We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One small problem: bedbugs”
Review of Attalos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Attalos Hotel
Ranked #31 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One small problem: bedbugs”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This would have been a great place to stay, were it not for one "small" problem: bedbugs. We stayed for two nights and after the first morning, we both noticed we had bites distinctly different from regular bug or mosquito bites. I've had prior experience with bedbugs, and recognized the bites right away; we also found spots of blood on the sheets, serving as further confirmation. When we reported the issue to the management, they immediately dismissed our claims ("It's impossible! You are clearly wrong!"). Then, they abruptly went on the offensive (i.e., accusing us of having brought the bedbugs with us... even though we hadn't seen a single bite before sleeping in their beds). The woman at the reception desk was extremely rude and haughty; at times, condescending. Granted, we were able to convince them to help us dry clean our clothing to ensure we didn't inherit any hitchhikers... but the hotel did so begrudgingly, without apology, and without any indication that they had any intention of taking measures to correct the issue. Disappointing and disruptive enough to have to deal with bedbugs while on vacation... even more disappointing was the way this particular hotel handled the issue.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, General Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Rachel S
First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing Attalos hotel during your stay in Athens.
At the first moment, Maria informed me the situation regarding the bites you had in the room. We apologize for her maybe strict behavior, but because never happened before, it seemed unlikely that there were bed bugs in the room.
We want to explain you that we really are very finicky with the cleaning and to avoid such statements, each month we do disinfection and each week we check well all beds and mattresses in the rooms.
During your stay and after your mention, we checked the room and found no insects.
We also offered to sent all of your clothes to be washed, in case there was something inside there, possibility of your stay in another hotel before us.
When you checked out, we call the disinfection company to check and sanitize the room and really nor they found something. For safety reasons we kept the room closed for one week and re checked it with no results.
The days you stayed in, Athens had very humid and many mosquitoes. We give the reason there for the bites.
We again apologize for all this happened and very disappointed that you didn’t enjoy your stay.
We hope someday to welcome you again in Attalos hotel.
Honest regards
Kostas Zisis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,843 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    617
    882
    267
    50
    27
See reviews for
296
846
181
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed here for one night in June on our way out of Greece and were pleasantly surprised. The room was really small but did the trick for what we were after, all really clean and tidy. The rooftop bar was really cool with a great view of the Acropolis. The staff on the front desk were really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katiems1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, General Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear katiems1
Thank you so much for the nice comments you did on your Review on Tripadvisor.
We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay in Attalos hotel, the beautiful view from the bar to the Acropolis and the really helpful and friendly staff!
It was very nice to meet you and we hope to welcome you again soon!
Best regards
Kostas Zisis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

So we booked this hotel after checking the ratings on trip advisor , hoping it would be a good deal!
BUT! The hotel was such a disappointment. As soon as we entered the hotel, we were "greeted" by this really snobbish manager. He was SO cold, that when my husband asked him if he could use his lighter, he pointed at a shop across the street and said "you can go and buy one".!
Anyway, when we entered the room, we were shocked! The room was SO small and the bathroom was barely enough spacious for one person to stand at a time.

The ONLY decent thing about this hotel? - The location!
We decided to cancel our booking for the next day! GOOD DECISION!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rathi_aarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, General Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear rathi_aarti
Thank you for the Review on Tripadvisor.
We are really suprised because First time all these years received that kind of Review.
We are very glad that the 99% of the guests for more that 40 years are very satisfied with our hospitality, specialy with our receptionists who work really hard to offer a memorable stay. In your own case, the receptionist welcomed you in the hotel and not the manager and the truth is that we don't have any lighter at the reception desk (big mistake).
We are terribly disappointed that your experience was not positive but we hope you enjoyed the rest of your holidays in our beautiful city.
Kind regards
Kostas Zisis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
México City
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed here one night after returning from a tour outside of Athens before heading out to the islands. The location is quite good, only 2 blocks away from Monasteraki Square which means it's also pretty close to the cute pedestrian streets in Plaka. Though the room was small, it had everything I needed, plus a flat screen tv and a bathtub (which I think must be pretty spectacular since it's the first one I've come across in Greece!!)! Another super perk is the rooftop bar with its view of the Parthenon.
I recently reviewed another hotel in Athens here on Trip Advisor (Nefeli Hotel) and I'd say that one is in a cuter, quainter neighborhood and over all better location, but Attalos has better rooms. There you have it...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexisM_xicoCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, General Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear AlexisM_xicoCity
Thank you so much for choosing Attalos hotel during your stay in Athens and for the Review on Tripadvisor.
We appreciate your comments regarding our rooms and we are glad to hear that you enjoed your stay. We look forward for your next visit!
Best regards
Kostas Zisis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Great, excelent location, good price, great customer service and a stunning wiev from the rooftop! Good breakfast and clean, basic rooms. We stayed here two periods this summer and first time we got a room on 6. floor. This was a little noisy from the roof bar and the next time we asked for a more silent room and got it! We will come back!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bestemoooooor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, General Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Bestemoooooor
GREAT!!!!!! another 5 star Review on Tripadvisor!
Thank you so much for choosing Attalos hotel during your stay in Athens!
We are very glad to read that you totally enjoyed your stay in our hotel!
We will be very happy to welcome you again soon!
Best regards
Kostas Zisis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We would definitely stay here again on another visit to Athens. The location is great, only a 2 minute walk to the Metro station and maybe 15 minute walk to the Plaka.

The hotel feels very safe and the staff were always helpful.
Breakfast was pretty good.

The room was large and clean. The bed was a little hard but it was okay. We were really impressed with the room and the balcony. You could see the Acropolis from the balcony.

The bathroom was big and very clean.

There was a mini- fridge that was useful as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, General Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Amanda454
Thank you so much for visisting Athens and choose for your stay the Attalos hotel!
We are very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and you would come back. It's nothing better to us to hear that! We will be very happy to welcome you again soon!
Honest regards
Kostas Zisis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 6 Contributor
615 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This hotel is located less than 100 meters from Monastiraki metro station, which takes you direct to Piraeus. Very friendly staff, who responded nicely to emailed questions beforehand. Great view from the rooftop on the Acropolis. Clean, if basic, rooms. Internet works fine.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seasondtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, General Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Seasondtraveller
Thank you so much for choosing Attalos hotel during your stay in Athens and for the review on Tripadvisor.
We will be very happy to welcome you again in the future!
Best regards
Kostas Zisis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#24 of 326 in Athens
1,325 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 326 in Athens
1,711 reviews
Centrotel Hotel
#25 of 326 in Athens
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#26 of 326 in Athens
605 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 326 in Athens
3,273 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#53 of 326 in Athens
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Attalos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Attalos Hotel

Property: Attalos Hotel
Address: 29 Athinas | Monastiraki, Athens 105 54, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Psirri / Gazi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Athens
#28 Best Value Hotel in Athens
#30 Family Hotel in Athens
#32 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Attalos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Management and Staff invite you to enjoy hospitable surroundings and all the pleasures of Athens within easy reach! The Attalos Hotel, situated in the historic district of Athens, has a history of its own. With its tradition of classic, comfortable accommodation, a friendly staff and atmosphere, the Attalos has created a name among a host of international visitors and repeat guests as "a home away from home in the heart of Athens". All of the hotel's 78 rooms are air-conditioned and fully equipped with central heating,Direct-dial telephone , Satellite TV , Mini refrigerator , Safe box , Private Bathrooms with hair dryers, slippers and bath amenities and of course Free wi-fi access internet. A charming roof garden/bar provides the perfect setting for enjoying a spectacular view of the Acropolis! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Attalos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Attalos Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing