We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent central hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Athens Cypria Hotel
Ranked #57 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Decent central hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Good location within an easy walk of Syntagma metro station. We arrived in Athens in the evening and left for Meteora first thing in the morning, so our interaction with this hotel was limited to check-in, sleep, check-out. On the plus side, the staff was very welcoming and friendly and we were given a voucher for drinks at the cafe next door. AC was also quite good. On the down side, the bed was extremely hard, even by mid-range European standards. Overall, a decent value but not a destination hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    438
    167
    35
    22
See reviews for
202
300
77
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

On recommendation from my Greek dad, we stay at Athens Cypria hotel every time we visit Athens. This is our sixth stay at this hotel and we will keep coming back for the great central location, clean air conditioned rooms, value for money and especially the fantastic buffet breakfast that is included in the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Acropolis. This ensures you get a room on the top floor with a bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa_333999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Athens Cypria hotell are the best middleclass hotell in Athens! Perfect location just a couple of hundred meters from Syntagma Sg with metrostation and buses to the airport, Plaka, Monasteraki with lot of bars and nice restaurants, 50 meters to Ermou shopping Street. Rooms are clean and nice with balkony, minibar, aircondition, freezer, frech fruits in the room, welcoming ticket for coffe or softdrinks in the bar there u even can get smaller dishes to eat. The staff are nice, frendly and helpfull alltimes and at any positions, cleaningladys, breakfast staff, waiters in the bar and last but most important, the receptionstaff are AMAZING! The check in /out goes very fast and they remember you id you have stay there some times before!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Great service, rooms, view, breakfast. Friendly staff. Non smoking in the rooms. Modern and attractive rooms. Excellent bathroom and room and facilities. Excellent breakfast with great variety and service. Welcome drinks and fruit basket. Very clean and confortable rooms. Great location!!!!

Room Tip: No fitness centre, but don't need it, you get fit walking arounf the sites of Athens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Al Manamah, Bahrain
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

The Athens Cypria Hotel is situated in a great location - walking distance to shopping malls, shopping walkways and the Metro. The staff were very friendly and helpful with all our requests. They do not have a restaurant inside the hotel, but we were offered coffee vouchers to use at the cafe/bar next door, which was nice. For a 3* Hotel, this is not bad. We've had a room in the front of the Hotel with a balcony overlooking the walkway. The hotel is old, but well maintained and clean. The rooms are a little small, but comfortable with enough closet space. The view from the room wasn't so nice, as the buildings in front of the hotel is not maintained, but it made for a good photo opportunity.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

My partner and I stayed here in August 2013. Our overwhelming memory of this hotel, is beds that are like sleeping on park benches!
We were given a room at the front of the hotel initially. This room was reasonably good, it overlooked the laneway in front of the Hotel, and had a tiny balcony.
However, after 2 nights of poor sleep caused by a rock-hard mattress, we requested a move to a room with a softer mattress. The reception staff told us all the beds in the hotel were the same!
We were offered a "superior" room at the rear of the Hotel that overlooked the laneway at the rear. This room was larger, had a king-size bed, and had a jacuzzi bath. It also cost an 10 extra Euros a night.
We took it, because we considered the bed was a little better. However, it was still a very firm bed, and nothing we could do could change that very much. We placed all the blankets on the mattress to try and get more comfort, but the mattress could still never be called "comfortable".
Apart from the beds, the Hotel is otherwise good.
We encountered 3 problems with the second room upon entry, and these problems were all fixed instantly (A/C dripping water onto floor, the safe was locked, and we couldn't open it, and we had requested an additional pillow).
The A/C worked well, all fittings and features of the room worked perfectly, the room was clean, and the drapes were heavy and kept out all noise and light.
The jacuzzi bath was very pleasant and there was always plenty of hot water.
Breakfast was included in our room rate and it was quite a satisfactory breakfast. However, I would have liked a bigger fruit selection.
This Hotel has one major feature - its location. It's about as central as you could ever want, in Athens.
However, it's difficult to find, and even the taxi driver who dropped us off, couldn't find it.
We had to carefully make note of its location whenever we left, as it was very easy to walk past it and miss it.
Overall, this is quite a satisfactory place of accommodation - but we won't be back until the hotel does something about improving the softness of their mattresses.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onetrack139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

We requested quiet rooms and we got them . One of the nicest 3* hotels I have stayed in. hotel was very convienent to all major sites and a short walk to metro. Staff were lovely especially the ladies in the bar who made a huge fuss of my elderly mum. I will definitely stay here again on my next trip to Athens..

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank romurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#51 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#34 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,139 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#18 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,471 reviews
Plaka
BEST WESTERN Amazon Hotel
BEST WESTERN Amazon Hotel
#44 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athens Cypria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Cypria Hotel

Property: Athens Cypria Hotel
Address: 5 Diomias | Athens - Syntagma, Athens 105 63, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#56 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Athens Cypria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athens Cypria Hotel is a friendly, quiet and cozy 4 Star property. Ideally situated in the heart of Athens approximately 150 meters from Syntagma Square offers a fine base for exploring all the city's attractions. One of the most well-known shopping places in the city, Ermou Street, is adjacent to the hotel, whereas the old town of Plaka and Acropolis are just a few minutes walk away. Psiry area, the most well-known place in Athens for night entertainment, is also within easy walking distance, where Greek Restaurants and Taverns, Bars and Theatres are found. The hotel consists of 115 rooms which have been specially designed to ensure guest personal comfort and relaxation. Most of them have balconies and some with a view to Acropolis. The rooms are equipped with air-condition / heating, fully stocked mini-bar (consumption charged), high speed internet access (free of charge), satellite TV, Russian (Channel 1) and Chinese (CCTV) satellite channels available. electronically locked safe-box (free of charge), direct dial telephone, radio and hairdryer, all included in room prices. The American buffet breakfast, included in room rates, is served in the breakfast room at 7 a.m. till 10.30 a.m with freshly prepared hot and cold breakfast selections. The Annabel Café Bar, in a welcoming and congenial atmosphere offers tempting cocktails and a wide selection of wines, cold or hot beverages, snacks, salads, ice-creams but also local and international sweets / desserts, thus being an ideal place for lunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Athens Cypria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypria Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing