We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location and great rooftop views!”
Review of Attalos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Attalos Hotel
Ranked #29 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Attalos hotel has to have the most convenient location in Athens. It's a three or four minute walk to Monastariki metro station where you can get a cheap and handy train to the airport or Piraeus port. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We had a room on the sixth floor which a had a balcony and a wonderful view of the acropolis. The only drawback from this was the noise of people leaving the rooftop bar. This would not have bothered us except we had an early ferry to catch. To be fai,r the bar closes at 12.00 so this would only be an issue on this floor for early risers.
The hotel is a quick walk into the Plaka area with all that has to offer. Athens is a wonderful city and this hotel is located in a central and safe area. The room was perfectly fine and very clear. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The sixth floor rooms have lovely views but can be noisy due to the bar. Ask for a quiet room if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatEire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Attalos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2014

Dear CatEire
Thank you for visisting Attalos hotel during your stay in Athens and for the Review on Tripadvisor.
We are glad to read that you enjoyed the hotel services and the location and we will definitely be happy to welcome you again in the future!
Best regards
Kostas Zisis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,933)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

660 - 666 of 1,933 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

The reception staff at the hotel were always friendly and welcoming. I had emailed that we would not be arriving from Piraeus until the evening and Ioanna very kindly replied with instructions and cost for the metro or taxi. On arrival we were given a card with the hotel name and address on in case we got lost and also a street map which was invaluable.
We had a room on the 4th floor facing the street with a balcony. It was too hot to go on the balcony though, the air conditioning was great. The bed was a king size and very comfortable. There was plenty of space to hang clothes, a desk and a television. It was all very nicely presented. The bathroom was clean but in need of refurbishment. The hairdrier was not very good but there was a full bath with shower over and curtain and toiletries were supplied. There was a safety deposit box.
The breakfast was very nice, giving a good choice of food and drinks and less hassle than going out and having to find somewhere. It was €8 each. On the roof there is a fabulous garden bar with views of the acropolis. We had a few drinks up there and it was only €6 for a large bottle of beer and a glass of wine! What other capital city with views like that would you get a drink at those prices? Certainly not London, Paris or Rome!
The hotel is on Athinas Street which is just up from Monastiraki. It’s ideally situated being about 15 minutes’ walk to the Acropolis and other sites and a 20 minute walk to the National Archaeological Museum. Syntagma Square is about 10 minutes down Ermou the main shopping street which is just round the corner. The metro is about 2 minutes away with direct connections to the airport or Piraeus. Athinas Street itself is a bit shabby with a lot of graffiti and a lot of little shops. We never felt it was in a dangerous area or anything though.
Overall we felt the hotel was excellent value and would stay there in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Selebian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Attalos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2014

Dear Selebian
Thank you for choosing Attalos hotel during your stay in Athens.
We appreciate the time you took to post a detailed Review on Tripadvisor.
We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and we will be very happy to welcome you again in the future!
Best regards
Kostas Zisis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Location very good. Rooms basic but clean. Breakfast adequate. Travelling with my daughter, we had 2 nights in Athens before we left for the islands and this hotel was very reasonable and very good location. We were in walking distance of the acropolis and Parthenon and could see it from the rooftop bar.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank superstarCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Attalos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2014

Dear superstarCA
Thank you for visisting Attalos hotel before you go to the islands. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and the location. We appreciate the time you took to post on Tripadvisor.
We will be happy to welcome you again in the future!
Kind regards
Kostas Zisis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

What "sold" me on Attalos was the divine rooftap terrace. Every evening after a day's sightseeing we could kick back with a cocktail as the sun went down over the ancient ruins. Even from our interior room on the sixth floor we could see the acropolis. The staff on the reception are warm, genuine and friendly. Just a couple of minutes walk to Monesteraki square where delicious (and well priced) greek food can be tasted.
Would certainly stay here again.
Book well in advance - the place was booked out on our return from the islands and we unfortunately had to stay elsewhere.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank EdanBCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, General Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear EdanBCN
Thank you so much for the wonderful Review on Tripadvisor!
We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Attalos Hotel Specially the views from the roof Top bar.
The staff thank you for your kind words! They work hard to offer the best services.
It was very nice to meet you and we hope to welcome you again soon!
Best regards
Kostas Zisis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stayed here during a work conference for 3 nights. While I absolutely loved Athens and would love to return again soon, the hotel was a bit, well, run down. The manager at the front desk was very nice and helpful, but it was extremely noisy with large tour groups and walls paper thin. The breakfast was also not nice so I opted to have breakfast elsewhere. I'm afraid for the above reasons I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Smellseys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, General Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Smellseys
Thank you for visiting Attalos hotel during yur stay in Athens.
We appreciate the time you took to Review on Tripadvisor. Your comments are valuable to us.
We apologize for the noisy group. It was an unfortunate moment.
We disssapointed thet you did not like the breakfast as we offer the best quality and many choises.
We would be very happy to welcome you ah=gain in our hotel!
Honest regards
Kostas Zisis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I must admit I was not terribly impressed when we drove up to the Attolos, but that all changed once we walked through the door. Everyone was so helpful and courteous the entire time. The room and bathroom, although small, were spotless and comfortable - a/c, a fridge, and a view of the Acropolis from the balcony. The roof top bar was fabulous, and we were close to everywhere we wanted to be. A little gem!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank inorganic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, General Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear inorganic
Thank you so much for choosing Attalos hotel during your stay in Athens and for the wonderful Review on Tripadvisor!
We are glad to read that you totally enjoyed your stay and we will be very happy to welcome you again soon!
All the best!
Kostas Zisis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This would have been a great place to stay, were it not for one "small" problem: bedbugs. We stayed for two nights and after the first morning, we both noticed we had bites distinctly different from regular bug or mosquito bites. I've had prior experience with bedbugs, and recognized the bites right away; we also found spots of blood on the sheets, serving as further confirmation. When we reported the issue to the management, they immediately dismissed our claims ("It's impossible! You are clearly wrong!"). Then, they abruptly went on the offensive (i.e., accusing us of having brought the bedbugs with us... even though we hadn't seen a single bite before sleeping in their beds). The woman at the reception desk was extremely rude and haughty; at times, condescending. Granted, we were able to convince them to help us dry clean our clothing to ensure we didn't inherit any hitchhikers... but the hotel did so begrudgingly, without apology, and without any indication that they had any intention of taking measures to correct the issue. Disappointing and disruptive enough to have to deal with bedbugs while on vacation... even more disappointing was the way this particular hotel handled the issue.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
9  Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, General Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Rachel S
First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing Attalos hotel during your stay in Athens.
At the first moment, Maria informed me the situation regarding the bites you had in the room. We apologize for her maybe strict behavior, but because never happened before, it seemed unlikely that there were bed bugs in the room.
We want to explain you that we really are very finicky with the cleaning and to avoid such statements, each month we do disinfection and each week we check well all beds and mattresses in the rooms.
During your stay and after your mention, we checked the room and found no insects.
We also offered to sent all of your clothes to be washed, in case there was something inside there, possibility of your stay in another hotel before us.
When you checked out, we call the disinfection company to check and sanitize the room and really nor they found something. For safety reasons we kept the room closed for one week and re checked it with no results.
The days you stayed in, Athens had very humid and many mosquitoes. We give the reason there for the bites.
We again apologize for all this happened and very disappointed that you didn’t enjoy your stay.
We hope someday to welcome you again in Attalos hotel.
Honest regards
Kostas Zisis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#23 of 282 in Athens
1,405 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Arion Athens Hotel
Arion Athens Hotel
#31 of 282 in Athens
675 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#32 of 282 in Athens
1,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,419 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#49 of 282 in Athens
609 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis View Hotel
Acropolis View Hotel
#41 of 282 in Athens
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Attalos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Attalos Hotel

Address: 29 Athinas | Monastiraki, Athens 105 54, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Psirri / Gazi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Athens
#26 Family Hotel in Athens
#28 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £49 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Attalos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Management and Staff invite you to enjoy hospitable surroundings and all the pleasures of Athens within easy reach! The Attalos Hotel, situated in the historic district of Athens, has a history of its own. With its tradition of classic, comfortable accommodation, a friendly staff and atmosphere, the Attalos has created a name among a host of international visitors and repeat guests as "a home away from home in the heart of Athens". All of the hotel's 78 rooms are air-conditioned and fully equipped with central heating,Direct-dial telephone , Satellite TV , Mini refrigerator , Safe box , Private Bathrooms with hair dryers, slippers and bath amenities and of course Free wi-fi access internet. A charming roof garden/bar provides the perfect setting for enjoying a spectacular view of the Acropolis! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Splitty, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Attalos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Attalos Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing