We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marble House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marble House
Ranked #25 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Clapham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

This is my fourth time back to the Marble House as wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Athens. We use this hotel as base when visiting the City and the islands. The rooms are beautifully decorated with modern showers and are always immaculately clean. The staff - Nancy and Christos are so welcoming and kind - you couldn't ask for nicer hosts! The hotel is situated a short walk from the Plaka in a quiet street which is ideally located for the Metro. I can't wait to go back again.

Please ignore all negative reviews!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    242
    60
    23
    25
See reviews for
101
298
64
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

This is far and away the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. I am a seasoned traveler and am not at all picky. However, the rooms here were filthy, there were dead roaches in the shower, and the entire hotel was in need of an update. The horrible female manager in charge ended up screaming at me and my children because I would not leave a cash deposit for the days of our return trip to Athens following a cruise, even though she had our credit card on file. I would avoide this hotel at all costs.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarbleHouseAthens, Owner at Marble House, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Peter S,

We are very surprised from your review as non of the above complaints were brought up to our attention from your side during your stay.
We really apologize if your response was a matter of hotel update. The reason I'm surprised is that the entire hotel was renovated last winter. I can also ensure you that we are extremely sensitive when it comes to hygiene and cleanliness matters. If you had just mentioned to us we would have find a solution.
If your response was solely for the deposit requested, indeed, in order to make an alternative reservation we require a deposit either by credit card or cash payment, this is to guarantee your reservation, since our principle and concern as a hotel, is to make sure our guests will have a room reserved. We never make over bookings.

This was also mentioned in your confirmation document sent 2 months ago!

Definitely, noboby "screamed" or even argue with you.
Should you be unable to now your arrival date we always propose alternative ways of booking.

Kind regards,

Christos Nikoloulias
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed 3 nights before a sailing trip to the islands. Easy to get to Athens attractions from Syngrou Fix subway station. Hard for taxi to find since you have to look down a dead end street that intersects Zinni Anastaslou. Clean rooms, friendly staff and excellent value.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed at Marble House for a few nights on our arrival to Greece. We chose the hotel because it was in our price range and had read good reviews. We were not disappointed. The hotel is family run and Christos and his mother really care about providing the best service. We loved the location as it was within walking distance to all the attractions (especially Acropolis) but had a residential feel so we felt like we got a better feel for Athens outside of the typical tourist areas. For the cost it couldn't be any better and we stayed in one of the newly renovated rooms on the top floor which was nicely decorated and had everything we needed including a small fridge. We had our own spacious deck overlooking a quiet courtyard which was great to enjoy a glass of wine at the end of the day. When we return Athens I will definitely be staying here.

Room Tip: We liked the top floor and didn't mind the stairs. If you don't do stairs just request the 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed in May - Great spot end of a peaceful safe cul-de-sac. For the price it was perfect, very clean & safe. A very clean small room & ensuite , it was great to havea fridge & a fabulous balcony & weather was fine. Did not have breakfast . Only worry (although we were quite fit) were the 3 flights of spiral stairs to climb, which didn't get easier during our stay. It would have been nice to have a hand with our bags when we arrived & departed.

Room Tip: Book early ask for a balcony. Great café around the corner-huge cheap meals & excellent coffee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SlycatAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

This is a gem of a hotel in a part of Athens that is quiet and residential, yet close to many big attractions. It's a great place to stay if you want to be out of the most touristy areas, but still want to be able to get around easily. I felt that the area was very safe, even at night, and the metro station at Sygrou Fix is just a short walk away.

This is a family run hotel, but it is absolutely run in a professional and friendly manner. Christos did a great job giving us tips on restaurants and the best way to get to Piraeus port (easy!), and promptly fixed a problem with the air conditioner in our room.

The hotel itself is nice, the furniture is modern, and all of the spaces are clean. My husband and I opted for a private bathroom. It was small, but on par with other (more expensive) hotels in other parts of Greece. I had read some negative reviews about the sizes of the rooms before we booked, but I think they are unfounded. My husband and I are larger individuals and we were still comfortable in the room, could move around easily, and had plenty of space to stash our stuff. We also had a balcony that was nice for relaxing in the evening. Be advised that there is no elevator, so make sure you don't bring luggage that is too heavy to cart up the staircase.

Overall, we enjoyed our six night stay, thought it was a great value for the money, and would highly recommend Marble House to other travelers.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank f00tballgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Your 10 minutes walk from the acropolis.
Yeah the shower head is too powerful to hang up as it swings round and does the floor instead
Yes the staff aren't here 24/7 and do not massively go out of their way to help
We were on the second floor - room 11 and the room was very small but nicely furnished, clean and the sheets were very soft.
Tv and lights, roof fan and A/C for 5€ a night.
For a room that's €20 per person for a 2 bed room you can't really complain - your here because it's cheap and close to the city centre, saying that, a shower curtain would be an easy addition and fix the shower issue.

Be careful with the stairs it's manageable, but it does bend round and spiral so it's not risk free!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ColetteSquires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Centrotel Hotel
#21 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
Victory Inn
#26 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#9 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#35 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,747 reviews
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#19 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marble House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marble House

Property: Marble House
Address: 35 Zinni Anastassiou | Koukaki, Athens 117 41, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Athens
#20 Family Hotel in Athens
#23 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#47 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Marble House 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1) Free high speed internet access in all rooms and public areas2) Internet corner in reception/lobby area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Marble House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marble House Hotel Athens
Marble Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing