We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you're heading to Greek Islands from Piraeus, stay HERE”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Attalos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Attalos Hotel
Ranked #35 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“If you're heading to Greek Islands from Piraeus, stay HERE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Don't worry about the small reception area or the rather dingy hallways - if you're heading to the Greek Islands from Piraeus, stay at the Attalos Hotel. We had a bargain priced triple with the best showerhead in Greece and the room was clean as could be. The Monastiraki Metro is less than two blocks away (straight shot to the airport and to Piraeus). Zillions of restaurants in that area, the best view of the Acropolis from the rooftop bar of any place in Athens, a lounge with computers and printers if you need to print tickets or boarding passes, and they will lock up your luggage if you are leaving and coming back some days later. Great helpful staff could answer all our questions.
NOTE: We met people who had stayed in Piraeus because their ferry left early. Piraeus is a pretty horrible place and we chose to stay at Attalos, then catch a 6am metro to Piraeus instead. It was a smart move since the metro is only 30 min. to Piraeus and we had breakfast on the ferry.

Room Tip: Our room had no view but since it was a triple we couldn't complain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plscottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Attalos Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear plscottie. Thank you so much for this wonderful review! Thank you so much for choosing Attalos hotel during your stay in Athens! Yes we agree it was a right choice! ;) We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed everything! It is the best reward for us! We will continue to offer our best! Looking forward to welcome you again in the future! Best regards Kostas Zisis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    584
    847
    255
    49
    27
See reviews for
277
808
172
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Our family of three just stayed four nights at the Attalos. 2 nights when we arrived, did some island hopping, and then returned to Attalos for 2 more nights before leaving Greece. The hotel is centrally located in the Plaka area. The Monastaraki Metro station is just a few blocks away. Really less than 10 minutes walk. Kiosks everywhere to buy water and snacks. Plenty of restaurants around the area so we never worry about going hungry. We walked to the Acropolis, Syntagma Square and Ermou Shopping area. Our room with balcony had a side view of the Acropolis at night. We enjoyed our complimentary wine on the first night sitting at the balcony. Room is basic but sufficient for our needs and for its location, the price can't be beat. We enjoyed being able to store our lugguage there when we did our island hopping.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emailtomato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, General Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear sunshine4kids
Thank you so much for choosing Attalos hotel during your stays in Athens
We really appreciate the time you took to post a nice Review to us on Tripadvisor.
We will be happy to welcome you again in the future!
Honest regards
Kostas Zisis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Comfortable, great location and reasonably priced. look no further but you have to book way in advance of your trip. Also one of the few places that thought of building a roof top bar with a view of the Parthenon. Tip for the airport: get there AT LEAST 2.5 hours before your flight even if your flight is domestic. and place all your liquids in your luggage for smoother security check.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank hatipan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, General Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear hatipan
Thank you very much for choosing Attalos hotel during your stay in Athens!
Thank you for the High score Review on Tripadvor and for the nice tips for the other guests.
We look forward to welcome you again in the future!
Honest regards
Kostas Zisis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights in June and had a great experience. I am a girl solo traveller and felt completely safe walking around even at night. The hotel is right near the metro and the main square of the area. You can see the acropolis from your balcony and it's wonderful. The rooftop bar is also great. The only thing I would say is don't get a room on the top floor as you're right under the bar and will hear chairs scraping above your head at night.

Otherwise I have no complaints, a great hotel and very affordable.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Candice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, General Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear candice B
Thank you so much for choosing Attalos hotel during your stay in Athens and for the nice Review on Tripadvisor!
We are pleased to hear that you felt safe in the area. The truth is that the time the bar is open is little noise to the below rooms but this happen until midnight as after the bar is close and becomes quite.
We will be happy to welcome you again in our hotel!
Best regards
Kostas Zisis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here for a night only at the end of our trip and it was a last minute booking as the hotel I wanted to stay was fully booked but I guess we were lucky to get this one. I wished I stayed more :) the room was good with twin beds and a small balcony overlooking the city. Its situated at the city center and very near to the Monastiraki station. All we had to do was walk about 100 meter straight from the station and voila...the hotel!

I didn't try for any of the facilities as we stayed only a night and next morning we checked out and left Greece...but it was pleasant night with a quite and beautiful night view of Athens city and and the acropolis.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janakiragawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, General Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear janakiragawan
Thank you for choosing Attalos hotel during your small stay in Athens.
We very appreciate your Review on Tripadvisor and we hope next time you will visist Athens, to choose again Attalos hotel! It will be a nice opportunity to try our facilities specially our roof garder bar with the breathtaking view to the Acropolis!
Honest regards
Kostas Zisis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Athens is a wonderful city. The sights are incredible, and the people are friendly. My wife and I went there for a couple of nights this past week, and we stayed at a wonderful place, the Attalos Hotel. We would recommend the Attalos Hotel for future travelers for three main reasons.

First, the hotel is in a prime location. It is located in the Monastiraki neighborhood just a couple of minutes from the metro station. We found the Monastiraki neighborhood to be lovely. There is a great flea market nearby with all sorts of souvenirs and knick-knacks. The hotel is also located in the midst of a bunch of reasonably priced restaurants. Also, we were able to walk to the major sights including the acropolis, the ancient agora, and the national archaeological museum. We were essentially able to walk everywhere. The only time we used the metro was coming to and from the airport.

Secondly, the hotel offers great service. The gentlemen at the front desk always wore a smile and helped us in any way they could. They provided directions when we were unsure. They offered helpful tips on dining and sightseeing. Mostly, I just felt that they were genuine. It didn't seem like it was all about the money to them. They seemed to try their very best to make sure we had a great time in their wonderful city.

Last, the hotel offers a rooftop bar with the best seats in the city. You can go to the top, grab a drink, sit down, and marvel as the Parthenon lights up the night sky. It's truly a sight to behold.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank markmcgahajr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, General Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear markmcgahajr
Thank you for the great 5 star Review on Tripadvisor!
We are so glad to hear that you totally enjoyed your stay, the location, our Services and the roof Top bar. All staff try hard everyday to offer a pleasant stay to the guests. Thank you for the recommendation!
We will be very happy to welcome you in our hotel again soon!
Honest regards
Kostas Zisis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

The hotel itself is really close to the whole Acropolis area, restaurants and shopping so, for the price, it was a solid choice for us as a couple. The room itself is quite small (including the bathroom) and average in decor and comfort. It was clean and so I do recommend it if you plan to do what we did, spend little time in the hotel and are looking for great location and price (94 euros). If you need more space or prefer a little more upscale hotel, I would recommend looking elsewhere. The rooftop bar of the hotel is really cute and quaint and has a nice view of the Parthenon at night. While we didn't really use the balcony, there was one with a so-so view.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kabecka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, General Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Kabecka
Thank you for choosing Attalos hotel during your stay in Athens and for the Review on Tripadvisor. We are liitle disappointed with your comments that show you didn't enjoy the room as much. We are on program to do changes in the rooms, so will really be happy to welcome you again in the future!
Honest regards
Kostas Zisis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#21 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#57 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,138 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis View Hotel
Acropolis View Hotel
#44 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Centrotel Hotel
#25 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Attalos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Attalos Hotel

Property: Attalos Hotel
Address: 29 Athinas | Monastiraki, Athens 105 54, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Psirri / Gazi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Athens
#30 Family Hotel in Athens
#32 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Attalos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Management and Staff invite you to enjoy hospitable surroundings and all the pleasures of Athens within easy reach! The Attalos Hotel, situated in the historic district of Athens, has a history of its own. With its tradition of classic, comfortable accommodation, a friendly staff and atmosphere, the Attalos has created a name among a host of international visitors and repeat guests as "a home away from home in the heart of Athens". All of the hotel's 78 rooms are air-conditioned and fully equipped with central heating,Direct-dial telephone , Satellite TV , Mini refrigerator , Safe box , Private Bathrooms with hair dryers, slippers and bath amenities and of course Free wi-fi access internet. A charming roof garden/bar provides the perfect setting for enjoying a spectacular view of the Acropolis! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Attalos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Attalos Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing