastiraki station. All we had to do was walk about 100 meter straight from the station and voila...the hotel!

I didn't try for any of the facilities as we stayed only a night and next morning we checked out and left Greece...but it was pleasant night with a quite and beautiful night view of Athens city and and the acropolis.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janakiragawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, General Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear janakiragawan
Thank you for choosing Attalos hotel during your small stay in Athens.
We very appreciate your Review on Tripadvisor and we hope next time you will visist Athens, to choose again Attalos hotel! It will be a nice opportunity to try our facilities specially our roof garder bar with the breathtaking view to the Acropolis!
Honest regards
Kostas Zisis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Athens is a wonderful city. The sights are incredible, and the people are friendly. My wife and I went there for a couple of nights this past week, and we stayed at a wonderful place, the Attalos Hotel. We would recommend the Attalos Hotel for future travelers for three main reasons.

First, the hotel is in a prime location. It is located in the Monastiraki neighborhood just a couple of minutes from the metro station. We found the Monastiraki neighborhood to be lovely. There is a great flea market nearby with all sorts of souvenirs and knick-knacks. The hotel is also located in the midst of a bunch of reasonably priced restaurants. Also, we were able to walk to the major sights including the acropolis, the ancient agora, and the national archaeological museum. We were essentially able to walk everywhere. The only time we used the metro was coming to and from the airport.

Secondly, the hotel offers great service. The gentlemen at the front desk always wore a smile and helped us in any way they could. They provided directions when we were unsure. They offered helpful tips on dining and sightseeing. Mostly, I just felt that they were genuine. It didn't seem like it was all about the money to them. They seemed to try their very best to make sure we had a great time in their wonderful city.

Last, the hotel offers a rooftop bar with the best seats in the city. You can go to the top, grab a drink, sit down, and marvel as the Parthenon lights up the night sky. It's truly a sight to behold.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank markmcgahajr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, General Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear markmcgahajr
Thank you for the great 5 star Review on Tripadvisor!
We are so glad to hear that you totally enjoyed your stay, the location, our Services and the roof Top bar. All staff try hard everyday to offer a pleasant stay to the guests. Thank you for the recommendation!
We will be very happy to welcome you in our hotel again soon!
Honest regards
Kostas Zisis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The hotel itself is really close to the whole Acropolis area, restaurants and shopping so, for the price, it was a solid choice for us as a couple. The room itself is quite small (including the bathroom) and average in decor and comfort. It was clean and so I do recommend it if you plan to do what we did, spend little time in the hotel and are looking for great location and price (94 euros). If you need more space or prefer a little more upscale hotel, I would recommend looking elsewhere. The rooftop bar of the hotel is really cute and quaint and has a nice view of the Parthenon at night. While we didn't really use the balcony, there was one with a so-so view.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, General Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Kabecka
Thank you for choosing Attalos hotel during your stay in Athens and for the Review on Tripadvisor. We are liitle disappointed with your comments that show you didn't enjoy the room as much. We are on program to do changes in the rooms, so will really be happy to welcome you again in the future!
Honest regards
Kostas Zisis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed 3 nights in April 2014 as part of a wider 51 day trip through parts of Europe. Paid €69 pn for a basic double but were upgraded to a double with balcony at no extra cost (both times we stayed). Rate did not include breakfast.

We stayed 2n in Room 412 (queen or king bed in room) then left our luggage for 2 days whilst we took off with a day pack for an o/n stay at Nafplio (metro to Piraeus Port, fast ferry to Poros Island, small people ferry to Galatas on mainland, hired small car then drove coastal road then up central road, via Epidavros Ampitheatre, onto Nafplio. Next day drove Nafplio, across middle to NE coast and back to Galatos and caught last ferry back to port, metro back to Attalos. Very easy).

The third night (once we had returned to Attalos Hotel) we stayed in Room 411 (twin beds pushed together). Was next door to our previous room.

Both had balconies (okay size with table & 2 chairs but nothing else) that looked up b/w buildings to the Parthenon lit up at night. Room 411 had the better, unobstructed view (room 412 you look ‘around’ 411’s balcony as such).

Staff very friendly & spoke English. Room was clean & serviced daily.

Room had: AC, Heating, Fridge, Desk & Chair, Mirrors, Wardrobe, small old style TV. Luggage rack in both rooms, Side tables, Bed lamps, etc.

Small private ensuite. Toiletries provided were soaps, shampoo/conditioner combo. Hairdryer in bathroom affixed to wall but very old style tube that blows hot air and rather ineffective (on my very thick hair). Hot water shower and good water pressure.

Rm 412 had shower with base. Rm 411 had a small bath that you then had a shower head in up on the wall like a proper shower as well.

Parking out on street if lucky enough but we also noted Parking lot buildings around the area as well. We didn’t hire a car or motorbike here so can’t help further with this aspect.

WiFi: free. Speed: Average. No pool if that matters for you. Neither room had a kettle or tea/coffee making facilities.

Nice rooftop bar with reasonably priced drinks to sit and watch Parthenon lit up at night.

Close to: Monastiraki metro stn (Athinas St exit) is literally 100m or so from Attalos. So easy to get to airport and Piraeus Port using metro (watch your belongings although we had no issues on any metro ride we took). Monastiraki Square & Flea Market are just across the road from the station so another few steps across the road is all. Also Psiri area is literally 5 min walk at back of hotel. Plaka district & Syntagma Square all easy walking distance. Easy walk to top of Acropolis & Parthenon from Attalos too. We also walked from Attalos up through the morning meat market to Lycabettus Hill (& up the hill). This took about 45 mins to 1 hr and the hill itself was very steep. If you don’t want to walk that much catch a taxi for a few euro’s to the funicular at base of hill and go up the easy way (€3.50 per ticket).

Overall, we would give this 4/5 stars. Really found this the perfect location as a first timer to Athens. Room looked liked photo's on the internet so truthfully represented.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wishtago...
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, General Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear wishtago
Thank you so much for choosing Attalos hotel during your stays in Athens and for the nice Review on Tripadvisor.
We are glad to read that you enjoyed both stays and the upgrated room with no Extra charge. Thank you for the mention that the photos in our site appears the truth and not something else......(it is very important to us).
We will be very happy to welcome you again soon!
Honest regards
Kostas Zisis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I would classify this as a great bargain hotel. It has very simple amenities and it is centrally located. We were able to walk to most of the major sights in Athens from this hotel. If you are on a budget but want a private place to stay I would highly recommend it. Though it is a bit old and the area becomes sketchy at night, we felt relatively safe. The man at the front desk and the rest of the staff are very friendly. We just needed a cheap place to sleep in a good Athens location and Attalos Hotel did the job nicely.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Attalos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Kristin C. Thank you for choosing Attalos hotel during your stay in Athens and for the review on Tripadvisor. We notice that you didn't feel comfortable during the night in the area but we have to mention that it's very safe as it' s very central and touristic location. We will be happy to welcome you again in the future! Honest regards Kostas Zisis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The Attalos Hotel is a stone's throw from the Monastiraki metro station, which connects with the airport. It is also close to the main archaeological sites and the delightful Plaka area. The hotel has a roof garden with panoramic views of the city. The staff are efficient, helpful and pleasant in every way. The rooms are not hypermodern, but what you get for the price is very good. I have stayed there five times in the past three years, and will be returning.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 657David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, General Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear 657David
It was a great pleasure seeing you again! The best prize for us is your wonderful High score Review! Thank you very much!
We will be happy to welcome you again next year!
Honest regards
Kostas Zisis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#22 of 281 in Athens
1,383 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 281 in Athens
1,798 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Arion Athens Hotel
Arion Athens Hotel
#31 of 281 in Athens
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#10 of 281 in Athens
3,380 reviews
Centrotel Hotel
#21 of 281 in Athens
1,198 reviews
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#23 of 281 in Athens
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Attalos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Attalos Hotel

Address: 29 Athinas | Monastiraki, Athens 105 54, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Psirri / Gazi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Athens
#26 Family Hotel in Athens
#28 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £51 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Attalos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Management and Staff invite you to enjoy hospitable surroundings and all the pleasures of Athens within easy reach! The Attalos Hotel, situated in the historic district of Athens, has a history of its own. With its tradition of classic, comfortable accommodation, a friendly staff and atmosphere, the Attalos has created a name among a host of international visitors and repeat guests as "a home away from home in the heart of Athens". All of the hotel's 78 rooms are air-conditioned and fully equipped with central heating,Direct-dial telephone , Satellite TV , Mini refrigerator , Safe box , Private Bathrooms with hair dryers, slippers and bath amenities and of course Free wi-fi access internet. A charming roof garden/bar provides the perfect setting for enjoying a spectacular view of the Acropolis! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Attalos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Attalos Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing