We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value for the Price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Marble House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marble House
Ranked #23 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great Value for the Price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Location is as good as any in regards to the Acropolis, the Acropolis Museum and to the very accessible Metro for Athens. Rooms were clean and we stayed in basic accommodation for two with in-suite bathroom. The immediate neighborhood was nice but main road (Sygrou) was on the seedy side. Ownership nice, responsive, easy to get help from. Rooms and beds basic, clean and nice. Nothing to set it apart except its value and location. Would I go back again? Yes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on lower floors if you do not want to climb stars!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Al M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    242
    60
    23
    25
See reviews for
102
301
64
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Petersaurach, Germany
Level Contributor
125 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Location is wonderful--just 300 meters from the best pizza place and 400 meters to a metro/tram/bus station. The staff is amazingly helpful and knowledgeable. It's a family-run operation and they really care about their customers. Our room had comfortable beds, a small refrigerator and dresser, nightstand, closet, TV, and excellent WiFi/Internet connection. We felt perfectly safe in the neighborhood, which was nice and quiet. Definitely would recommend this hotel, although, next time I'd choose a room with a larger bath and first floor--this time I chose by the pretty blue paint.
Largest drawback was the tiny bathroom had no shower curtain, so showering required removing everything from the bathroom and wiping it all down afterwards. There was also no shelf or other place to put things in the bathroom--one or two above the toilet would be safe from the shower and make life more convenient.
A second drawback was lack of a lift, but it helped us wear off the gelatos we found all over Athens and the delicious chocolates from the three confectionery shops found between the hotel and the metro.

Room Tip: Orange room on third floor was bigger with larger bath than blue room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jjdmcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strasbourg, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed in this charming hotel in the begenning of April 2014 for 4 nights. The hotel is very well located, on a very quiet dead end. The antic spots are on a walked distance from the hotel, wich is very convenient, and so is the subway and a lot of restaurants and shops. The rooms are quiet wide (but the bathrooms are quiet small). Everything is very clean (indeed the cleaning is make everyday). The owner, Christos, is very friendly, and he is fluent in english and french. He helped with his advices and with car rental.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AZERTY67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at Marble House for two nights during the second week of November 2013. Initially, I was a bit afraid to take a metro from the airport to the hotel as that was our first time in Greece and the alphabets are confusing, but apparently it was not too difficult to find the location, as I have printed the metro map. I suggest you however to ask Christo, the owner to update you with the latest metro map, as there are some new stations which we cant find in our map. I was particularly impressed with Marble, as they have printed their own map, with complete metro map, the hotel location and the main attractions in Athens! The hotel is only 5 minutes from the metro Syngrou-Fix station, around 15 minutes walking to Plaka – Acropolis area, and around 30-40 minutes by metro to Port of Pireaus. There are some supermarkets, restaurant and shops near the Hotel. Everything is within walking distance. We stayed in double room with private bath on the 4th floor. The room is decent and with only 30 euros and free wifi, we have no complaint at all.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Junidani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, CA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

This is a very simple and straight-forward accommodation. Just a fantastic value in a very expensive city.

I stayed twice. The first time I was on the fourth level (3rd floor European numbering). My room was tiny, but the balcony was huge. It was quiet and I felt very safe. There was a fridge in the room and a decent bath/shower. The bed was really hard, but there was a cushion in the closet that made it more comfortable.

The second time I stayed, I was recognized by Christos' mom and put in a room on the first floor behind reception. (I'm 66 and not as agile as I used to be.)

This was the strangest/cutest hotel room I've ever seen. The main bedroom was spacious and comfortable, the little bath/toilet room was tucked under the stairs and I can't imagine any adult showering in that space; there was a little space with a fridge and farm house sink; then a light well with table and chairs decorated like an outdoor cafe. I still don't know quite what to say about this.

In all, I would go back to this hotel enthusiastically. It's reasonably priced for the great location. You just need to know what you're getting when you go there. There are no drinking glasses in the bathroom and very few electrical outlets. The hand rail for the stairs is on the narrow side of the spiral staircase and makes it a bit frightening if you're older and not completely steady. Wifi was good.

If you walk to the corner as you leave the hotel, turn right and then turn right at the next intersection to find a general merchandise store on the right and a grocery store on the left. If you turn left at the end of the cul-de-sac and left again on Syngrou, there are two bakeries that will make you happy to be alive.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 2manydogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wenatchee, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

We had a wondeful stay at this quaint family owned hotel. 35 Euros/night for two restful nights, on a clean solid bed were one of the best bargains we've ever had in Athens. Yep, room was on the small size, but given the hotel's age, this was expected. It's location, at the end of a cul-du-sac, ensured some good relative quiet in an otherwise busy city. Christos, the owner, was very helpful in guiding us on what to see/do around the Acropolis. His hotel service experience with major chain hotels was clearly evident, and his English was spot on. Oh, having been in Athens over 20 years ago, we surprised on the much cleaner air. Anti-pollution measures for the city are certainly effective.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Windsurfer68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed in the hotel twice for several days in different rooms.
The metro station is 5-10 min walk away. In not much longer you are in Plaka or at the acropolis. So you can really say it lays central. But as it is in the side street of a side street it is quite quite. Finding the hotel on our own would have been a bit difficult, but pedestrians seeing us with our luggage gave us a hint. Following a small street with orange trees you find the hotel with a lot of plants at the end of the street.
The personal/oweners are very polite and helpful and made us a pleasent stay.
The two rooms we had were rather small but ok. The bathrooms we had were not as nice as the ones shown in the pictures at their website. So I assume that there is work in progress and it depends which room you get. One drawback is a missing curtain or cabin for the shower. So the whole bathroom gets flooded (a bit exaggerated ;-)).
The room itself was clean and the furniture in good condition. My girlfriend found some hair in the bed - a thing she cannot stand.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandsteinradler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Centrotel Hotel
#26 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Victory Inn
#32 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#34 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,139 reviews
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#20 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Hotel Tony
#49 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marble House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marble House

Property: Marble House
Address: 35 Zinni Anastassiou | Koukaki, Athens 117 41, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Athens
#20 Family Hotel in Athens
#23 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#47 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Marble House 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1) Free high speed internet access in all rooms and public areas2) Internet corner in reception/lobby area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Marble House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marble House Hotel Athens
Marble Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing