We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great spot”
Review of Marble House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marble House
Ranked #23 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Netherlands
1 review
“great spot”
Reviewed 12 August 2008

we stayed 3 days in this little hotel and we were very happy with the quiet spot, very near the Acropolis. The people there, Nancy and Susan, were friendly and spoke impeccably english. We returned at the end of our Greek Odyssey, in June 2008 and got a good service again. Good price too.

  • Liked — situation near the acropolis but in quiet neighbourhood
  • Disliked — if your room is on the 2 or 3 floor: staircase
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NikeNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    249
    63
    23
    25
See reviews for
104
311
68
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2008

After having read a favorable review of Marble House in Fodor's, I booked a room with AC for my three nights in Athens. When I arrived, I was given a tiny room without AC and a door that could have easily been opened with a credit card. I attempted to sleep, but it was unbearably warm. When I asked to be moved to a room with an AC, I was told that there was no room with AC available but was offered a room with a celing fan. When I walked into the room, it smelled of feces. At this point, I was so fed up that I asked for my money back. It was not until I called the tourist police that the hotel clerk offered to give me back half the money. This was not how I had envisioned the beginning of my vacation. STAY AWAY!!!

  • Liked — Absolutely nothinig!
  • Disliked — Room, service, cleanliness
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank jpdor11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roma
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2008

Very pleasant stay.Ten minutes walk from Acropolis.Rooms were clean and renovated. Very friendly stuff

  • Liked — Very clean rooms
  • Disliked — Lack of elevator
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank paroulis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2008

We stayed in Marble House Pension for 3 nights and found it clean and comfortable, especially considering it was the cheapest option we could find in Athens (even cheaper than the youth hostel).

The rooms were of a good size and there was a fridge to keep water and drinks chilled. Also, we got clean towels everyday and the staff were very helpful.

It is near all the main historical attractions and is a 15- 20 minute walk from the Plaka which is lovely for an evening out.

If you are travelling on a budget this place is perfect!!

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanaliGuernsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2008

Overall, we were very disappointed in the quality and the value. Our room was freezing cold (in March) and there was no heat in the rooms. The beds were uncomfortable and lumpy with huge sags in the middle. Hot water in the shower was spotty and one window didn't have a curtain. Not all rooms have a refrigerator, so be sure to ask to see the room when you check in -- despite the variation in amenities, the prices (within one price class) are the same. That said, the location is convenient -- 10 minute walk from the subway and within walking distance to the Acropolis and main tourist areas. But we enjoyed being OUTSIDE this hotel FAR more than we enjoyed our time in it.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The rooms themselves
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank wanderlust218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2007

Marble House is cheap but basic and in a fine location. It would've all been well and good had the bed and blankets not been infested!!! I got back to the US and went immediately the hospital where I found out that I'd contracted scabies after staying at Marble House for 3 nights. My entire body is covered in red sores from the microscopic mites. BEWARE.

  • Disliked — the bed bugs
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank klafhms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geneve
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2007

I was travelling in athens with a friend of mine, and we especially appreciated this place, as during our trip, we went to a lot of different hotels around greece, but this hotel was the only one which gave us a true experience of greek hospitality.
It was as well a nice occasion to meet young people and students from ollover the world and share very good time with them

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank banzaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Hotel Tony
#43 of 326 in Athens
571 reviews
Centrotel Hotel
#26 of 326 in Athens
1,166 reviews
Victory Inn
#30 of 326 in Athens
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#24 of 326 in Athens
601 reviews
Katerina Hotel
#36 of 326 in Athens
445 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#35 of 326 in Athens
1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marble House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marble House

Property: Marble House
Address: 35 Zinni Anastassiou | Koukaki, Athens 117 41, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Athens
#20 Family Hotel in Athens
#23 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#47 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Marble House 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1) Free high speed internet access in all rooms and public areas2) Internet corner in reception/lobby area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Marble House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marble House Hotel Athens
Marble Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing