We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Hera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hera Hotel
Ranked #18 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We spent 1 night in The Hera in August, enroute from Santorini to Italy. We read about it in Tripadvisor and it sounded just what we were looking for. We were returning to Athens the following week so we had booked for that stay at the Hera as well. We had booked a junior suite for both stays - or at least we think we did although it was pretty small. We needed additional space to allow for enough luggage for a 3 week trip through Europe. The room was very nice but there was barely enough room for the 2 of us, plus 2 suitcases. Athens was unbearably hot that night and the a/c struggled to cope. When we went up to the restaurant to enjoy a nice dinner the heat was almost unbearable, and there was nowhere else in the hotel for us to eat. The views of the Acropolis were stunning and on a cooler evening I'm sure it would be a lovely spot, but not that night. The following morning we went down for breakfast which was when we were really disappointed. There was a pretty meager buffet and virtually no service. My wife wanted decaf coffee and I had to go searching for someone to get it for us. This hotel sells itself as an upscale boutique hotel, and in many ways it succeeds, however it also let's itself down in a couple of areas. Based on that night we cancelled our subsequent reservation and made other arrangements.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank EilselNodrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post you review on TripAdvisor.

Its really sad to read that you were dissapointed by our hotel and services.

Indeed, our rooms could be considered small, compared to US standards. However, all rooms sizes are mentioned on our website, in order not to have any misunderstanding with our guests. Regarding the weather condition ,since your visit was during summer time, Athens can be really hot. All rooms and lobby area, are fully air-conditioned. Our open restaurant located on the Roof Garden, even though it has aircondition, due to the setting of the place, indeed it might be warm, in such extreme warm conditions.

Regarding our breakfast, I really apologize for the service. I have informed the department about your complain.

Please allow me to personally extend my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced throughout your visit. Rest assured we take your valuable comments in the spirit intended and sincerely hope that you will provide us with the opportunity to restore your faith and regain your confidence and trust in us.


Sincerely,

Iro Chatzilia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,061)
There are newer reviews for Hera Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

671 - 677 of 1,061 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2012

The view from the rooftop restaurant is amazing. While enjoying a nice meal, catch the view at sunset then at night when the Parthenon is lit. After a night's sleep in your nicely furnished yet small hotel room, take the elevator down to the ground floor for your fabulous breakfast spread in a lovely sun room. Amble only a few blocks to the Acropolis at opening time to beat the heat and the crowds from the cruise ships. It's only steps away from the front door. My family stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and had a very enjoyable experience. We would stay here again in a heartbeat

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2012

Dear Cindy R,

Thank you for posting your nice review on TripAdvisor.

We are really glad that you enjoyed our hotel and restaurant. The view from the roof garden is indeed amazing.

Looking forward to greeting you and your family once again.

Best regards,

Iro Chatzilia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

At the end of August I spent one night in Athens to meet up with friends who were embarking on a cruise of the Aegean. I made my reservation with the Hera Hotel, at which previously I had only the pleasure of a cocktail on the roof terrace (the Peacock restaurant and bar). The rate was very competitive, especially considering the location, just across the street from the new Acropolis museum. My room on the 3rd floor afforded me a meagre view of the Acropolis itself; my recommendation if guests want a more spectacular view is to ask for the 4th floor. Other rooms without balconies face the atrium garden in back of the hotel. The room was well decorated and a kettle and teas/coffee provided. Breakfast was included in my rate, and the food at the buffet was fresh and hot. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom fairly spacious, and bath products were provided. There was also plenty of closet space. On a hot day in August it was a relief to have good air conditioning in my hotel room in Central Athens! The staff, from reception to restaurant, were friendly and helpful. I recommend this hotel for business, or vacation travellers from couples to families (especially if you don't require amenities like a fitness center, swimming pool, etc. The location is outstanding for ease of access to the major attractions of the city, and less than one block from the closest metro stop (Acropoli). I will definitely book here again in the future.

Room Tip: Acropolis view from the third floor and up, better on the fourth. Ask for a balcony if you want an A...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2012

Dear Kathryn W,

Thank you for sharing your good comments on Tripadrvisor.

We are really glad that you enjoyed our hotel and services during your visit in Athens. Indeed our prime location is highly appreciated from all our guests.

We hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you ,once again, on your next trip to Athens.

At your disposal

Iro Chatzilia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

The hotel is at a great location just 5 min away from Acropolis,the acropolis museum,Plaka and other ancient monuments.The room was clean and comfortable. Staff was very helpful,friendly and cooperative. Great views to Acropolis,especially from roof top. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alessa f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor.

We are very glad that you enjoyed our hotel and services. Our prime location and unique view of the Acropolis are highly appreciated from all our guests.

Looking forward to greeting you once again in the near future.

Best regards,

Iro Chatzilia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I have been at the Peacock roof garden restaurant of this boutique hotel for dinner. Haven't stayed at the hotel though but from the looks of it I will be recommending it to my visiting friends to Athens.
The roof garden restaurant had among the most spectacular view of the Acropolis. The service was outstanding and the food was good (linguini with shrimps).
An excellent place. I will definitely go back...soon

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2012

Dear George G,

Thank you for posting your review regarding our Restaurant -Bar " Peacock".

We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your dinner. Indeed our roof garden has one of the most amazing views to the Acropolis.

At winter time, our Atrium restaurant , located on the ground floor operates our restaurant and from April 2013, our roof garden will be open, once again.

We hope that you will visit us really soon.

Best regards,

Iro Chatzilia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed two nights in the Hera and found it to be perfect for our needs. First, it is within an easy walk of the Acropolis, the fabulous Acropolis Museum, the Plaka, Metro stations, and many other attractions. Our room was a good size and very comfortable. The included breakfast was delicious and served in a very pleasant space. The front desk folks were very friendly and always helpful. My only criticism is that if you have the front desk order a taxi for you, the price of the taxi for some reason gets inflated beyond what the taxi meter and the guidebooks advise.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms on the higher floors have Acropolis views but I found that unimportant. You are g...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aerobietraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your posting your great review.

We really appreciate your excellent comments about our hotel and services. It is with great pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

In regards to the taxi fare, there is a small extra charge when calling a car to pick you up. However, all rates should be visible in the car for your information.

We hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

At your disposal,

Iro Chatzilia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Hotel booking was last minute internet, and we received a small but adequate back room for a very competitive price. Spent our savings on the rooftop restaurant, which has wonderful food, wonderful service, and a wonderful view of the Acropolis. (Reasonably priced as well). 200 meters from two Metro stations, easy walk to Acropolis sights.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ejdiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your rewarding feedback from your recent stay with us.

Its so nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hera Hotel. We are really delighted that you found our restaurant " Peacock" so wonderful!

Hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you once again in the near future.

At your disposal,

Iro Chatzilia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#13 of 282 in Athens
2,326 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,838 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Philippos Hotel
Philippos Hotel
#19 of 282 in Athens
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#11 of 282 in Athens
3,340 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#3 of 282 in Athens
1,711 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis Hill Hotel
Acropolis Hill Hotel
#24 of 282 in Athens
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hera Hotel

Address: 9 Falirou, Athens 117 42, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#23 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#48 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £67 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hera Hotel welcomes its guests with the genuine warmth of definitive hospitality, combined with an impeccable service, comfort and the exceptional atmosphere of a boutique hotel.Conveniently located right at the foot of the Acropolis hill, the new Acropolis Museum and next to the interconnected archeological sites. Hera Hotel offers a unique opportunity to the visitor to enjoy an excellent stay at the hotel, right into the heart of the old Athens and to traverse through ancient times by strolling through the historic center of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hera Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing