We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel and location”
Review of Hera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hera Hotel
Ranked #23 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel and location”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We have just returned from a weekend away in Athens at the end of March and stayed in the Hera Hotel. All we can say is Fab , fab, fab !
the location to all the sights is perfect only a short stroll to the Acropolis and other attractions. Our room was plenty big enough and was lovely and clean , with the towels changed each day we were there.We ate in the lovely roof top resturant on one of our nights and the food was great, service perfect and attentive without being pushy.
and the view of the Acropolis all lit up at night was mesmerizing.
Thaks to all the staff and the manager for makling our stay so enjoyable
We would definatley return to this hotel
S Rhodes UK

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have bigger balconies and a nicer view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SueR402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your rewarding feedback from your recent stay with us. We were pleased to learn that you found our hotel fabulous and enjoyable!

We were truly delighted that our rooms, and housekeeping services were to your liking.

We will most certainly share your comments with our restaurant team; they will be thrilled to learn about them.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!! In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    451
    84
    30
    18
See reviews for
150
577
58
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

My partner and I have just returned from a long weekend in Athens, staying at the Hera hotel.
The reception and restaurant staff were very friendly and accomodating, and the room, although not massive was comfortable and well furnished.
The location of the hotel, approximately 100 metres from the Acropolis Metro station, and a similar distance from the Acropolis museum, was perfect for sightseeing, and grabbing a bit of 'Greek culture'!
There were also plenty of little cafe bars/tavernas on the doorstep of the Hera, so you are never far away from food and drink.
We ate in the hotel rooftop restaurant on one evening of our stay, and the food was very good quality.
We would definitely use the Hera again if we return to Athens.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the front of the hotel, as the balconys are much larger, and get much mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foxcherrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay with us.

We were pleased to learn that you found our rooms comfortable and well furnished.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Iro Chatzilia

Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

I recently returned from a conference in Athens and we stayed at the Hera Hotel. I booked the hotel online and requested two twin beds and a non smoking room. We arrived late the first night and were given a room with a double bed and although the room didn't smell like smoke, there was an ashtray sitting on the desk. When I said that I had requested two twin beds and a nonsmoking room, I was told that they did not get the request, it was not noted on my reservation. The hotel was fully booked so the first night my friend and I had to share a double bed. Not an ideal situation. We were moved the next morning to a room with two twin beds. The room was fine but we did notice that it had a musty smell. I suppose we should have complained but we just opened the door to the balcony to try and air it out. Overall, the hotel was fine. The beds were very comfortable. The rooms were fairly clean. There was some hair on the back of the tub and one of the coffee cups had a ring inside. The location was probably the best thing about this hotel. It is within walking distance of the Metro, the Acropolis, and the wonderful new museum housing artifacts from the Acropolis. There are many really good traditional Greek restaurants and shopping nearby the hotel as well. Our room was facing a street, and even with the window ajar, it was not too noisy at night. There is a restaurant on the roof and you have a wonderful view of the Acropolis. One of my colleagues had a room on the 4th floor and had a view from her room. Unfortunately, we did not have a view in either room we stayed. If you are looking for a hotel in the center of Athens, close to all the sites and shopping, you will not be disappointed with the Hera Hotel. Overall, it was good value for the price and as I said the location is perfect.

Room Tip: Perhaps request a room on the 4th floor facing the street and you will have an Acropolis view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay with us. We were pleased that our central location, attributed to your travel experience.

I am really sorry to hear that we had misplaced your request regarding your room and created a small discomfort on your arrival date. Regarding your comments for the room, I have shared them with our housekeeping department so that we prevent future such situation.

We look forward to having you with us in the future and kindly ask that when your travels next bring you to Athens, that you contact me directly. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Iro Chatzilia

Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Just returned after 3 nights at Hera Hotel and can only praise the hotel for its amazing rooms and service. The location is absolutely perfect 10 minutes from Acropolis and so close to other attractions, shops and bars. The only thing that might have topped the stay would have been if the roof terrace was open and we could have enjoyed the view from there. We will definately return for another stay in the future

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bangle_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your generous feedback from your recent stay with us

We are truly delighted for your praise on our rooms, to our central location and most importantly, the gracious comments on our service extended by our colleagues.

Your recommendation of Hera Hotel is very important to us and we thank you for that.We look forward to welcoming you back soon and in the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

After readin a few questionable reviews in here I wasn't all that confident in my choice of hotel, but after arriving in couldn't have been happier.

The rooms are good size, very clean and the hotel was great. The staff couldnt do enough for the guests. A true treat. Only area for improvement was the food in the restaurant, wasn't bad, but wasn't great.

Can recommend if you are coming to Athens for the first time as its in the middle of the main attractions and the reception staff are very good a helping you with location and directions.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ISC77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your rewarding feedback from your recent stay with us. We were pleased to learn that we exceeded your expectations

We were truly delighted that you were pleased with our services. I will share your positive comments with our front desk team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Iro Chatzilia

Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limassol
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

we stayed in hera for 4 nights in january after new years eve. i ve been in athens more than 10 times and this location is far the best i ever chose... exaclty next to the museum and acropolis metro station. a lot of attractions and shops a few steps from the hotel. if u like to walk its short distance to thiseio with the view during your walk to be just magnificent... close also to syntagma square . 15 minutes walk or 1 stop only by metro.
so location is more than 5 star!!
about the hotel .. is a warm boutique hotel in a really charming old and fully renovated building.
like all boutique hotels areas are small but really nice... especially the breakfast area is so nice. breakfast is just nice i suppose . it has things to choose . the only mention i have is that because when we stayed there maybe not more than 4 rooms where booked so some cakes and fruits didnt seem so fresh probably because none was there to eat them!!

staff was very polite and helpful..
the room was small but still had all we need... very nice new big tv a small balcony if u need to smoke .. coffee and tea facilities... comfortable bathroom and nice decor . the heat was great kept the room as warm u needed... the only disadvantages i have to make is that the view of the room we got was in the back of the hotel and was really bad! an old dirty building and 2nd i usually dont want my towels to get changed a lot but since we have a baby we needed once to change 2 of them so i putted them on the floor ( one was dirty) and when we got back they put the same dirty towel , something that seemed so unprofessional.thats the only thing that made me think if i have ti put 5 stars or 4 but since all others were perfect and especially the price i got from booking , i would say i totally recommend this hotel and 99% my next booking in athens will be there too.

Room Tip: front rooms have a normal view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Nasos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your most rewarding feedback from your recent stay with us.

We were pleased that our prime location, tastefully appointed décor and service all attributed to a most memorable and enjoyable experience. Regarding your comments on the housekeeping, i will share them with the department accordingly.

We appreciate your word of mouth influence and look forward to welcoming you back soon. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Iro Chatzilia

Hotel Director

Iro Chatzilia

Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

We stayed for 2 nights.
We got a room on the 3rd floor with a small balcony (which we didn't use because it was very windy).
The room was amazing. It was very confortable and the bathroom was great.
When we arrived, the first thing i did was open the mini bar (we were very thirsty) and for my surprise i found 1 bottle of vodka missing and other 2 opened. I called immediately the front desk and a cleaning lady came to replace them. That was the only "bad thing". Service and staff was at it highest level!
The roof top restaurant was opened just for one night. We didn't eat there, but we had a view at night and it was amazing.
There was another lounge for breakfast. The food was delicious.
The hotel is located about 150 meters from the Acropolis and Acropolis museum. It is also in walking distance (5 min) to Apollo's temple ande about 20 min to the Panathinaiko stadium and Syntagma Square. The neighborhood is very nice, with lots of bars and cafes along the street, just one block away. There are many souvenier shops nearby with very nice things (we bought a small replica of the parthenon). It is also located in a very safe area (we felt safe everywhere we went).
The hotel has wifi too, but just in the lobby. If you're in lower floors, you might get signal (we did).

Room Tip: No wifi in rooms but in lower floors you can get signal
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GGSS83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us.

We were truly delighted that we exceeded your expectations from our close proximity to all major Athenian sites, to the tastefully appointed details in your accommodation. We pride ourselves on trying to provide exceptional levels of service and I was pleased to learn that our team members were able to exceed your expectations, making your stay most memorable.

Regarding your comment on our internet services, please note that as from 1st of April 2012 we do offer free wi-fi to all our guests throughout the hotel.

We sincerely appreciate your high praise and recognition and look forward to welcoming you back soon. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Iro Chatzilia

Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
2,239 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Philippos Hotel
Philippos Hotel
#22 of 326 in Athens
1,017 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#17 of 326 in Athens
3,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis Hill Hotel
Acropolis Hill Hotel
#27 of 326 in Athens
712 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 326 in Athens
3,273 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Airotel Parthenon
Airotel Parthenon
#48 of 326 in Athens
1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hera Hotel

Property: Hera Hotel
Address: 9 Falirou, Athens 117 42, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#27 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#57 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hera Hotel welcomes its guests with the genuine warmth of definitive hospitality, combined with an impeccable service, comfort and the exceptional atmosphere of a boutique hotel.Conveniently located right at the foot of the Acropolis hill, the new Acropolis Museum and next to the interconnected archeological sites. Hera Hotel offers a unique opportunity to the visitor to enjoy an excellent stay at the hotel, right into the heart of the old Athens and to traverse through ancient times by strolling through the historic center of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hera Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing