We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and comfortable”
Review of Dryades Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dryades Hotel
Ranked #92 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable”
Reviewed 20 September 2010

Clean, quiet, and comfortable rooms.
The toilet bowl was inside the shower curtain, which caused it to get
wet while showering.

The hotel staff was friendly, but didn't advise us properly on all our options for getting
to the airport. Fortunately we talked to someone else on the staff later in the day, who
told us about a much cheaper way to get to the airport.

You have to go uphill for several blocks to get to the hotel. If you have heavy luggage,
taxi may be a better way to get there.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cleolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    74
    14
    2
    4
See reviews for
40
53
13
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2010

We moved here from another hotel in Athens which was horrible and found this one to be great! We had an amazing view of the Acropolis and Athens from our room and balcony. Room was very clean and comfortable. No breakfast provided but our room did have a kettle and tea and coffee which we appreciated being able to use. It is a bit further out of the centre of Athens but it is still walking distance, or there is a train station nearby too. And yes it is at the top of a hill so your legs will get a workout but we thought it was definitely worth it!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeni4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2010

Spent a few of nights there and really enjoyed it. Yes, it's on a hill, but if you get rooms on the side that overlooks the city you'll also get a cool view of the Acropolis from your balcony. We strolled down to the plaza to watch a World Cup game with food and beverages from a place across the street. Same plaza had a concert one night. Walked further to get to the Metro and then Athens was completely accessible. (But watch for transit strikes, yikes.) Walked down the stairs to street level one Saturday morning and found the weekly fruit market, both fun and tasty. Walked just a hundred feet up Strefi Hill Saturday night and found a drum circle and dancing going on in the fabulous little amphitheater. Go back during the day, stand right on the only round pavestone, and say something...

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank quash8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INDIA
Level Contributor
305 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2009

The hotel is located in Exarhia on a uphill area; adjacent to the Strefi Hill. The area seems to be mainly populated by the student community, thanks to the proximity to the Athens Tech University I think. Its a 15-20min (uphill) brisk walk from the Omonia Sq; which is also the closest Metro Station. The 'main' road leading upto the Anexarthissias st; where Dryades is located is narrow with cars parked on both sides. Most of the buildings on this street are crumbling edifices (somehow reminded me of the post cold war projects in ex-USSR countries!). The walls are majorly covered with graffiti and overall does not give one a secure & safe feel esp. after dusk.

Again a find through the TripAdvisor, the choice was based mostly on the pricing. We paid around 58Euros a nite and where there for two nights only. The room is bright and spacious with a small balcony outside. The bathroom again is basic but is clean and maintained well. There is no room-service and there is a kitchen open to the guests to use. The hotel did give us an electric kettle; which we gladly used for morning tea/coffee.

The staff was quite friendly and helpful. Always with a smile and with helpful tips. Well, the staff would be the best part of the hotel; I guess. The other aspect I appreciate is the proximity to good value ;no frills Souvlaki joints which are spread out in the 500m radius. The food was great; but again one can see youngsters dressed in Goth; doping and drunk hanging around. Thankfully no one bothered us though. But even with such a crowd hanging about, the immediate areas around the Hotel are quiet and seemed to be relatively decent.

Overall one can skip this place and I am sure there are better alternatives to Dryades in the same area.

Stay here -
>If you are interested in only Souvlakis
>Need to work-out your calf muscles
>Of course; are on a budget!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krishna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, UT
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2003

I was in Athens for two weeks and stayed at the Orion/Dryades during the time I was taking a Greek Language Class at the Hellenic Cultural Center. The hotel is clean and friendly. The rooms are small but adequate for most purposes. An added benefit for those staying more than a couple of nights is the kitchen available on the first floor.
It's nice to be able to prepare a salad or cook a quick meal instead of hunting for a resturant every morning and evening. The Owner/host is Kostas, a very friendly and helpful man who speaks very good English - in fact his entire family works there and are all functional in English and probably other languages as well. The beautiful people stay here (me excluded!). Many models use this hotel when in Athens for magazine photo shoots. At first it's a bit disarming to share the kitchen with a long-legged beauty from Spain! Every Saturday there's a wonderful produce market just at the foot of the hill that lasts all day - the market is fun and fruitful (no pun intended). Also the Hotel is right next to a large park if you desire a pleasant walk. I had a fantastic view of the acropolis from my room balcony. Request room #24 - it's the best! Oh yeah, it's also very inexpensive!!

Helpful?
24 Thank Taxithi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Victory Inn
#35 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Centrotel Hotel
#26 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Exarchia
Orion Hotel
Orion Hotel
#115 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Economy Hotel
Economy Hotel
#69 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Evripides Hotel
#58 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Marina Hotel Athens
#81 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dryades Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dryades Hotel

Property: Dryades Hotel
Address: 105 Emmanuel Benaki & Dryadon 4 | Lofos Strefi Park, Exarchia, Athens 11473, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Exarchia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Dryades Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Strefi Hill in the center of Athens, this particular location offers a tranquil and verdant setting that boasts natural light and endless views of the city. All this in an authentic Athenian neighborhood that is very convenient since it is close to public transport, historical monuments, shopping and entertainment hubs.With a 24 hour reception and WiFi Internet available in all areas, breakfast room with amazing view and fully-equipped shared kitchens.The ideal choice for all those in search of a familial atmosphere, cleanliness and quality at exceptionally low prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Dryades Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing