We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent good hotel!”
Review of NJV Athens Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
NJV Athens Plaza
Ranked #36 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Stayed in this hotel for almost a week in April 2012. At arrival, it turned out they had upgraded me to one of their suites on the 7th floor. Don't know why, but how cares. Luckely I did not had to pay the price mentioned on the entrance door :).
The hotel is located at the main square in Athens, Syntagma Square, in the centre of Athens. Due to the crisis in Greece, almost every day there is a demonstration using this square. Every time the hotel takes all kind of precautions, like lowering down their window protection at ground level. Gives the feeling that the hotel takes good care for the savety of their guests.
Room/suite was perfect and clean. Breakfast good. Did not tried swimming pools and fitness centre. Did use their facilities for hosting a meeting: absolutely perfect!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wiebe_1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, Public Relations Manager at NJV Athens Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2012

Dear Guest, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for your wonderful comments. It's always a pleasure to be able to pass on such appreciative comments to our staff and it certainly motivates them to continue offering the service they are happy to offer. Thank you once more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (974)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

589 - 595 of 974 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2012

Our experience at this hotel in early April was excellent. Our 8th floor corner room with balcony was magnificent: views of Acropolis, Parliament/Tomb of the Unknown Soldier, Olympic Stadium, National Gardens and Syntagma Square. Syntagma offers an inside view of what is going on in Greece/Athens and how people feel about it, sometimes accompanied by noise, banners, music, etc. It allowed an opportunity to see beyond a tourist view of this amazing city, for which we felt lucky. Plus, Syntagma is a metro stop which makes hotel access from the airport so easy. Hotel's location offers an easy walk to City Market, Plaka, Agora, Acropolis, museums, Stadium, and so much more. Bus stop about three blocks away makes for an easy trip to Sounion and many other towns outside Athens. Staff was extremely helpful if we asked. Otherwise everyone was friendly and unobtrusive. Room rates were unexpectedly reasonable. We stayed six nights. If we are ever lucky enough to get back to Athens this is the hotel we will choose.

Room Tip: Ask for Acropolis view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BAM54Nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, Public Relations Manager at NJV Athens Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2012

Dear Guest, we are delighted you left our hotel with the excellent impressions you describe. Your comments are greatly appreciated and we certainly hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel once more, on many future occasions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Stayed in the mid of the week for one night, Location is top notch, BUT:
- rooms are worn and lack sound proofing
- view is nice, Acropolis, but! - can not sleep not even on 6th floor
- price @ 130 Euros, not too steep for a location in an europ capital...
- ... again, we avoided breakfast and went around corner, Stadiou, 50m, on the left and right had nice coffee and croissant, for 3euro!

I should say this place could win with oney going into renovation, but this is GREECE, and we are in the midst of the biggest financial crisis postwar and there is no money going nowhere in this hotel except to pay down the loans!

anyone having better ideas, please adivce!

fol

Room Tip: coffee shop around the corner "Cosmos Coffee" - good coffee and croissant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FOL-1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, Public Relations Manager at NJV Athens Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2012

Dear Guest, we wish to thank you for your constructive comments. The points you have raised about our facilities are taken into consideration as our main priority is to satisfy our client’s needs and wants. Since we are continuously striving to provide our guests with the best in service and accommodation, your assistance in this regard is greatly appreciated. It is through your observations that we are able to find ways of improving our product. We certainly hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back with us once more on your future visit to Athens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Nice hotel in great location, but in need of a major refurbishment. This hotel was at its best during the Onasis era. Nice staff

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, Public Relations Manager at NJV Athens Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2012

Dear Guest, thank you for the very positive comments you have posted on this web site, both about the service and the location. It’ s always a pleasure to be able to pass on such appreciative comments to our staff and it certainly motivates them and facilities maintain the same high levels you have experienced. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Excelent location, excelent service! All the staff were helpful and seemed so well experienced! However, you definately have to ask for a syntagma square or acropolis view. A high quality business hotel but the launch of a gym should be of their first priorities

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bill k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, Public Relations Manager at NJV Athens Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2012

Dear Guest, thank you for choosing the N.J.V. Athens Plaza when visiting Athens and for taking the time to share your comments. It is a pleasure reading that you were satisfied with our services and location. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I visited the hotel on business and was disappointed. The hotel location and rooms are fine, however I had a number of issues with the hotel.
First, I pre paid for breakfast in order to obtain a slightly discounted rate (the breakfast was not worth the discounted rate never mind the full rate). Despite breakfast being included in my rate I was asked to sign for breakfast at the full rate, two of three mornings. Indeed I was challenged quite aggressively on both occasions. The breakfast staff refused to accept my word and I eventually had to argue at reception before someone accessed my booking and indicated I had pre paid for breakfast. No apology was offered.
The second major problem was that they would not provide an iron and ironing board for use in the room. Instead I had to pay almost 10 Euros for the laundry team to iron my shirt. In a business hotel I do not believe this is acceptable.
I would not recommend this hotel for a business traveller.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MTTM2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, Public Relations Manager at NJV Athens Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2012

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to share with us your comments about the hotel. The points you have raised about our facilities are taken into consideration as our main priority is to satisfy our client’s needs and wants. Our front desk staff is always happy to assist our guests with their requests. We certainly hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back with us once more on your future visit to Athens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

The NJV Athens Plaza was a wonderful place to stay in Athens. The staff was considerate and most helpful. The location was outstanding. Able to walk to many points of interest. The concierge was most helpful in regards to restaurant reservations at the best restaurants in Athens. When we go back to Greece in the future, we will stay at the Athens Plaza again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Douglas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, Public Relations Manager at NJV Athens Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Dear Guest, thank you for choosing the N.J.V. Athens Plaza when visiting Athens and for taking the time to share your comments. It is a pleasure reading that you were satisfied with our services and location. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Syntagma
Electra Hotel Athens
Electra Hotel Athens
#37 of 282 in Athens
993 reviews
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#8 of 282 in Athens
1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NJV Athens Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NJV Athens Plaza

Address: 2 Vassileos Georgiou A? | Syntagma Square, Athens 105 64, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#30 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#32 Family Hotel in Athens
#45 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £114 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — NJV Athens Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ideally located right on prestigious Syntagma (Constitution)Square, opposite the Houses of Parliament with the changing of the Guards and within walking distance from the Acropolis/Acropolis museum and all places of interest, museums, Plaka, Monastiraki, Kolonaki, shopping and night life districts.For a supplement deluxe rooms can be offered with magnifiscent views of the Acropolis ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your NJV Athens Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Njv Athens Plaza Hotel Athens
Njv Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing