We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value”
Review of Marble House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marble House
Ranked #24 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Fresno, CA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This is a very simple and straight-forward accommodation. Just a fantastic value in a very expensive city.

I stayed twice. The first time I was on the fourth level (3rd floor European numbering). My room was tiny, but the balcony was huge. It was quiet and I felt very safe. There was a fridge in the room and a decent bath/shower. The bed was really hard, but there was a cushion in the closet that made it more comfortable.

The second time I stayed, I was recognized by Christos' mom and put in a room on the first floor behind reception. (I'm 66 and not as agile as I used to be.)

This was the strangest/cutest hotel room I've ever seen. The main bedroom was spacious and comfortable, the little bath/toilet room was tucked under the stairs and I can't imagine any adult showering in that space; there was a little space with a fridge and farm house sink; then a light well with table and chairs decorated like an outdoor cafe. I still don't know quite what to say about this.

In all, I would go back to this hotel enthusiastically. It's reasonably priced for the great location. You just need to know what you're getting when you go there. There are no drinking glasses in the bathroom and very few electrical outlets. The hand rail for the stairs is on the narrow side of the spiral staircase and makes it a bit frightening if you're older and not completely steady. Wifi was good.

If you walk to the corner as you leave the hotel, turn right and then turn right at the next intersection to find a general merchandise store on the right and a grocery store on the left. If you turn left at the end of the cul-de-sac and left again on Syngrou, there are two bakeries that will make you happy to be alive.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 2manydogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    247
    63
    23
    25
See reviews for
103
309
66
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wenatchee, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We had a wondeful stay at this quaint family owned hotel. 35 Euros/night for two restful nights, on a clean solid bed were one of the best bargains we've ever had in Athens. Yep, room was on the small size, but given the hotel's age, this was expected. It's location, at the end of a cul-du-sac, ensured some good relative quiet in an otherwise busy city. Christos, the owner, was very helpful in guiding us on what to see/do around the Acropolis. His hotel service experience with major chain hotels was clearly evident, and his English was spot on. Oh, having been in Athens over 20 years ago, we surprised on the much cleaner air. Anti-pollution measures for the city are certainly effective.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Windsurfer68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed in the hotel twice for several days in different rooms.
The metro station is 5-10 min walk away. In not much longer you are in Plaka or at the acropolis. So you can really say it lays central. But as it is in the side street of a side street it is quite quite. Finding the hotel on our own would have been a bit difficult, but pedestrians seeing us with our luggage gave us a hint. Following a small street with orange trees you find the hotel with a lot of plants at the end of the street.
The personal/oweners are very polite and helpful and made us a pleasent stay.
The two rooms we had were rather small but ok. The bathrooms we had were not as nice as the ones shown in the pictures at their website. So I assume that there is work in progress and it depends which room you get. One drawback is a missing curtain or cabin for the shower. So the whole bathroom gets flooded (a bit exaggerated ;-)).
The room itself was clean and the furniture in good condition. My girlfriend found some hair in the bed - a thing she cannot stand.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandsteinradler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed here for a couple of days. The hotel is well located in a lively neighbourhood where you can find lots of cafés and restaurants. The rooms are clean and some come with a balcony. The owner is very friendly and has a lot of information to share.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandera M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed at a triple room and I think double room is better. There is no balcony for our room. Anyway, the room is tidy and clean enough, just a little bit too small. Compared with the price and location, it is really worth it.

By the way, if you are running the marathon and looking for somewhere convenient and cheap, this place is good for you. The nearest metro Syngrou Fix is where you take the shuttle bus to the start.

Book online by sending them emails directly, it is cheaper than booking.com

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank china_108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Stayed here couple of days and immediately felt very welcome. Friendly and helpful owner with good suggestions for the best Athens experience. Rooms are not that big but they are nice and clean. Would recommend this to anyone who is looking for a good value for money deal.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank md-reiziger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Well located: 10 minutes' walk to Acropolis and calm as in residence district. The room is clean and with a charming bacony and the wi-fi signal and speed are perfect! The owner's information is quite helpful and replace all the guide in Athens!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sweetstian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Centrotel Hotel
#26 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Victory Inn
#35 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#34 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,184 reviews
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#21 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Hotel Tony
#45 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marble House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marble House

Property: Marble House
Address: 35 Zinni Anastassiou | Koukaki, Athens 117 41, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Athens
#20 Family Hotel in Athens
#23 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#47 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Marble House 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1) Free high speed internet access in all rooms and public areas2) Internet corner in reception/lobby area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Marble House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marble House Hotel Athens
Marble Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing