We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and views from rooms and rooftop”
Review of Attalos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Attalos Hotel
Ranked #34 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location and views from rooms and rooftop”
Reviewed 17 June 2010

Stayed here with family plus significant others. Rooms like all European hotels in this class were small but very clean. Beds fine. Location fantastic - Metro nearby and walk to all of the Athens attractions with nice view of Acropolis from room balconies. Staff extremely helpful with directions and recommendations. Central market - very interesting a few blocks away. Many restaurants. Some street noise in balcony rooms but views worth it.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biodiversity-travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,809 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    600
    871
    261
    50
    27
See reviews for
286
834
178
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
MMMGirkin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2010

Although the street is a little seedy, the location is great. Easy access from the metro. Close to the sights, markets and lots of good and cheap restaurants. (I was surprised how cheap the food was in Athens.)
You stay here for the rooftop bar, the view of the acropolis is fantastic.
Very affordable.
The rooms are pretty shabby, but that was expected for the price. Athens parties all night long so it was pretty loud in the room as well.

Good for a quick budget stop over in Athens.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMMGirkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2010

I went in expecting this to be a moderate hotel, not a 5 star and my expectations were met. The staff was very helpful and the rooms were nice. I stayed on the 4th floor the first time I was there and then after returning from the islands stayed on the 1st floor for two nights before leaving Greece. The rooms/bathrooms were clean and the sheets and pillows were actually comfortable (something I didn't find in a few 4 and 5 star hotels I stayed at on the islands). The hotel has a great view from the rooftop of the Acropolis and has everything you need within walking distance. It is right near Monastaraki so you just take the metro from the airport (6 Euros each or 2 for 10Euros). The metro can get you anywhere you want to be basically so I highly recommend it. The hotel is also very close to the flea markets/small shops and two stops from the Acropolis on the metro. It is mentioned in many books and reviews and I can see why, it is a nice find and a great price (87 Euros a night when we stayed).

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rusmisel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
141 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2010

We enjoyed our 2 stays at Attalos Hotel, before and after our island hopping. Our first 2 nights were spent on the 5th floor with a good view of the Acropolis. We had asked for a non smoking room but didn't get it, however the location of the room made up for that. Our last night, post the island hopping was on the first floor with a partial view of the Acropolis and was of a lower standad than the first in terms of decor plus was just 2 twin beds pushed together. We didn't mind as it was only 1 night and was still very clean and there was little street noise even though only 1 floor up.

This hotel was expensive for the standard it was compared to the other cities we stayed in on this trip - Milan and Rome - however was a good price compared to other Athens hotels.

Two things make this hotel a great place to stay: The staff and the rooftop bar. All staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the view of the Acropolis from the rooftop bar is sensational...a long cool drink at the end of a long hot day viewing the parthenon as the sun goes down is just wonderful. Drinks were reasonably priced too. Added to this, the hotel is very close to Monastiraki metro station for easy, cheap access to the airport or port with luggage.

The only real negatives are the area it is in - surrounded by mostly hardware store - but is a short easy walk to restaurants and cafes so not a major problem to us. We felt very safe walking around at night. Secondly, the cost for the standard of room was high however as I stated, Athens seemed to be a more expensive city to stay in.

Overall we were very happy with our choice. I would certainly consider staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwidreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2010

Small hotel, very clean, and just a few minutes walk to the Acropolis. Not modern, but basic. Thre is an elevator, which is a plus. We were pretty much out all day, but it was more than suitable for sleeping and would recommend this hotel. The staff is very accomodating. Ask for a balcony room when you book and on a floor that is higher up. We loved this area of Athens, also. Close to the market - great place to eat lunch - very inexpensive and one sees things in the meat market one has never seen before.
Walking distance to the flea market, which we loved and sauntered down into it every day we were there. We found good deals there and great little places to eat.
The roof garden is wonderful; with great views of the City and the Acropolis - and at night it is breathtaking as it is lit up. A bustling area during the day, we loved it very much!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
220 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 340 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2010

The Attalos is in a perfect location for tourists, as long as you don't mind staying in a hotel that is stuck in the 1970's! Everything was clean and worked properly, but everything except the internet access was out-of-date, which was just fine with me.

The location is perfect ... just a block and a half from the Monastraki metro station that connects with the airport, and two blocks from Monastraki Square. The charming streets of the Plaka neighborhood are very close by, as is the Acropolis, the ancient Agora and a few other archeological sites. There's not much right near the hotel, but great restaurants, shopping and history are just 2-3 blocks away.

The rooftop bar has a wonderful view of the Acropolis and is particularly perfect at night. There is a common room with a big-screen TV and three computers with free internet access.

The breakfast was fine. No hot food, but there were hard-boiled eggs, lunchmeat, cheese, Greek yogurt, canned fruit and an assortment of breads and pastries.

The front desk was very helpful in answering multiple questions and workers went out of their way to help me find the location of and directrions to a restaurant where I was supposed to meet a group of people.

The room was clean and adequate, with furnishings and fixtures that were functional, but about 30 years out of date. The hair dryer didn't have much power and the TV was old, but the A/C unit worked great. The elevators are very small and old-fashioned, but come pretty quickly when the buttons were pushed.

All in all the Attalos is a great deal if you don't require anything fancy.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kleetampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2010

This isnt a romantic, overly trendy, modern/hip or boutique hotel. Its a great value, clean + large room family run place that is in a great location for a short trip and has an amazing roof terrace that puts it above other hotels in the area. Its also got to be at the to for value in its price range (id say anything under 120 euroes). It will appeal to a certain market i guess. Its purely a hotel for its location and terrace and not the rooms. R

Location: right near flea market (monastiraki), Plaka - old villa white washing building suburb that sits under the Parthenon and a shopping street - all of the above which are pedestrian only so it makes you feel like your not in the city - plus the Parthenon park nearby with museum. Plaka has cafes, shops and bazar type laneways and while mainly tourist focused still has some charm and some decent cafes that even locals might come to check out. The main shopping strip has your usual suspects eg Zara. And the flea market sells fresh fruit and pastries for breakfast if you want to eat out of hotel which i always like doing just as a way to explore the area and not eat the same thing everyday.

Rooms:big, clean and comfortable. not luxurious or romantic but the terrace makes up for that.

Terrace: the roof top terrace means that when you do finally come back to the hotel its usually only to sleep, shower or refresh quickly and head out again. We would come up and chill out every night and the Parthenon would light up - you basically have an uninterrupted view of it.

Location travel wise: 2 blocks from main station, which can take you strait to port to go to islands, airport express train or the city lines to go wherever.

This was perfect for a quick stopover trip ( 2 days) and we actually went to the parthenon this time around in athens as we were so close. Its handy as you can just walk everywhere and we would only catch the train to head to airport.

Staff: they heard it was my bday so one night when we were drinking on the terrace they brought out a icecream sunday and sung me happy bday. The concierge was also a character and was very helpfull.


We paid around 70 euros.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#23 of 326 in Athens
1,307 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 326 in Athens
1,680 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#56 of 326 in Athens
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrotel Hotel
#25 of 326 in Athens
1,166 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 326 in Athens
3,239 reviews
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#26 of 326 in Athens
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Attalos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Attalos Hotel

Property: Attalos Hotel
Address: 29 Athinas | Monastiraki, Athens 105 54, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Psirri / Gazi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Athens
#30 Family Hotel in Athens
#31 Best Value Hotel in Athens
#32 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Attalos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Management and Staff invite you to enjoy hospitable surroundings and all the pleasures of Athens within easy reach! The Attalos Hotel, situated in the historic district of Athens, has a history of its own. With its tradition of classic, comfortable accommodation, a friendly staff and atmosphere, the Attalos has created a name among a host of international visitors and repeat guests as "a home away from home in the heart of Athens". All of the hotel's 78 rooms are air-conditioned and fully equipped with central heating,Direct-dial telephone , Satellite TV , Mini refrigerator , Safe box , Private Bathrooms with hair dryers, slippers and bath amenities and of course Free wi-fi access internet. A charming roof garden/bar provides the perfect setting for enjoying a spectacular view of the Acropolis! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Attalos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Attalos Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing