We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Melia Athens(Athens)
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Centrotel Hotel(Athens)(Great Value!)
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,246
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$408
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$371
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$424/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$291
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$739
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (760)
Filter reviews
760 results
Traveller rating
368
271
68
27
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
368
271
68
27
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdead end streetquiet cul de sacceiling fanshared bathroomfamily run hotelno elevatorbudget hotelminute walkquiet streetwithin walking distancemetro stopquiet hotelair connice stayfirst floorreception deskexcellent location
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 760 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2017 via mobile

It looks great physically but it has a few problems. Bathroom is not attached. Room and bathroom are tiny and cramp. No available sockets in the room. Air-con is charged 5 euro per day. It is supposed to be in the fine print but this is not at all clear until you have made your payment. The elderly woman owner is helpful but very business-minded. Location is good if you look at it from the angle of being in a quiet cul-de-sac in a residential area, though the area has nothing pretty at all. But it is far away from the tourist attractions. You'd have to take the metro, or a long walk only if the weather is cool. The best thing about the location is the authentic neighborhood restaurants and cafes whose prices are one-third of those in the Plaka.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank FMoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

It's not every day you pass a metro station named ACROPOLI, then Fix- metro station (beer!) and a short way to MARBLE HOUSE. Easy to find. White marble here and there! and the TERRAZZA! Friendly and handsome staff. I'll be back! I recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Saija6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017

As many have mentioned, this hotel is clean and comfortable, and we liked the location which is only a 10-15 minute walk from the main tourist areas. It is very clean and bathrooms, although very small especially for large people (common among budget hotels), are recently renovated. I want to second the review of the traditional Greek restaurant just a few steps away - Dio Dekares i Oka. We ate there numerous times just because the food and the service we so good. Wi-Fi was free and worked. Travelers should be aware that there is no elevator and all rooms are up one or two flights of stairs so if you have a lot of luggage, this might not be a good option.

I have been to this hotel now on three different trips and, obviously, liked it well enough to come back on this trip. It is a great value in what can be an expensive city. The restaurant mentioned above is motivation alone to come back! We had two stays, this trip -- once at the beginning and once at the end of our trip. The room at the beginning of the trip was quite adequate and had the balcony overlooking the street that many mentioned. The room we had at the end of our trip was a disappointment as the size was so small that the room became uncomfortable. The queen sized bed was in the corner (okay) but there was only about 12 inches between the bed and the desk making it difficult to walk around it and it was hard to find enough wall space for our luggage of which we did not have that much. Each of us had one small checked bag and one small carryon bag. My husband and I were always tripping over each other. We also would have thought that the hosts could have been a bit more welcoming since we had just been there two weeks before and the same people were at the front desk.

In summary, Marble House is a great value. Clean, etc. However, the level of comfort will depend on the size of the room assigned and my husband and I definitely would not want to stay in the room we last had again. Should we visit Athens again, we might want to consider a pricier option (but walk back to the restaurant).

Room Tip: See descriptions of rooms in review above.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScubaNettie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017

The hotel is clean and comfortable. We loved the location at the end of a quiet cul-de-sac. It's close enough to the major sights but still in a residential area so you can eat out without limiting yourself to tourist joints. Some of the rooms have lovely balconies that look out on the street. I would just warn travelers that although they can hold luggage during the day, they are not equipped to stow luggage overnight, so if you are taking an overnight trip to Delphi as we did, you will need to take your luggage with you. This is not a criticism, just something to be aware of.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony overlooking the street.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Max_from_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

I am giving Marble House a 5 out of 5, not because it's among the nicest hotels I've ever stayed in, but because it is excellent within its class of budget hotels. It is spotlessly clean, the location can't be beat, it is very quiet, the bed was very comfortable, and the owner was always available and helpful. Our room also had a small balcony with a table and two chairs and the building is very secure. An added bonus is that fact that there is a fantastic and reasonable traditional Greek restaurant just a few steps away - Dio Dekares i Oka.

For folk who want luxury, or a spacious room, you may not be happy at Marble House. However, if you're a budget traveller or just want to stay in a very nice, simple, clean and quiet place, you just may love Marble House.

The location is a bit away from the major tourist areas, which to me, is an advantage. It's an easy 10- to 15-minute walk to the Acropolis Museum and just a bit further to the Plaka district if you enjoy touristic chaos. There is a metro stop just a couple of blocks away.

The hotel does have very effective air conditioning that's available for 5 euros per day and each room has a ceiling fan.

It's an excellent value hotel that I highly recommend.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the back and it was quiet. It's on a dead end street with hardly any cars, so probably all of the rooms are quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LisaBItaliana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews