We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My best stay in Athens ever!!!”
Review of Marble House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marble House
Ranked #20 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2010

Great location! Great treatment! Next to the new Acropolis museum and all interesting sites in Athens Plaka and Parthenon. All hotel rooms are equipped with fast internet access, however, even if you don’t bring your own notebook Marble House has the best internet table corner. Made of glass and real marble!!!! The hotel is inside a small dead-end street away from noise, seams like an oasis… within Athens. The hotel itself and rooms are well decorated and seams recently renovated. A huge BRAVO goes to owners who really pay attention to your request always friendly, welcoming, and with a big smile willing to assist. Definitely, that’s one good reason to return!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a_thorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (721)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

442 - 448 of 721 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2010

I stayed 7 nights at Marble House and I loved the location and hotel/room. The neighborhood was not the prettiest but totally safe and very close to the metro station. I was in Room 32 with a private bathroom and balcony. The shower took a little getting used to (no shower curtain so the floor gets wet) but after the 2nd day, I wasn't too worried about it. My only complaint is the bed, which was a little squeeky. Christos, the young owner was extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ButteredRolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2010

The Marble House was exactly what we wanted for this honeymoon trip. Great for a little "home-base", for sleeping and storing our stuff during the day while we were our sight-seeing.
The staff, who are a family of three (plus the very sweet cleaning lady) were very friendly and helpful, always ready to help when ever we asked for it. We brought our laptop with us in hopes of using an internet cafe, and when we asked Christos where a good place to find free wifi would be, he said "Marble house! We just got wifi three days ago! I give you the password." Very helpful!

The room was clean and neat and exactly what we wanted. The bathroom is small, and a little tricky, but efficient if you know some good tricks....i.e. For the shower I found it easiest to sit down to wash my hair (which is down to my waist). There's no shower curtain, but if you turn the water on low, and sit or crouch down, it's easier to keep the water from going everywhere.
We had a small balcony on our room which faced into the apartment behind the hotel, but it was nice for sitting on in the evenings after a long day of walking all over. Since we were there in May, it wasn't terribly hot, and our ceiling fan, plus leaving the balcony door open was perfectly fine for keeping the room cool. If you were here in hotter months however, you may want to spend just a little extra for the A/C.

The bed was firm, but very comfortable. If you are a light sleeper, you may want some ear plugs. Actually the city noise is greatly muffled by the apartment behind, so that was nice too. The location of the hotel is in a very urban area. Not a dangerous area. We went out at all times of the day and night, and felt perfectly safe. There a several nice cafes in both directions (north and south) from the hotel, which made it great for getting breakfast and lunch.
It's only about a 10 to 15 minute walk up to the Plaka, Monisteriki and Thissio neighborhoods, also the Acropolis and Acropolis Museum. Only about a 5 minute walk from the Syngrou-Fix metro stop. We also found the metro to be very easy to navigate all over the city, and Pireas.

All in all, this was a wonderful place to stay on the cheap.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank looksgreek1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2010

We were originally planning to stay here for 4 days during our backpacking trip, but ended up staying at Marble House in Athens for a week instead. Christos and his family run the hotel and were very friendly and accommodating, and we loved the value/location combination, as the hotel is a 10 minute walk from the Acropolis and the Plaka district, but is nestled nicely in a real neighborhood so you're surrounded by real Greek people, not just hundreds of tourists.

With the fridge in the room, we shopped for light food and snacks at the supermarket around the corner, and there were plenty of authentic greek restaurants nearby (with prices up to half of what you pay in touristy Plaka!).

Christos spent an hour with us answering our questions and talking about where we should go for our next stop, which ferry to take, which hotel he recommended in Santorini, calling there to make a reservation for us, telling us how to get there, calling to reserve a taxi, etc. That was great, and he really helped us with the next ten days of our trip!

My wife was sick for a few days during our stay but it wasn't really a problem because they have a nice English language book swap/library, and they installed wifi the first day we arrived so it was great to be able to check email, get onto Skype, plan the rest of our trip, etc, from the rooms. (The signal was great even on the 2nd floor, which is the 3rd floor to those of us from the US). They even called to figure out which was the best hospital for us to go to, which worked out great because it would've been hard to figure out on our own!!

We will definitely stay here again if we come back to Athens.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The2_W0rld_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2010

We stayed at Marble House 1 week ago for 4 nights. What was really impessive was the services provided from the owners who actually planned our whole itinerary. We had a different suggestion each day for sights, food recmmendations etc. Everything was so close. In 10 minutes walking you could reach Acropolis and Plaka district. All public transportation is one block far. Rooms were recently renovated, very clean with new furniture and Wi-Fi internet connection. But the bonus of Marble House is it's location, as you are in the center of Athens within a cosy, quite dead-end street away from noise and traffic. I would defintely recommend that place to all prospect travellers in Athens...

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shani79_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2010

My boyfriend and I were looking for a safe/trustworthy establishment that met the needs of first-time travelers whom did not want to stay in hostels nor spend the $$$ to stay at a lot of the hotels in Athens. I attended a conference at a gorgeous hotel that wanted to charge 5xs the price we paid at Marble House... all for a place to sleep, clean up, and keep food cold. For this reason, we chose to stay at Marble House.

The Marble House family/staff are the #1 reason we will return to this establishment. In the morning, we would wake up and have breakfast served by one of the staff whom we dubbed our "Greek mother". She would give us advice as to where to go and what times for the best value/least traffic. We were told of great local food that would not be a rip off. At night we would come home and spend the evening talking with another employee whom we consider our "Greek dad". He would also suggest places to see and when to go there. Our favorite pictures were taken at sundown on top of Philopappos as suggested by the staff. They were able to point out the diamonds in the rough.

Our experience at Marble House was very friendly and safe. We were within a SHORT walking distance of acropolis which also made the vacation more affordable. We were provided the essentials at a more than affordable price. But the true value was all the information we were provided by the Marble House family. Feeling safe and being able to trust the staff is worth it's weight in gold!

If you are looking for a ritzy or posh hotel with impersonal staff... this is NOT the place for you. But if you are looking for a good value with a local feel, you will definitely want to stay here. The staff were MORE than accommodating if there were any issues.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anibanani19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2009

This hotel is very reasonably priced and very well located. Its within easy striking distance by public transport from the Acropolis and the main cultural highlights but nicely out of the way of the touristy pedestrian sector of Athens - so you actually get a better idea of how people in Athens live. Rooms are simple, neat and clean but at that price don't expect any frills - if you are elderly and need an elevator or room service to take up your luggage forget it : this place is not for you. This is very much a family hotel and Nansy and Thanos her husband at reception are very helpful. They can provide you with all sorts of useful tips on where to eat cheap, what to visit and how to get there ...

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobinDesToits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Centrotel Hotel
#21 of 282 in Athens
1,203 reviews
Victory Inn
#52 of 282 in Athens
305 reviews
Katerina Hotel
#35 of 282 in Athens
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,439 reviews
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#22 of 282 in Athens
1,409 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#49 of 282 in Athens
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marble House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marble House

Address: Anastasiou Zinni 35 | Koukaki, Athens 117 41, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Athens
#19 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#40 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £28 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Marble House 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1) Free high speed internet access in all rooms and public areas2) Internet corner in reception/lobby area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Marble House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marble House Hotel Athens
Marble Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing