We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Attalos Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$674
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$542
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
New Hotel(Athens)
US$428
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$380
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$235
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$281
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Centrotel Hotel(Athens)(Great Value!)
US$236
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Herodion Hotel(Athens)
US$275
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$257
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$209
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Plaka Hotel(Athens)
US$236
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$208
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,003)
Filter reviews
2,003 results
Traveller rating
671
960
288
55
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
671
960
288
55
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop bargreat locationmonastiraki squareathinas streetmetro stationflea marketbalcony roomcentral marketwithin walking distancegreat view of the acropolisrooms are basicbudget hotelstreet noiseroof gardenwalked everywheretwo blocksancient agora
Filter
Updating list...
1,278 - 1,283 of 2,003 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2010

The Attalos is in a perfect location for tourists, as long as you don't mind staying in a hotel that is stuck in the 1970's! Everything was clean and worked properly, but everything except the internet access was out-of-date, which was just fine with me.

The location is perfect ... just a block and a half from the Monastraki metro station that connects with the airport, and two blocks from Monastraki Square. The charming streets of the Plaka neighborhood are very close by, as is the Acropolis, the ancient Agora and a few other archeological sites. There's not much right near the hotel, but great restaurants, shopping and history are just 2-3 blocks away.

The rooftop bar has a wonderful view of the Acropolis and is particularly perfect at night. There is a common room with a big-screen TV and three computers with free internet access.

The breakfast was fine. No hot food, but there were hard-boiled eggs, lunchmeat, cheese, Greek yogurt, canned fruit and an assortment of breads and pastries.

The front desk was very helpful in answering multiple questions and workers went out of their way to help me find the location of and directrions to a restaurant where I was supposed to meet a group of people.

The room was clean and adequate, with furnishings and fixtures that were functional, but about 30 years out of date. The hair dryer didn't have much power and the TV was old, but the A/C unit worked great. The elevators are very small and old-fashioned, but come pretty quickly when the buttons were pushed.

All in all the Attalos is a great deal if you don't require anything fancy.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2010

This isnt a romantic, overly trendy, modern/hip or boutique hotel. Its a great value, clean + large room family run place that is in a great location for a short trip and has an amazing roof terrace that puts it above other hotels in the area. Its also got to be at the to for value in its price range (id say anything under 120 euroes). It will appeal to a certain market i guess. Its purely a hotel for its location and terrace and not the rooms. R

Location: right near flea market (monastiraki), Plaka - old villa white washing building suburb that sits under the Parthenon and a shopping street - all of the above which are pedestrian only so it makes you feel like your not in the city - plus the Parthenon park nearby with museum. Plaka has cafes, shops and bazar type laneways and while mainly tourist focused still has some charm and some decent cafes that even locals might come to check out. The main shopping strip has your usual suspects eg Zara. And the flea market sells fresh fruit and pastries for breakfast if you want to eat out of hotel which i always like doing just as a way to explore the area and not eat the same thing everyday.

Rooms:big, clean and comfortable. not luxurious or romantic but the terrace makes up for that.

Terrace: the roof top terrace means that when you do finally come back to the hotel its usually only to sleep, shower or refresh quickly and head out again. We would come up and chill out every night and the Parthenon would light up - you basically have an uninterrupted view of it.

Location travel wise: 2 blocks from main station, which can take you strait to port to go to islands, airport express train or the city lines to go wherever.

This was perfect for a quick stopover trip ( 2 days) and we actually went to the parthenon this time around in athens as we were so close. Its handy as you can just walk everywhere and we would only catch the train to head to airport.

Staff: they heard it was my bday so one night when we were drinking on the terrace they brought out a icecream sunday and sung me happy bday. The concierge was also a character and was very helpfull.


We paid around 70 euros.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johhannnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2010

so close to the pulse of central athens, 3 minutes walk to monastiraki central metro /train station.old part of athens,best tavernas,flee markets,walk to acropolis,thision,sintagma square,museum,the lot.
the hotels sqeeky clean. the roofgarden offers a cocktailbar in garden surounds and arguably, of the best views of the acropolis and of ahtens.sakis in reception is acceptionally kind,helpful.sweet.as well as all the other staff.buffet breakfast is plentiful.
airconditioned rooms and free internet room on 2nd level.dont skip this one...

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theduck88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2010

My sister and I love our trip to Athens and the Attalos hotel. The hotel is very clean, staff is very friendly and helpful, we love Maria from reception and the location is very good.
Two blocks from Monastiraki square, Ermou, Flea Market, the subway, we could walk to Akropolis, to the Ancient Agora, take the metro to Akropolis museum, to National Archeological museum. The Athinas street is not a beautiful street, with many hardwares stores, but is a not dangerous place even at night when we return from dinner. The first day we stay in a room at 6th floor, near the stairs to the roof garden and this room is noisy, but we talk with Maria and she changed our room to number 411, and is very good, with a balcony, very quiet and a very good bathroom with a bathtub.
The breakfast is not included, but worth the price, the yougurt with honey is fantastic , the bread is fresh and tasty.
We recomend the Attalos hotel and if we return to Athens we stay there again.
Cida e Cecilia.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2010

a very nice hotel. very narrow lobby though, but that is fine. the free PC is great, as is cable TV and the view of the Acropolis. The free peanuts and little bottle of alcohol was a nice surprise, as is the lollies on the reception desk. there is the option of booking with breakfast included too, which i did. it was a good, hearty breakfast that gets you through the day. I am surprised that it's only a 2-star hotel. I've stayed in 3 and 4-star hotels before, but i would say this would be up there with them. The elevator is small, but i've stayed in many Greek hotels and the elevators are all very small especially when you factor in luggage, but no biggie. also, the bathroom had no sewage smell which is good as i experienced a few city athens hotels that did have the sewage smell. Excellent stay!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PosyRama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews