We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location for Sightseeing; Great Rooftop Bar”
Review of Attalos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Attalos Hotel
Ranked #29 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2010

By far, the best "feature" of the Attalos Hotel is location, location, location. It is just 2-3 blocks from Monastiraki Square (where the Metro is, among other things) and a couple of blocks from Syntagma Square. The Acropolis and Roman Forum were just a short 15 minute walk away also.

The rooftop bar is great; you get a very good view of the Acropolis from there. The cocktails, while not especially good, is a pretty good price (5 euros, if I remember correctly).

Some reviews said that their rooms were noisy, so we requested a room on the higher floors. We were on the 5th floor and we heard no street noise at all. (No view either... but it wasn't that big of an issue especially since we could just walk up to the roof for views.) Their rooms are pretty tiny, but fairly clean. Definitely adequate for our purposes. (We figured we wouldn't be in our rooms except to sleep.)

There is a restaurant in the hotel, but we didn't eat there because there are so many restaurants in walking distance. They also offer free internet... the computers are extremely slow, but it's definitely a plus that it is even offered.

If you're looking for a budget friendly, no frills hotel that is in a great location for sight seeing, definitely consider staying here!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katiacacia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,941)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,224 - 1,230 of 1,941 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2010

We stayed in Athens for one night before going to the airport the next day. The location of the hotel is great: within walking-distance to all major sights, close to the metrostation to/from Piraeus and airport and a Great view of the acropolis from the room-balconys and the roof terrace. The bar on the roof has good prices too.
The rooms are still in their original state (furniture and bathroom date from the 70s I think) and although we asked for a non-smoking room I'm not so sure it was one. Safe and Fridge didn't work in our room.
The guy at the reception didn't know anything about the infos in the info-brochure in the rooms (we asked about a passage about the metro to the airport being shut down for a few months) and when we asked if there was a strike on that line he said that he thought it was only in the morning and didn't bother trying to find out. Turns out the strike was in the afternoon as well, so we had to take a bus instead.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nissysd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2010

Had a great stay in this hotel. Rooms are recently remodeled and clean with idividual balconies. Bedding was excellent and very clean with good bathrooms. The location is walking distance to everything and the roof top bar has the most amazing views. Great value for the price. Breakfast was not included.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwoGuysCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

If you are island hopping this is a good place for those on limited Athens time. An easy walk into Plaka for dinner and 2 blocks from the Monastiraki Metro for the green line to Piraeus.

The area I don't feel is seedy, what's seedy about DIY shops? It's a functional area for local people. In fact at the back of the hotel there are some amazing leather workers, beautiful bags and shoes.

The rooms are reached by a wee lift (2 people with luggage), the rooms have what you need: Bathroom (with mixer shower over the bath, toilet, & sink),beds which were firm with crisp linens. We had an acropolis view, well a partial one from our balcony which was accessed by patio doors. There wasa tv and a complimentary grappe style drink with nuts - very nice touch and was a nice treat after our flight.

We left very early so did not try the breakfast. Service at the desk was efficient and friendly. We had no complaints and theprice was very good for high season Athens less than €100. Recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PamSco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

Good location within easy reach of sites and city attactions. Hotel was clean and our room comfortable with a good, although small bathroom. Plenty of hot water.Continental Buffet breakfast was good with plenty of food and drink.
and the overall service excellent with plenty of helpful advice on hand from friendly staff.
The rooftop terrace gave a wonderful view to the Accopolis and surrounding area.
We would not hesitate to stay here again. Good value for money.
Barbara and Jim Penzance, England

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2icyclops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2010

Just got back from a couple week trip to Greece. Athens was our central location between our side trips to the country. We stayed here multiple times. Room are somewhat small, but nice. Very solid A/C. If you're bring a laptop for Wifi ask for a lower floor and it's good. Great location. 5 minute or less walk from Monastiraki square and all sorts of food and shopping.

Now, the best part about the place is the rooftop bar. Hands down. Looks right up at the Parthenon. Good prices and nice bartenders. Even if you don't stay here you should still find the place at night and go up to have a drink.

The rest of the staff was nice as well. For the price comparitively to what's around it unless you're looking to spend a lot of money you should definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrasho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2010

The Hotel Attalos is a fabulous little gem in central Athens, has everything you could possibly need and right on the doorstep of all the sights, rooms all have a view of the Parthenon and the roof top bar is fabulous.

Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank simplysixties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#22 of 282 in Athens
1,409 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Arion Athens Hotel
Arion Athens Hotel
#30 of 282 in Athens
678 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#31 of 282 in Athens
1,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,437 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#49 of 282 in Athens
609 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis View Hotel
Acropolis View Hotel
#45 of 282 in Athens
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Attalos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Attalos Hotel

Address: 29 Athinas | Monastiraki, Athens 105 54, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Psirri / Gazi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Athens
#26 Family Hotel in Athens
#28 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £47 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Attalos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Management and Staff invite you to enjoy hospitable surroundings and all the pleasures of Athens within easy reach! The Attalos Hotel, situated in the historic district of Athens, has a history of its own. With its tradition of classic, comfortable accommodation, a friendly staff and atmosphere, the Attalos has created a name among a host of international visitors and repeat guests as "a home away from home in the heart of Athens". All of the hotel's 78 rooms are air-conditioned and fully equipped with central heating,Direct-dial telephone , Satellite TV , Mini refrigerator , Safe box , Private Bathrooms with hair dryers, slippers and bath amenities and of course Free wi-fi access internet. A charming roof garden/bar provides the perfect setting for enjoying a spectacular view of the Acropolis! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Attalos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Attalos Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing