We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and value”
Review of Art Gallery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Art Gallery Hotel
Ranked #17 of 80 Athens B&B and Inns
Sandhurst UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good location and value”
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Small and friendly hotel very near the Acropolis. Our first room was at the back, it was a bit pokey eg window looked onto a wall. We then moved to room at front with small balcony which was much better. Breakfast was good value.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sijeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    111
    41
    18
    6
See reviews for
61
101
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Geat little old hotel right under the acropolis. Every was a little dated, but it was clean and tidy, with friendly and helpful staff and a great breakfast. You can't beat the location to the acropolis and there are some great little neighbourhood restaurants very close by. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RjSlade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

I and my family stayed for a total of 5 nights in this hotel. The hotel is 3 blocks away from the Syngrou fx metro station and just a couple of blocks away from the Acropolis. The room rates were also the lowest I could find in the area. Ms Ada was very patient with me when I kept changing our dates of arrival and the other ladies Maria and Stella were just as nice in helping me with my questions and booking my ferry tickets.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tates12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We chose this because it was close to everything but not in the thick of it.  We figured that we'd be spared the late night noise that seems to go with the tourist areas. Unfortunately, the street we were on was quite noisy and the acoustics of the street assured that we would hear everything that was going on.  Other than the noise, we liked everything else about The Art Gallery Hotel. The rooms were big enough that we could spread out, the location was very convenient (two train stops from Syntagma Square, walking distance to the Acropolis Museum), the staff was great-both helpful and knowledgable, breakfast was more than ample, served on the terrace with a peekaboo view of the Acropolis.  This was definitely a good value for the money.

Room Tip: Get a room off the main street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We were travelling from Turkey to the UK visiting various cites on our way by motorbike. We arrived at the Acropolis having not pre booked any accomodation. This hotel was set in an orange tree lined street a stones throw from the Acropolis. The staff were friendly and welcoming and the hotel spotless. The rate was affordable and the lovely breakfast was served on the outside terrace. I would definately make a return visit to this hotel

Room Tip: Our overlooked the street but this was not an issue - the street was quiet - a bonus that we could s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sequinn1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiumicello - Santa Venere, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Quaint hotel with excellent location. Short walk to the Acropolis, Ancient Agora, Anafiotika, Plaka, Also many inexpensive tavernas close by. I can't say enough about the staff they are marvelous, knowledgable, and eager to help in anyway you may need. Ada is efficient and made our reservations for our ferry trip to Mykonos and had our taxi waiting first thing in the morning. Breakfast was provided for 5 euro per day per person. As it is served up on the fourth floor amidst antique furniture or you can choose an outside table it is a perfect start to your day. There is a bit of echoing within the hallways if some people decide to carry on late night conversations outside their rooms. Rooms are clean and cleaned each day with fresh towels daily. Elevator is there so you don't have to use the stairway.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sben325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
551 reviews
187 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 534 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

My wife and I just spent five weeks in Greece, in the course of which we passed through Athens a total of four times (on our first arrival in Greece, and then between trips to Hydra, around the Peloponnese, and to the Cyclades and Crete). Each time in Athens, we stayed at the Art Gallery Hotel, for a total of nine nights. Each time we returned, I had the wonderful feeling one gets upon returning home, or to a very fondly remembered place. By the time we left Athens the last time, I was honestly sorry to say good-bye to this absolutely charming little hotel and its friendly, quirky staff.
Full disclosure: I love old fashioned, charming little European hotels that don't have a lot of flashy contemporary "updating" and don't cost a lot of money. If they are comfortable, charming, convenient, economical, and provide good service, I am willing to put up with minor inconveniences, such as hand-held shower nozzles and a lack of luxury. Without a doubt, Art Gallery Hotel fills the bill. It is located in a very charming, quiet, residential part of Athens, on a street lined with beautiful, fragrant orange trees. It is just a few blocks from the Acropolis and the Acropolis Museum in one direction, a metro station just two blocks in the opposite direction, and a bus stop one block away where you can catch a bus that will take you directly to the center of
town and all the way out to the National Archaeological Museum. Aside from its charming and amazingly convenient location, the hotel is very comfortable, in its quiet, old-fashioned European kind of way. The beds were good; we never had any problems getting a good night's sleep. The bathrooms are adequate; although the showers are small, we found that to be the case everywhere we stayed in Greece. The showers at Art Gallery were certainly not the smallest we experienced in Greece, and I never felt cramped there. Finally, a really excellent Greek breakfast is provided, for a small additional price.
Best of all, the service provided by the friendly staff was absolutely invaluable to the success of our trip. Before arriving in Greece, I had been worried about making timely ferry reservations for our planned excursions to Aegina, Hydra, the Cyclades and Crete. When I asked the lady at the front desk about how I could do this, she offered to do it for me. Within a few minutes, she had telephoned an agent in Piraeus, and we had made all our necessary reservations. All we had to do was go to Piraeus to pick up and pay for the tickets, which was easily accomplished the morning of our first excursion. Similarly, the hotel arranged for us to take a tour bus trip out to Sounion. Finally, the hotel provided an early morning breakfast for us on our last day, when we had to get to Athens airport to catch pur plane out. But that was the friendly way in which the staff always treated us, making us feel almost like guests or friends and not just clients.
In conclusion, not only would I recommend this hotel to any one; I hope to return to it myself someday in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Philippos Hotel
Philippos Hotel
#22 of 326 in Athens
1,030 reviews
Acropolis Select Hotel
#54 of 326 in Athens
750 reviews
Hotel Tony
#31 of 326 in Athens
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
2,272 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis Hill Hotel
Acropolis Hill Hotel
#27 of 326 in Athens
721 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Divani Palace Acropolis
Divani Palace Acropolis
#68 of 326 in Athens
1,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Gallery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Gallery Hotel

Property: Art Gallery Hotel
Address: 5 Erechthiou | Koukaki, Athens 117 42, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Art Gallery Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a budget friendly family-run Hotel centrally located in the Acropolis area of Athens. We began our operation back in the early 80’s when a family member and architect converted our family residence into today’s Athenian home enjoyed since by thousands of our guests. Our Ηotel is well-situated in a safe neighborhood of the up-and-coming Koukaki district of Athens. We are conveniently located near the Acropolis, the Acropolis Museum, and the many interconnected archaeological sites of significance, most of which can be easily reached on foot or via our nearby metro and tram stations or by bus (all a few minutes away). ​ Furthermore, the bustling pedestrian alley just down our street offers convenient access to a variety of enticing restaurants, tavernas, bars/pubs and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Art Gallery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Gallery Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing