We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooftop bar a must!”
Review of Attalos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Attalos Hotel
Ranked #29 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This hotel was very convenient to the Monastraki metro station on the airport line. A very easy walk down the street and also near the market square and a street with several good restaurants. Our room was on the third floor and the lift is a bit ancient so we used the stairs, Room size was good and the air conditioning was also good. We were at the front of the hotel and had a balcony with a great view of the Acropolis. The roof top bar was staffed by a very pleasant barman with a good range of well priced drinks and the most fantastic view of the Acropolis as a backdrop.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DemonJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, General Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Demon John
Thank you so much for choosing Attalos Hotel during your stay in Athens.
It is very nice to read that you total enjoyed your stay and our roof top bar. Akis (the barman) always try to offer a good service to all guests as all the staff.....
Your high score review mean a lot to us!
We hope to see you soon again!
Honest regards
Kostas Zisis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,915)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

667 - 673 of 1,915 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel when I was in Athens. The hotel is located a few meters away from Monastiraki metro station, very near to Plaka region of Athens. If you stay at this hotel, you can visit almost all historical places in Athens by metro. I advise you to book a room with a balcony to see Acropolis. The hotel has excellent staff and very helpful smiling receptionists. I highly recommend this hotel. Thanks.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gurkan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, General Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Gurkan T
Thank you so much for the wonderful review on Tripadvisor and for the high score!
It was very nice to meet you and we hope to welcome you again soon!
Best regards
Kostas Zisis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I picked this hotel because they promised me a view of the Acropolis. They have a rooftop bar and that night view is quite nice.

The room is on the small side, the furniture is nothing to write home about, but we had a small balcony that gave us more room to hang out. It overlooked the roofs of Athens - view is not that nice. The bathroom is tiny. (And I could hear the conversation from another room coming through the vents.)

The breakfast wasn't that great either. For 8 euros the breakfast buffet is not a bargain. Most of the items were OK, but they can do better than dry-ish pastries and watery juice.

The good points: It has a great staff and a very convenient location. The hotel is located a block and a half from Monastiriki Metro station. One could take the train to the airport. There is an ATM across the street. It's a short walk to bakeries, souvlaki places, restaurants, and the market. It's in the heart of the tourist area, and I felt pretty safe walking around. (It helps that there are cops on every other block.)

I was not overly wowed, but the many good points outweigh the bad. I could be persuaded to come back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank earthdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, General Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear earthdude
Thank you for choosing Attalos Hotel during your stay in Athens and for the review on Tripadvisor.
We are glad to read that you enjoyed our view from the roof top bar, our staff, the location and little disapointed that you didn't like much the breakfast.
It was very nice to meet you and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind refards
Kostas Zisis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is just located in the city centre. 100-150 meters away from the Monastraki metro station. There are several types of rooms. The room we stayed has a balcony and you can see the acropolis . It is a lot better to watch the Acropolis from the roof of the hotel. The rooms are clean. The reception is friendly. I would strongly recommend this hotel if you will stay a few days in Athens.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Ediz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, General Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Ediz S
Thank you so much ffor choosing Attalos hotel during your stay in Athens!
Thank you very much for the nice review and the recommendation!
It was a pleasure to weet you!
We will be very happy to welcome you again soon!
Best Regards
Kostas Zisis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This hotel offers excellent value for money for a hotel in central Athens, practically beside the metro to take you to/from airport, and beside the Monastreki square, Plaka and Psiri areas. While it may be in the 3 star category it is at the higher end. It offers way more touches than you would usually find in a 3 star hotel such as slippers and robes, personalised towels etc. The room was immaculately clean. The bathroom was newly modeled and quite modern with a nice size with shower. The beds were huge, comfortable, and we did get a double not two twins pushed together, we did not find the room size to be small but more than adequate for our needs for 3 nights, and with adequate storage. The air con worked well. The only small complaint would be the tiny TV perched way up high - too small for watching the football. But we didn't come to Athens to watch tv. And the wifi is excellent, best we had on our trip, so football could be watched online anyway. Considering it is so central on a busy street, there was little street noise and we were only on second floor. The walls inside were however a little thin, we slept well but others may be bothered by cleaners in corridors/other guests. The staff were all very friendly, service was great. We had breakfast in the hotel as our rate included it. It is well replenished right up to the end time of 10.30am, there was enough of a variety to have something different every day. It was adequate quality for the price paid. The only pity was that the breakfast room was indoors. The rooftop terrace and bar area are a fantastic addition, and with very reasonable prices. The location was great, even better than we had thought now that we have visited. It is walking distance everywhere tourists probably want to go to. Within 30 minutes walk to Acropolis. We walked the scenic, east route by going right at Monastraki square and following the long pedestrian avenues up, and came back down the more steep, direct way into Plaka. It is beside ermou shopping street which leads to Syntagma square. It is on the edge of Plaka. It is however also beside the Psiri district which is something different for night-time and more lively for the young at heart. So I am glad I stayed this side of the Acropolis, as while the other side I was considering is pretty, it is further away from all the other main places we wanted to visit.
We would definately stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeniMu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, General Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear DeniMu
Thank you very much for choosing Attalos hotel during your stay in Arthens and for the review on Tripadvisor.
We are very glad to read that you had a nice time and you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
The new TV is already here........haha (thank you for the mention).
It was a pleasure to meet you and we hope to welcome you again in the future!
Honest regards
Kostas Zisis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

the hotel was situated right at the very heart of Athens..walking distance to many popular sites, shopping areas and restaurants. it has the best view of the Acropolis. it was very clean and my husband and I were enchanted by the lovely smell of the hotel:)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JepKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, General Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Jepkat
Another 5-star review!!!!!!!!!
Thank you so much for choosing Atttalos hotel during your stay in Athens and for the high score review on Tripadvisor!
It was a pleasure to meet you and we hope to see you soon again!
Honest regards
Kostas Zisis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel was chosen for me by the travel agency that was organizing most of my trip. I was very pleased for the two short nights I stayed there. The location is phenomenal: right in Monastiraki Square, right down the street from the metro, and the Acropolis can be seen from the rooftop bar. I have no complaints!

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Cyndi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, General Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear TeacherTravelerNYC
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Attalos Hotel!
Thank you so much for the five star review on Tripadvisor!
We will be very happy to welcome you again in the future!
Honest regards
Kostas Zisis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#22 of 281 in Athens
1,384 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 281 in Athens
1,800 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Arion Athens Hotel
Arion Athens Hotel
#31 of 281 in Athens
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#10 of 281 in Athens
3,381 reviews
Centrotel Hotel
#21 of 281 in Athens
1,198 reviews
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#23 of 281 in Athens
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Attalos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Attalos Hotel

Address: 29 Athinas | Monastiraki, Athens 105 54, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Psirri / Gazi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Athens
#26 Family Hotel in Athens
#28 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £51 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Attalos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Management and Staff invite you to enjoy hospitable surroundings and all the pleasures of Athens within easy reach! The Attalos Hotel, situated in the historic district of Athens, has a history of its own. With its tradition of classic, comfortable accommodation, a friendly staff and atmosphere, the Attalos has created a name among a host of international visitors and repeat guests as "a home away from home in the heart of Athens". All of the hotel's 78 rooms are air-conditioned and fully equipped with central heating,Direct-dial telephone , Satellite TV , Mini refrigerator , Safe box , Private Bathrooms with hair dryers, slippers and bath amenities and of course Free wi-fi access internet. A charming roof garden/bar provides the perfect setting for enjoying a spectacular view of the Acropolis! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Attalos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Attalos Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing