We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the price”
Review of Dryades Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dryades Hotel
Ranked #94 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great for the price”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Rooms basic but comfortable, breakfast lovely, air conditioning worked well and an interesting neighbourhood within easy walking distance of the centre. Staff were pleasant and there are some good restaurants only five minutes away. We slept well and would recommend it.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cullen2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    74
    14
    2
    4
See reviews for
40
54
13
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We just stayed at this hotel for 1 night as we were passing through Athens on our way to Crete. Taxis from the airport run at a flat rate of 35 Euros to the center of the city. Easy enough to find, and we arrived to a nice welcome. The staff were so nice and helpful. Just around the corner of the hotel there is a bakery where you can get all sorts of sweets like donuts or walnut cakes.

We liked how quiet it was, situated in a residential neighborhood full of vibrant cafes, we wandered about 10 minutes away (after the front desk gave us a map and kindly showed us where to go) and found many restaurants to choose from, we had the most delicious meal I've had all year at the Taverna Pozania- I'm a Chef & picky and I literally felt my head spinning at the deliciousness of it all.

The rooftop has nice views of the city, peaceful and a good place to enjoy a coffee. The room was clean and the internet worked well in the room.

The only thing we would change was the double beds, but maybe that was our mistake as we could have possibly asked for 1 big bed but it was only one night so we didn't mind too much. Fresh cold water jug in the refrigerator of the room was a nice welcome.

Also our shower handle was broken which made washing ourselves tricky but we only noticed it late at night so we didn't want to bother the staff with it at that hour. Overall we loved this hotel, the price was right and when we return to Athens we will be staying here. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lovelyivealis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This hotel is a nice hotel with nice rooms situated on the edge of the busy center of Athens. The area around the hotel has a lot of taverns, bars and restaurants. The neighborhood is vibrant and busy until late. The personnel are very nice and helpful, nice clean rooms and some rooms have a front garden where you can chill outside. It is good affordable so do not expect a 5 star hotel. For the more alternative experience of Athens, I would recommend it.

Room Tip: The hotel consists of two parts : Orion and Dryades. Ask for a Dryades room with a garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fleaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lille, France
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Very nice room (modern, clean and comfortable), very nice staff (very welcoming and very accomodating). Hearty breakfast. it's not in the best area of Athens but it's quiet, the metro is not so far and you can find easily a place to eat.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emeline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We were incredibly happy that we booked at Dryades. Although it isn't in the main tourist area around the Acropolis, it is still quite central and handy for exploring the city (the Acropolis/Plaka area is a 25 minute walk or 10 minute cab ride). The hotel itself is clean and comfortable. It is basic in the way that budget hotels are basic, but it is nice. The staff is incredibly friendly and kind -- they helped us to plan our days in the city. The Excharia neighbourhood is "artsy" and bohemian -- close to the hotel there is a strip of restaurants that are just lovely and very reasonably priced. Breakfast was served on the rooftop terrace that has a view over the city and of the Acropolis. Breakfast consisted of juice, coffee, bread, and fruit.

I was so happy to see this different side of Athens away from the tourists. I would definitely stay in this hotel (and in this neighbourhood) again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We've chosen this hotel for its good reviews, its position with a wonderful sigh on the acropolis and for its good rates. The reception is very kind and nice. The neighborhood is animated and interesting. You can get all city's conrners in few time. wonderful and pleasant stay!

Room Tip: athens room, acropolis view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MICHELE L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Brilliant little hotel. Quite quirky layout but everything we needed for a stopover in Athens to drop off and collect people from the airport. Restaurants 3 to 5 minutes walk away brilliant. Vibrant area, staff were absolutely most helpful. Incredible value for money.

Room Tip: We stayed in the annex room with a terrace which was great because we had a dog with us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Communityanchor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Exarchia
Orion Hotel
Orion Hotel
#134 of 326 in Athens
60 reviews
Victory Inn
#43 of 326 in Athens
297 reviews
Omonia
Economy Hotel
Economy Hotel
#76 of 326 in Athens
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Katerina Hotel
#35 of 326 in Athens
457 reviews
Exarchia
Best Western Museum Hotel
Best Western Museum Hotel
#60 of 326 in Athens
877 reviews
Centrotel Hotel
#25 of 326 in Athens
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dryades Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dryades Hotel

Property: Dryades Hotel
Address: 105 Emmanuel Benaki & Dryadon 4 | Lofos Strefi Park, Exarchia, Athens 11473, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Exarchia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Dryades Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Strefi Hill in the center of Athens, this particular location offers a tranquil and verdant setting that boasts natural light and endless views of the city. All this in an authentic Athenian neighborhood that is very convenient since it is close to public transport, historical monuments, shopping and entertainment hubs.With a 24 hour reception and WiFi Internet available in all areas, breakfast room with amazing view and fully-equipped shared kitchens.The ideal choice for all those in search of a familial atmosphere, cleanliness and quality at exceptionally low prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Dryades Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing