We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great City Center Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Athens Cypria Hotel
Ranked #69 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed at the hotel June 5-9 and had 2 rooms. The location is very close to Syntagma Square and right off of Ermou Street (awesome shopping). The rooms are a little dated but roomy (by European standards) and clean. The doors to the rooms are old and they do not shut automatically- you have to actually pull/push them shut and there is no way to quietly do this. Hearing our neighbors' doors close during the night was not ideal but would in no way keep me from staying again. The ac was very cold. The super plus to this hotel is the great breakfast buffet that is included in the rates- various breads, pastries, yogurt with all the toppings, bacon, sausage, eggs, various cheeses, juices, cereal, etc. We were actually able to skip lunch and just have an early dinner (which works better on our American schedule) so we saved money on food. The hotel does not offer views however, we felt very safe and there were restaurants and a Haagan Dazs right across the street so the convenience made up for it. The hotel staff was very nice as well.

Room Tip: If you have never been to Athens- I suggest using the Hop-On Hop-Off Tours at least for one day. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizzieLou12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (984)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

385 - 391 of 984 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

We had two rooms at the start and end of our trip to Greece. On our first visit, one of the rooms had a very unpleasant odour and a rattling aircon unit. On our second stay, one safe was broken and one aircon unit leaked all night!

The price of the rooms is reasonable but maybe this is reflected in the facilities. The upside is that it is very well located for metro, Acropolis shops and tavernas yet fairly quiet. The staff were helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seemoreplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This hotel is in a great location and easy to find. It is just a few minutes from Syntagma Square where the trains (blue line) and buses (No 95) from the airport stop. The service was very fast and friendly, the reception staff were very friendly and answered all of our questions. The room was very comfortable, air conditioning was great and a free safe. The breakfast was very good, a wide choice to please all guests - the greek yoghurt was amazing.
We found the central location very convenient and walked to all the main attractions, the metro was also close by, either Syntagma or Monastriki for areas further out of the city centre.
I would recommend this hotel for location and value, and if I ever return to Athens I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kayDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in April . The hotel was well located and very quiet . Breakfast was excellent and served in a nice open dining room . The staff were very friendly . The rooms were well set up with everything you required . We would recommend the hotel to others and definitely stay again . We did try to stay on our return to Athens but they were fully booked unfortunately.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorhiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

After having a very bad experience at another hotel in Athens, we found Cypria wonderful. Room and bathroom were small, but very clean and excellent condition. The front desk was extremely helpful and efficient. The location is on pedestrian street off Ermou and 3 blocks to Syntagma metro. Cross over from Ermou to Syntagma square park and Metro elevator (for luggage transport to airport) is short distance in front of you. Super location for all major sites, restaurants, Plaka.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingBoomer48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The hotel was located in the centre of the city, safe and convinient for every time of the day. Underground was 5 minutes away.
The room was big, very clean and the staff was friendly and hepfull.
I would definatelly recommend it and stay there again in my next visit to Athens!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monamour7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Probably the best location in the capital, Ermou street is one minute away and Sintagma Square five minutes! Notwithstanding the central area it was quiet stay! The service was friendly and Breakfast diversed! Rooms were too small and view was bad (ramshackled buildings)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank christosareti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#32 of 282 in Athens
1,819 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,418 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#49 of 282 in Athens
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
Athens Diamond Homtel
Athens Diamond Homtel
#55 of 282 in Athens
646 reviews
Plaka
Best Western Amazon Hotel
Best Western Amazon Hotel
#42 of 282 in Athens
996 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#16 of 282 in Athens
1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athens Cypria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Cypria Hotel

Address: 5 Diomias | Athens - Syntagma, Athens 10563, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#47 Business Hotel in Athens
#49 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £68 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Athens Cypria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athens Cypria Hotel is a friendly, quiet and cozy 4 Star property. Ideally situated in the heart of Athens approximately 150 meters from Syntagma Square offers a fine base for exploring all the city's attractions. One of the most well-known shopping places in the city, Ermou Street, is adjacent to the hotel, whereas the old town of Plaka and Acropolis are just a few minutes walk away. Psiry area, the most well-known place in Athens for night entertainment, is also within easy walking distance, where Greek Restaurants and Taverns, Bars and Theatres are found. The hotel consists of 115 rooms which have been specially designed to ensure guest personal comfort and relaxation. Most of them have balconies and some with a view to Acropolis. The rooms are equipped with air-condition / heating, fully stocked mini-bar (consumption charged), high speed internet access (free of charge), satellite TV, Russian (Channel 1) and Chinese (CCTV) satellite channels available. electronically locked safe-box (free of charge), direct dial telephone, radio and hairdryer, all included in room prices. The American buffet breakfast, included in room rates, is served in the breakfast room at 7 a.m. till 10.30 a.m with freshly prepared hot and cold breakfast selections. The Annabel Café Bar, in a welcoming and congenial atmosphere offers tempting cocktails and a wide selection of wines, cold or hot beverages, snacks, salads, ice-creams but also local and international sweets / desserts, thus being an ideal place for lunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Athens Cypria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypria Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing