We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Central location, helpful friendly Staff”
Review of Hera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hera Hotel
Ranked #20 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
melbourne, australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent Central location, helpful friendly Staff”
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We stayed here 3 times over a total of 7 nights, using Hera as a base for island hopping, tours etc. we had an acropolis view room. All staff were friendly, pleasant and helpful. . Rooftop bar and restaurant were great especially since we arrived at 930 pm the first time. Went upstairs to a table overlooking the acropolis, had a lovely meal of fresh Greek salad and fried squid which were perfect! Breakfast was great too with all the usual things.
Rooms a little small as they try to fit in a lot of furniture but very clean. The location is excellent! And, they keep the outside beautifully maintained and clean with lots of flower pots and shady trees,.
As well, across the road there's a laundrette with a bar next door and a cafe on the other side, so again very handy to do some laundry ave a coffee or a burger while waiting.
I would thoroughly recommend and will return!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bear2644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your excellent review.

We are really thankful for your nice comments. Its so ince to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and services.

Looking forward to greeting you once again on your next trip to Athens.

Best regards,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    462
    455
    85
    30
    18
See reviews for
157
586
58
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

The Hotel Hera is in the Plaka (or as good as anyway) and less than 10 minutes' walk to the Acropolis. Terrific location and a lovely hotel with comfortable, well appointed rooms. Very clean, very good service and a very good hot breakfast served each morning.

Their rooftop bar and restaurant offers good food and a superb view of the Parthenon. A really great place for a nightcap!

I would not hesitate to recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SEAchange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review.

We are so glad that you enjoyed our hotel and services. Its so nice to hear our guests recommending our small hotel around the world.

We really hope that we will see you again.

Best regards,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We recently stayed at the Hera Hotel for four nights. The location of this boutique hotel is within walking distance to the Acropolis, the new Acropolis Museum and many al fresco dining spots. The Peacock Restaurant on the roof has delicious food and wonderful service, thanks to Efi and Nilson! The view of the Parthenon at night is jaw dropping. The atrium breakfast room is lovely and the buffet breakfast has a good variety of selections. Our room, 4th floor, Acropolis view was adequate but there were stains on the carpet and it was impossible to open the balcony door without getting the window treatment caught. The balcony was tiny,
room enough for only 2 chairs, no table, and there was definite street noise, but the view out weighed the negatives. The front desk staff was not anxious to give assistance when needed, which was very frustrating.
If you're looking for a boutique hotel with a great location, rooftop restaurant and perfect view of the Acropolis, then Hera is the place!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flechar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

Its so nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Our prime location and amazing view of the Acropolis are mostly appreciated from all our guests.

I am so sorry to hear about your comment on the room. Indeed our rooms could be considered small, compare to US standards. However, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the view.

We really hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Wonderful hotel. The rooms are a nice size, has a great size bathroom with all the amenities,staff are friendly and the breakfast was delicious. The location is just a short walk from all the major attractions in Athens. Would recommend this nice hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your nice review.

We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Its so nice to hear that you will recommend us.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you once again.

Best regards,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fair oaks ca
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Spent 2 nights in early September-great location - close to acropolis metro stop and acropolis museum but on a quiet residential street.- quiet, clean rooms, helpful staff, excellent breakfast ( fresh breads were really good)-

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happyhikers33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2012
Deaar Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor.

We are are really glad that you enjoyed our hotel and services.

We hope that we shall have the pleasure of seeing you again.

Best regards,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We stayed at the Hera in Athens September and found it met our expectations, of a clean reasonably well appointed smallish room. The roof top resteraunt which overlooks the Acropolis was the highlight & the service and food were great. We were able to leave our large luggage at the hotel for 10 days while we went to the islands and we returned to the Hera upon our return. The hotel is well situated for the Acropolis, Plaka and the museum which were just a short walk. We had an early ferry and the hotel gave us a breakfast basket to take with us.
The only negative was there wasnt a pool - but we knew that when we booked.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2012
Dear John H,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We are really gald that we met your expectations. Its so nice to hear that you enjoyed our roof-garden restaurant " Peacock".

Regarding your comment for not having a swimming pool, indeed it might be useful during summer time, however due to the small size of the hotel, we didnt have enought space, thus we decided to have our restaurant on the top floor instead of a pool.

We hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Thank you

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012 via mobile

We spent 1 night in The Hera in August, enroute from Santorini to Italy. We read about it in Tripadvisor and it sounded just what we were looking for. We were returning to Athens the following week so we had booked for that stay at the Hera as well. We had booked a junior suite for both stays - or at least we think we did although it was pretty small. We needed additional space to allow for enough luggage for a 3 week trip through Europe. The room was very nice but there was barely enough room for the 2 of us, plus 2 suitcases. Athens was unbearably hot that night and the a/c struggled to cope. When we went up to the restaurant to enjoy a nice dinner the heat was almost unbearable, and there was nowhere else in the hotel for us to eat. The views of the Acropolis were stunning and on a cooler evening I'm sure it would be a lovely spot, but not that night. The following morning we went down for breakfast which was when we were really disappointed. There was a pretty meager buffet and virtually no service. My wife wanted decaf coffee and I had to go searching for someone to get it for us. This hotel sells itself as an upscale boutique hotel, and in many ways it succeeds, however it also let's itself down in a couple of areas. Based on that night we cancelled our subsequent reservation and made other arrangements.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank EilselNodrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post you review on TripAdvisor.

Its really sad to read that you were dissapointed by our hotel and services.

Indeed, our rooms could be considered small, compared to US standards. However, all rooms sizes are mentioned on our website, in order not to have any misunderstanding with our guests. Regarding the weather condition ,since your visit was during summer time, Athens can be really hot. All rooms and lobby area, are fully air-conditioned. Our open restaurant located on the Roof Garden, even though it has aircondition, due to the setting of the place, indeed it might be warm, in such extreme warm conditions.

Regarding our breakfast, I really apologize for the service. I have informed the department about your complain.

Please allow me to personally extend my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced throughout your visit. Rest assured we take your valuable comments in the spirit intended and sincerely hope that you will provide us with the opportunity to restore your faith and regain your confidence and trust in us.


Sincerely,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
2,272 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Philippos Hotel
Philippos Hotel
#22 of 326 in Athens
1,029 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#17 of 326 in Athens
3,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 326 in Athens
3,300 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis Hill Hotel
Acropolis Hill Hotel
#27 of 326 in Athens
721 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#3 of 326 in Athens
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hera Hotel

Property: Hera Hotel
Address: 9 Falirou, Athens 117 42, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#27 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#57 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hera Hotel welcomes its guests with the genuine warmth of definitive hospitality, combined with an impeccable service, comfort and the exceptional atmosphere of a boutique hotel.Conveniently located right at the foot of the Acropolis hill, the new Acropolis Museum and next to the interconnected archeological sites. Hera Hotel offers a unique opportunity to the visitor to enjoy an excellent stay at the hotel, right into the heart of the old Athens and to traverse through ancient times by strolling through the historic center of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hera Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing