We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service, not most comfortable stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Athens Cypria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Athens Cypria Hotel
Ranked #60 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent service, not most comfortable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Location was excellent, staff was quite helpful, rooms were clean, and the beds were comfortable. The only downsides for me were that the air conditioner never cooled the room cooler than 26 degrees, so it was uncomfortable and stuffy on the 40 degree days we were. There. Also, the wifi was very poor, the best signal we got was at the cafe down the street.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank travellingtraumaRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    432
    167
    33
    22
See reviews for
198
296
76
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

Our room was very small, dark and the balcony overlooked deteriorating buildings. But it is within walking distance of Syntagma Square, beautiful parks, great shopping and dining. For the most part, the staff seemed indifferent and not very helpful. We thought there was a great variety offered at breakfast and what we tried was very good. It's a bit of a walk to the Acropolis, but we enjoyed the meandering streets.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patrician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pomona, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

I was on my first trip to Greece and was lucky enough to have to the pleasure of staying in this hotel. Its located by the Syntagma square metro stop and there is much you can do in the area. I had a great time and was treated to great service by the staff. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyler R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greece
Level Contributor
52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

Free Welcome Drink Ticket and low prices for such a hotel.
Right next to main shopping district, very clean, great breakfast, helpful staff.
very close to metro station and bus connection to airport, and all tourist sites of athens.
either for business or pleasure it is maybe the best deal, since they are making great offers.
so value for money for sure

Room Tip: ask for a room in the upper flors and with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sx_Greece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

my room was enough for me: clean, comfortable, spacious bathroom. large range at breakfast. the room was in the old part of the hotel and there was a problem whit wi-fi in the room.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirella P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
千葉県
Level Contributor
291 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

The hotel gave me free drink ticket of a cafe next to the hotel as welcome drink.

Computers with internet were near the reception. I paid a few Euro for an hour internet use and got user ID and password. I used internet for a short time first day and I could use internet next day too, because the computer counted total usage time. It is cheaper than internet cafe.

The hotel facility looked much older and smaller than the photos posted. Staffs were very friendly to me but they were cold to my Greek friend who come to help my luggage in early moring. Since then, I could not reserve this hotel because none of my Greek friends would help me.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harempercussion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

The good- very friendly staff,  located within walking distance of most of the points of interest,  nice breakfast, and overall very clean.    The bad- room had a terrible view, the bed had a very firm mattress,  carpet needs to be replaced, and the air conditioner was a bit noisy.    Given all of the hotel options in Athens,  I would probably pass on staying at this hotel during future visits.   Not a bad hotel...  It's just not living up to its potential of being a excellent place to stay

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kadorto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#29 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,609 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#54 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#18 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
BEST WESTERN Amazon Hotel
BEST WESTERN Amazon Hotel
#47 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#9 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,081 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#35 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athens Cypria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Cypria Hotel

Property: Athens Cypria Hotel
Address: 5 Diomias | Athens - Syntagma, Athens 105 63, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#56 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Athens Cypria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athens Cypria Hotel is a friendly, quiet and cozy 4 Star property. Ideally situated in the heart of Athens approximately 150 meters from Syntagma Square offers a fine base for exploring all the city's attractions. One of the most well-known shopping places in the city, Ermou Street, is adjacent to the hotel, whereas the old town of Plaka and Acropolis are just a few minutes walk away. Psiry area, the most well-known place in Athens for night entertainment, is also within easy walking distance, where Greek Restaurants and Taverns, Bars and Theatres are found. The hotel consists of 115 rooms which have been specially designed to ensure guest personal comfort and relaxation. Most of them have balconies and some with a view to Acropolis. The rooms are equipped with air-condition / heating, fully stocked mini-bar (consumption charged), high speed internet access (free of charge), satellite TV, Russian (Channel 1) and Chinese (CCTV) satellite channels available. electronically locked safe-box (free of charge), direct dial telephone, radio and hairdryer, all included in room prices. The American buffet breakfast, included in room rates, is served in the breakfast room at 7 a.m. till 10.30 a.m with freshly prepared hot and cold breakfast selections. The Annabel Café Bar, in a welcoming and congenial atmosphere offers tempting cocktails and a wide selection of wines, cold or hot beverages, snacks, salads, ice-creams but also local and international sweets / desserts, thus being an ideal place for lunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Athens Cypria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypria Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing