We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel in great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hera Hotel
Ranked #25 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

First trip to Athens/Greece and not knowing where to stay, our travel agent recommended Hera. What a great start to our holiday but sadly only staying there 2 nights before heading off on our cruise out of Piraeus. The hotel is small, just one person in reception and the breakfast room off the ground floor level. There was also a lobby bar that looked rather inviting. The room was lovely and clean, good bathroom and a comfortable bed. Very close to restaurants, bars and metro station (Acropolis) and easy to walk to all what you expect to do and see in Athens - well as a first time traveller anyway! Pre-dinner drinks and nibblies on the roof-top bar was great to see in the evening (no doubt eating there would have been good too, but had to venture out of the hotel to absorb the sites!). All the staff (reception, breakfast room, bar) who were encountered were very friendly and spoke great english. Scrumptious buffet breakfast with a great variety. Highly recommend it and would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manfern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your nice cooments!

We are really pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and our services.

We really hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you again, on your next trip to Athens.

best regards,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    409
    81
    30
    17
See reviews for
129
516
52
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Franz Josef, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

Stayed for two nights at this property and was very impressed. The location is fantastic, very close to the acropolis, metro, restaurants and shops.
We had dinner in their restaurant on the first night and the food was good, but the star of the show was the view! Directly over the roof tops to the acropolis - stunning.
Rooms were nice, well appointed (but perhaps a little small) with a private balcony overlooking the street. Very clean and quiet.
Staff were helpful, polite and knowledgable about the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roseshanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your great comments! It is with great pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our prime location and exquisite view of the Acropolis are indeed unique.

We really hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family again.

Have a great day!

Best regards,

iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

We had a 4 night break at this wonderful hotel. As soon as we arrived i knew we had picked a great place. The area was clean and quiet with loads of smashing restaurants and small bars around, all this and within walking distance of the Acropolis (less than10 minutes) The staff at the hotel were lovely and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. The room was very clean and smelled lovely with a small balcony and a view of the Acropolis. The roof top terrace is an amazing place to either unwind with a cocktail after a full day sight seeing or to have a nice evening meal, and the evening view of the Acropolis from here is breath taking too. This hotel is a must.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Acropolis
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lipgloss26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your nice comments!!

It will be a must to welcome you again on your next visit to Athens!

Best regards

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Lawn, IL.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

I spent three nights at the Hera Hotel in Athens last week. There were definitely some positives, but more negatives that would cause me to not stay there again. First, for the positives. 1)The location is EXCELLENT!!!!!! It is within walking distance to the new acropolis museum, the acropolis/parthenon, shopping, and many many restaurants!. 2)The staff, with the exception of one gentleman, was very polite and helpful. Eri, who works in the breakfast room, was a total sweetheart and willing to answer any question we had. 3) Breakfast itself was very good. We expected only a continental type breakfast, and were pleasantly surprised at the variety of choice and the quality of the food.

Now for the bad! 1)The rooms are tiny. The two double beds are joined together to make, what looks like, one king sized bed. This can be uncomfortable if you are sharing a room with someone to help keep costs down, but arent particulalry close to that person. 2) The bathroom floor looked like it had never been mopped and the carpeting was very dirty. I felt the need to wear my flip flops everywhere within my room. 3) The Wifi in my room was very spotty. For whatever reason, multiple devices that i had would not receive a good connection to the wifi in the room. As soon as i would walk into the front lobby it would work great, but inside the room, it was almost nonexistant at times.Because of the 8 hour time difference with chicago, this caused me to have to do alot of my work at midnight in the hotel lobby. VERY INCONVENIENT! 4) Lastly, and though this may not seem like a big deal to most, there is no iron in the room. You need to go to the front desk and request one, and thats only if all of them have not already been taken out.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank akleros376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Hera Hotel . I am really sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with our hotel and services. However, I am really glad that you found our staff very helpful.

Regarding your comments on the size of the room, all our standard rooms have the average European size. Indeed they can be considered small, if you are used to American standards. However, we have clearly stated through our website the room size, for guests to be aware of each room they book. On your comment, regarding our cleanliness, I am really sorry to hear about it. I will inform our housekeeping department accordingly. Please note, that we are very thorough on our cleaning and hygiene issues. Regarding the bathroom, I have to note that since it is a real marble bathroom, sometimes detergent stains are absorbed, giving the sense that you described. However, please rest assure, that this is not the case. The same thing applies to our carpets. All of our carpets are thoroughly cleaned αnd disinfected. However, there are some stains ( wine, coffee) that cannot be removed.
Finally regarding the bad signal on our free wi-fi , I will inform our IT department accordingly.

I would really appreciate if you could contact me in person, at info@herahotel.gr , to let me know your name ,room number and discuss your comments.

Once again, I am really sorry that you were not satisfied with our hotel. I hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you another time and prove to you that we are an exceptional friendly small hotel.

At your disposal,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

Having arrived at 9:00 am, we were right away given a room which was very nice. We stayed for two nights, our room did not have a view (we chose a cheaper room) and was a bit on a small side, however it was spotless, the interior was quite new and the service in the hotel was excellent. The front desk was able to find us on a very short notice (7:00 pm) for the next morning, the guide who was invaluable in showing the Acropolis museum and the sites.

We walked everywhere and when it came leaving we walked to the car rental which was also very convenient. With all the negative press about Greece, we really like Athens. The food is great and cheap, you cannot seem to eat and not have a great view on Acropolis, and the people are very friendly.

I would be most definitely be back in Athens and Hera Hotel

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilya42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Hera Hotel and Athens.

We really hope to see you again soon!

Best regards.

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

We stayed at the Hera for 3 nights in June 2012. The rooms are a little dated but clean. Nice bathrooms and a decent shower. We had a junior suite with a great view of the Acropolis and a nice balcony. The hotel is located in the Plaka area so is convenient to shopping and the the Acropolis. The staff is very nice and helpful. They arranged a private guide for us to the Acropolis. They also prearranged transportation for us from the cruise port to the hotel and then to the airport on our departure day. They also have a nice buffet breakfast in the lobby dining room. The hotel has a FANTASTIC roof top bar ane restaurant. We ate there our first night in Athens and it was so good that we went back again. The staff at the restaurant was great. Very friendly and fun to talk to.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 52ellen52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for posting your review at TripAdvisor. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
90 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

Myself and my wife spent a hugely enjoyable week at Hera Hotel on a part work/part holiday trip. Booked by my company for a week during in the shipping exhibition Posidonia I was bit concerned as previous times hotels, I was told have not been good, and despite my boss' assurance it was a great hotel the concern was my boss is the type who would get enthusiastic about grass growing(!)

However, as a first time visitor to Athens I would highly recommend this hotel. The location is superb for sightseeing there is so much is within walking distance, and also lots of eating places/bars in the Plaka. The hotel staff were always friendly and helpful - calling and advising on taxis etc - we went pretty far out of the city for some of the Posidonia parties. The rooms are not the biggest in the world but they are very well furnished and practical and free wifi always comes as a major plus. I comfortably used the room as my office one morning to work with my staff in Singapore. Breakfast is including and there is plenty of variety to fuel the start of your day

The roof top restaurant has a great view and was as good as any we ate in Athens - food quality, price and service wise. Try the whole squid - excellent.

All round a really good experience and I've already recommended to my parents should they fancy a long weekend in Athens.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trixiebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Dear Guest,

You are so kind!Thank you for the great review. I am so happy to hear you had such a great stay with us. We can’t wait to have you or your parents as our guest again. See you soon!

Best regards,
Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#15 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,077 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Philippos Hotel
Philippos Hotel
#24 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#13 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#9 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,082 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#4 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Airotel Parthenon
Airotel Parthenon
#45 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hera Hotel

Property: Hera Hotel
Address: 9 Falirou, Athens 117 42, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#27 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#57 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hera Hotel welcomes its guests with the genuine warmth of definitive hospitality, combined with an impeccable service, comfort and the exceptional atmosphere of a boutique hotel.Conveniently located right at the foot of the Acropolis hill, the new Acropolis Museum and next to the interconnected archeological sites. Hera Hotel offers a unique opportunity to the visitor to enjoy an excellent stay at the hotel, right into the heart of the old Athens and to traverse through ancient times by strolling through the historic center of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays and Odigeo so you can book your Hera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hera Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing