We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location, AC, Clean nice sized bathrooms, Yummy Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Athens Cypria Hotel
Ranked #69 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed 18 June 2013

The title pretty much says it all.

Located about 5 minutes walking from Syntagma square Metro and about 10 minutes from Manastraki Metro. About a 15- 20 minute walk to the Acropolis. We were strolling though so maybe its quicker then that. Right next to Ermou street (big shopping street) there is always something going on near the hotel (in a good way) The room was really nice sized. They added a cot bed for our 2 1/2 year old daughter for no extra charge. All 3 beds fit well with some extra space still leftover. The AC was a dream (it got quite hot walking around outside) The bathroom was very large and had a tub! (important when you have a child who hates showers) The balcony is dinky and we had no view (except of an old falling apart building) We were on floor 2 so I'm sure that had something to do with it.

The breakfast was very lovely with a ton of choices, Greek Coffee as well as American, teas, cereals, tomatoes, eggs, sausage, bacon, potatoes, fruit, yogurt, cereal, lots of breads with different spreads. More dishes too, but I can't think of what right now. You will for sure have something to choose from. The lobby was really pretty, as was the dining room. We were given a voucher for 3 free drinks so My husband and I got some cappuccino freddos and my daughter had an orange juice at the restaurant next door. A very nice gesture on their part.

This hotel had all the necessities and went above and beyond that. It's not a 5 star hotel as far as luxury goes but it is a very comfortable 3+.

If you want a nice place to stay that doesn't break the bank, but still feels like a vacation, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: if you are looking for a view the 2nd floor does not have one haha.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollydc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (984)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

441 - 447 of 984 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2013

We have stayed at this hotel many times. The location is perfect. The staff is attentive and friendly. The rooms are clean. The breakfast is delicious. The free wi-fi worked great. We always get a coupon for a "welcome drink" at their cafe, as well as a basket of fresh fruit in our room.

During this visit, I mistakenly threw away our Acropolis tickets which also included entry to 5 other sites. In a panic, I called the hotel from the Archeological Museum. The front desk notified the housekeeping staff not to empty our trash and I was able to retrieve our tickets when we returned to our room. We were very grateful for this "over and above" service.

We usually have a room with a view of the Acropolis, which is especially beautiful when it is lighted at night.

We love this hotel (and Athens) and look forward to returning again soon.

Room Tip: Ask for one with an Acropolis view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank luvroma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Perfectly well situated for site seeing, for shopping and for eating. The staff is very welcoming and most of all very well customer service oriented. It is a clean hotel, the rooms are well equipped and normally comfortable. The upper ones are very calm and you do not feel that your are down town. The breakfast is good and diversified. For an average budget I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: choose the upper rooms with view on the Acropolis
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HaniHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We moved to the Cypria for 2 nights because our last hotel had a wee problem with cockroaches. We were pleasantly surprised with the Cypria. Fantastic welcoming staff and a clean spacious lobby. The breakfast had a great selection and the room itself was clean. Fantastic location, close to the Plaka and the Acropolis. Would visit again!!!

Room Tip: remember to ask for a room with wi-fi because they dont all have it. All rooms, I believe, support b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We live at the opposite end of the Medditeranean Sea, in the Republic of Cyprus. We therefore speak Greek. This is of no concern as the staff cope well in several language. We travel widely and often use Athens as a hub when connecting to other cities or travelling to one of the unspoilt islands.
Easter is special in Greece as it is celebrated in the Orthodox rite and usually on a different date to the Catholic/Anglican Easter, in 2013 this wa in Early May! More than a month later which also meant that the sun was hot and the sky cloudless.
The Aegean sea however is fickle and when the wind reaches 9 Beaufort all ships stay in port so we generally arrange for a day or two in Athens which alows for shopping, sightseeing and eating.
Greece is cheap!
So a great pied a terre!

Room Tip: If you get a 6th. floor room facing the Acropolis it is unbelievable, book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank argonavtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Have been staying at the Athens Cypria for tha past couple of years whenever I travel to Greece. The hotel is great, the staff is wonderful and really go out their way to accomodate your every need. The only thing that is lacking at the hotel is the state of the rooms. The a/c was noisy, the remote controls of the tv's are not their own original controls and the function keys do not work. The bathroom railings are rusty and the rooms have a smell that one cannot really pick out what it is from. Management should really, take the decision to upgrade the rooms as it is the only negative point for this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigMacCy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

very clean hotel, friendly and helpfull staff, hotel location just in the hard of the town, zero steps to access everything u need. if u walk 5 steps left, u have Syntagma and Monastiraki. if u go 5 steps right u have Ermou! :) My experience gives 5 stars to Agapi from the reception for the nice smiling welcome when i arrived to the hotel, and Katerina from the reception too, when in my second night i got sick, and she manage to find farmachy at 22:00 at the night, to buy what i needed, and send it to my room :) also next morning, it was possible to order breakfast from the big varriety that they offer, bring it to my room, and ask me if i need anything more? :) it is a very cosy hotel, and i was happy at all time of staying here. You really have to try it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AfroditePythagorion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#32 of 282 in Athens
1,819 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,419 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#49 of 282 in Athens
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
Athens Diamond Homtel
Athens Diamond Homtel
#55 of 282 in Athens
646 reviews
Plaka
Best Western Amazon Hotel
Best Western Amazon Hotel
#42 of 282 in Athens
996 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#16 of 282 in Athens
1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athens Cypria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Cypria Hotel

Address: 5 Diomias | Athens - Syntagma, Athens 10563, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#47 Business Hotel in Athens
#49 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £68 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Athens Cypria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athens Cypria Hotel is a friendly, quiet and cozy 4 Star property. Ideally situated in the heart of Athens approximately 150 meters from Syntagma Square offers a fine base for exploring all the city's attractions. One of the most well-known shopping places in the city, Ermou Street, is adjacent to the hotel, whereas the old town of Plaka and Acropolis are just a few minutes walk away. Psiry area, the most well-known place in Athens for night entertainment, is also within easy walking distance, where Greek Restaurants and Taverns, Bars and Theatres are found. The hotel consists of 115 rooms which have been specially designed to ensure guest personal comfort and relaxation. Most of them have balconies and some with a view to Acropolis. The rooms are equipped with air-condition / heating, fully stocked mini-bar (consumption charged), high speed internet access (free of charge), satellite TV, Russian (Channel 1) and Chinese (CCTV) satellite channels available. electronically locked safe-box (free of charge), direct dial telephone, radio and hairdryer, all included in room prices. The American buffet breakfast, included in room rates, is served in the breakfast room at 7 a.m. till 10.30 a.m with freshly prepared hot and cold breakfast selections. The Annabel Café Bar, in a welcoming and congenial atmosphere offers tempting cocktails and a wide selection of wines, cold or hot beverages, snacks, salads, ice-creams but also local and international sweets / desserts, thus being an ideal place for lunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Athens Cypria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypria Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing